Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2007, 12:12 PM   #1
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

I know these exist, but I'm having a hard time finding them for sale. I'd like to be able to install two disks in my PC, one with linux and one with XP just for simplicity and then flip a switch on the front of the PC to change operating systems. I'd prefer if power was turned off to the inactive drive but no big deal.

Any have any experience with these...recommendations?
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 12:36 PM   #2
mercanucaribe
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,765
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

Wire some switches into a Molex cable. You'll need one switch for 12v and one for 5v on each hard drive. Use a splitter so you don't have to cut your PSU's wires.
mercanucaribe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 12:54 PM   #3
Zepper
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finger Lakes area NY
Posts: 18,998
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

SATA is designed for hot-swap shouldn't need any switch box. Just use a mobile rack with a spare tray. The frequencies on the SATA data cable (at least 10 times the frequency of PATA) would made a data switch prohibitively expensive relative to one for PATA. If you find one, let me know.

re. the above post - don't need separate switches - a single DPST or DPDT switch will do. IAC, if you want the drives connected to the same port, then a power switch alone won't do.

.bh.
Zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 01:07 PM   #4
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

After looking around a bit, I think I might be best served by buying two removable trays with drive bays that use a key to turn them on/off and then just turning one key off and the other on to switch. Its an extra step, but previously I was thinking I'd have to swap the drives in and out which sounded to time consuming.
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 03:09 PM   #5
mellondust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 562
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

There are a couple out there from really expensive to reasonable. I'm not sure how well they work, but I am a big fan of the romtec trios. Don't have a SATA drive so haven't looked into it more, but probably will get the combox(don't make any more-ebay) when I upgrade.

expensive

combox

mellondust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:13 PM   #6
PingSpike
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20,351
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

Thanks mellondust. I'd actually stumbled onto the "expensive" link myself. Even the combox isn't that great a deal, although the price isn't outrageous or anything. I'm going to keep looking into the duel drive tray idea and see if I can make that work. That option would actually leave me with greater future flexibility as well.
__________________
Error reading poptart in Drive A: Delete kids y/n?
PingSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:46 PM   #7
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,016
Default SATA Hard drive selector switch? Do they make these?

Echo the SATA mobile rack with two trays - one for Linux and one for XP. Gee - with a 3rd tray you could do Vista as well.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.