Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2009, 06:47 PM   #1
Surutcra
Member
 
Surutcra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 71
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

Hey guys, this seems like a simple problem but I can't figure it out.

Backstory:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16824255011
So about a year ago I bought this Westinghouse L2610NW-SP 2.5.5" monitor for real cheap used on ebay. When it arrived the backlight was busted, no light whatsover. I discovered something like 8 or 10 bulbs inside with one broken. Since I got it so cheap I decided to fix it my self and bypass one of the bulbs (it was in series). After getting the green light from a Westinghouse technician to bypass i soldered a wire to where the bulb was. IT WORKED.

That was 7 months ago when I did that and the monitor still works great, you can't even notice that it is slightly dimmer on a section of the screen unless you set the background to all white.

Problem:
I have noticed this within the past few weeks:Whenever I view something dark like a dark wallpaper or the windows start up screen for example, my screen starts dimming the brightness until it goes black completely. Also if I manually turn down brightness to about 40/100 the screen will go black. I have to turn off and on the monitor for the brightness to come back but only when there is a something bright on the screen somewhere will it come stay at full brightness. It is still usable 95% of the time, for example I don't turn the monitor on until login screen to avoid this but WHY is this happening? Remember my monitor is missing 1 of 10 bulbs so there is more voltage per bulb I assume. I know its the monitor and not the OS or other software because it occurs before the OS boots somtimes.

Other info:
I'm using a vga cable with a dvi adapter to connect to my asus hd4850 and also using Windows 7 RC1. +I have disabled DDC/CI on the monitor because that would eliminate the OS changing the contrast/brightness I think.

Thanks guys.
__________________
Sager NP5160 [Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM|15.6" 1080p Matte 95% NTSC Color Gamut|nVidia GT 540M with Optimus Technology|IC Diamond Thermal Compound|Intel® Advanced-N 6230|Crucial c300 64gb SSD]

Server: [Intel® Core™ i5-2500k@4.5ghz 1.32v 24/7 (5.0ghz 1.47v stable)|Asus P8P67|Mushkin Silverline DDR3-1333 16gb(4x4gb)|Corsair 450VX|Windows 7 x64]
Toonami Aftermath - 1997-2002 Toonami Restored
Surutcra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 07:26 PM   #2
videogames101
Diamond Member
 
videogames101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 52375
Posts: 6,125
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. Weird.

Dynamic Contrast.

"A notable recent development in the LCD technology is the so-called "dynamic contrast" (DC). When there is a need to display a dark image, the display would underpower the backlight lamp (or decrease the aperture of the projector's lens using an iris), but will proportionately amplify the transmission through the LCD panel. This gives the benefit of realizing the potential static contrast ratio of the LCD panel in dark scenes when the image is watched in a dark room. The drawback is that if a dark scene does contain small areas of superbright light, image quality may be over exposed."


That Westinghouse uses it, and it sounds like this might be the problem? Just a guess.
__________________
3570K
HD7870 (Tahiti LE)
videogames101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 08:42 PM   #3
Surutcra
Member
 
Surutcra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 71
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. Weird.

OMG... this happend to me last time I posted a problem I had.. Ok so I thought it was DDC/CI that reduced the brightness, because it was in the same menu as the image settings (contrast/brightness) but that didn't work. But when I was fiddling around in the color menu I saw the DCR setting ON so I turned it off and it works perfectly. I feel dumb after that but hey at least I fixed my problem. Thanks Videogames101 for the quick response and btw it doesnt actually change the contrast it just reduces the brightness of the backlights. The purpose of this is so they can use the low brightness black vs 100% brightness white to label it DC 3000:1 contrast ratio. And because I'm missing a bulb when it reduced my brightness it would shut them off due to the less voltage it takes. Thanks again.
__________________
Sager NP5160 [Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM|15.6" 1080p Matte 95% NTSC Color Gamut|nVidia GT 540M with Optimus Technology|IC Diamond Thermal Compound|Intel® Advanced-N 6230|Crucial c300 64gb SSD]

Server: [Intel® Core™ i5-2500k@4.5ghz 1.32v 24/7 (5.0ghz 1.47v stable)|Asus P8P67|Mushkin Silverline DDR3-1333 16gb(4x4gb)|Corsair 450VX|Windows 7 x64]
Toonami Aftermath - 1997-2002 Toonami Restored
Surutcra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:29 PM   #4
JessicaD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. Weird.

Surutcra,

This sounds like a situation that may receive a good solution directly from the source -- Microsoft. Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 RC Support Forum located here http://************/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads out there.

Jessica
Microsoft Windows Client Team
JessicaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 06:42 AM   #5
Candymancan21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 251
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. Weird.

Yea sound like Dynamic Contrast. My monitor goes really dark when viewing a dark image also, that is if i use dynamic contrast. I prefer to keep Dynamic on tho, when you play video games even if your monitor is tweaked perfectly the blacks still look grey, with dynamic contrast it looks 100% better.
__________________
Intel E8400 @ 4400mhz 1.368v "CO" Batch # Q816A216
Asus P5Q-PRO Ket's 1613M Bios
4GB G.skill DDR2-800
Sapphire 4890 OC Edition @ 950/1100
Antec TP 650W trio
WesternDigital 640AAKS
Custom Watercooling 7 year old Maze 3 Lucent top
Candymancan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:25 AM   #6
Surutcra
Member
 
Surutcra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 71
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

Quote:
Originally posted by: Candymancan21
Yea sound like Dynamic Contrast. My monitor goes really dark when viewing a dark image also, that is if i use dynamic contrast. I prefer to keep Dynamic on tho, when you play video games even if your monitor is tweaked perfectly the blacks still look grey, with dynamic contrast it looks 100% better.
Yeah I would imagine it would work nicely for dark scenes in games but my problem was that when it dims the brightness all the way my screen flickers and suddenly turns off. I'm happy that I can disable it though otherwise my monitor would be turning off all the time.
__________________
Sager NP5160 [Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM|15.6" 1080p Matte 95% NTSC Color Gamut|nVidia GT 540M with Optimus Technology|IC Diamond Thermal Compound|Intel® Advanced-N 6230|Crucial c300 64gb SSD]

Server: [Intel® Core™ i5-2500k@4.5ghz 1.32v 24/7 (5.0ghz 1.47v stable)|Asus P8P67|Mushkin Silverline DDR3-1333 16gb(4x4gb)|Corsair 450VX|Windows 7 x64]
Toonami Aftermath - 1997-2002 Toonami Restored
Surutcra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:28 AM   #7
Candymancan21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 251
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

Oh that sucks.. lol Yea good thing im pretty sure they all have the option to turn it off anyway. I wouldnt buy anything used from ebay for computers. The guy probably just ripped you knowing it was defective like that.
__________________
Intel E8400 @ 4400mhz 1.368v "CO" Batch # Q816A216
Asus P5Q-PRO Ket's 1613M Bios
4GB G.skill DDR2-800
Sapphire 4890 OC Edition @ 950/1100
Antec TP 650W trio
WesternDigital 640AAKS
Custom Watercooling 7 year old Maze 3 Lucent top
Candymancan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:10 AM   #8
Surutcra
Member
 
Surutcra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 71
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

Quote:
Originally posted by: Candymancan21
Oh that sucks.. lol Yea good thing im pretty sure they all have the option to turn it off anyway. I wouldnt buy anything used from ebay for computers. The guy probably just ripped you knowing it was defective like that.
The only thing wrong with the monitor is that one of the 8 or 10 bulbs was broken which I easily bypassed at no charge and I am pretty sure that this happend during shipping. I'm still glad I bought it at 250$+ shipping, I probably would do it again. I'm really enjoying the 1920x1200
__________________
Sager NP5160 [Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM|15.6" 1080p Matte 95% NTSC Color Gamut|nVidia GT 540M with Optimus Technology|IC Diamond Thermal Compound|Intel® Advanced-N 6230|Crucial c300 64gb SSD]

Server: [Intel® Core™ i5-2500k@4.5ghz 1.32v 24/7 (5.0ghz 1.47v stable)|Asus P8P67|Mushkin Silverline DDR3-1333 16gb(4x4gb)|Corsair 450VX|Windows 7 x64]
Toonami Aftermath - 1997-2002 Toonami Restored
Surutcra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:04 PM   #9
bigsnyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 1,567
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

I am sorry if I missed it, but what was the solution?
bigsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:52 PM   #10
harobikes333
Platinum Member
 
harobikes333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,261
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

same here... I'm lost.
__________________
Check out my personal website ? Daily-Pages
harobikes333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 04:47 PM   #11
yusux
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 331
Default Monitor Changes Brightness on its own. [SOLVED]

He turned off his dynamic contrast.

And imo that westinghouse 26" is the worst LCD I've laid eyes on out of the 9 LCDs I've owned.
yusux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.