Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > The Garage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2009, 10:15 AM   #1
alphatarget1
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,705
Default engines that use timing chain

Timing belt replacements are expensive... and timing chains don't usually require much maintenance for hte life of the engine. Does anyone know of a compilation of a list of engines that use timing chains? I know most Nissans use timing chains but that's about it
alphatarget1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:23 AM   #2
Gibson486
Lifer
 
Gibson486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 18,380
Default engines that use timing chain

mazda3...atleast 07 and older.
__________________
Well, now I am going to be flamed out of existance.

There's your sugar...and there's your culture.

"Getting enough idiots together to demonstrate consensus on a ludicrous idea in order to help justify it is for Congress not real life... "-MWilding

Gibson486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:08 AM   #3
Don Vito Corleone
Elite
 
Don Vito Corleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 28,789
Default engines that use timing chain

The venerable Nissan VQ uses a timing chain.
__________________
The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity. The Second Coming, William Butler Yeats
Don Vito Corleone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:12 AM   #4
Baked
Lifer
 
Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 36,138
Default engines that use timing chain

You must drive a lot if 60K interval hurts your wallet.
__________________
企业管理: 管人36计[三等人用钱买人,二等人用权压人,一等人用计管人.]
Donate: This American Life
Baked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:56 AM   #5
alphatarget1
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,705
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: Baked
You must drive a lot if 60K interval hurts your wallet.
400-600 dollars every 90k miles... I would rather not spend that. It's not *that* expensive but it's still money I'd rather spend elsewhere.
alphatarget1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:17 PM   #6
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,047
Default engines that use timing chain

k24
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:44 PM   #7
Kermy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 375
Default engines that use timing chain

Current Civics do.
Kermy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:48 PM   #8
melchoir
Senior Member
 
melchoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 759
Default engines that use timing chain

All of the LSx motors from GM.
melchoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:03 PM   #9
T2urtle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 3,019
Default engines that use timing chain

Just because you have a chain doesn't mean the chain or guides wont wear out.

But i understand your point its not every 60-105k that you need to replace it. 60k for most people is 3 years $600-900 is not that bad of a price to spend, its like tires for the most part. Yea some people with chains dont have to pay for it. I wouldn't go away or towards a car based off it they had a timing chain or not.
T2urtle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:53 PM   #10
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,549
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: Baked
You must drive a lot if 60K interval hurts your wallet.
I'd hit that in under two years.

As for the original question, my Fit has a chain.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 02:02 PM   #11
herm0016
Diamond Member
 
herm0016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 5,044
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: melchoir
All of the pushrod motors from GM.
__________________
heat
Oil and gas logging Engineer
KD8DYO
herm0016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 02:02 PM   #12
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 21,563
Default engines that use timing chain

FYI, chains require replacement at some point as well and they aren't failure proof either.
NutBucket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 02:03 PM   #13
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 21,563
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: melchoir
All of the LSx motors from GM.
I like your thinking.
NutBucket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 02:31 PM   #14
zerocool84
Lifer
 
zerocool84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 31,948
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: NutBucket
Quote:
Originally posted by: melchoir
All of the LSx motors from GM.
I like your thinking.
But they're GM and their timing chains aren't reliable even if they're exactly the same ones in a Honda or Toyota.



/LOIUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
zerocool84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 03:27 PM   #15
Kaervak
Diamond Member
 
Kaervak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 8,457
Default engines that use timing chain

All Saturn S-Series engines use timing chains as well.
__________________
HeatWare
Kaervak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 03:46 PM   #16
evident
Diamond Member
 
evident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 9,727
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: zerocool84
Quote:
Originally posted by: NutBucket
Quote:
Originally posted by: melchoir
All of the LSx motors from GM.
I like your thinking.
But they're GM and their timing chains aren't reliable even if they're exactly the same ones in a Honda or Toyota.



/LOIUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
he hasn't even posted in this thread, what the hell is your problem?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BlahBlahYouToo
k24
for those not in the know, the k engine is the 4 cyl engine used in honda accords, crv and civics and probably some other cars
evident is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 04:06 PM   #17
exdeath
Lifer
 
exdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,321
Default engines that use timing chain

Ford mod motors (4.6/5.4) are OHC with timing chains.

You still have maintenance with timing chains and it's even more expensive. Hydraulic tensioners and guides are the most common culprits, esp on OHC engines where the chains are extremely long. They make nerve wrecking ticking and rattling noises when they are going out. You have to replace the sprockets and chains at the same time, esp if the sprockets have plastic teeth.

Why don't you just learn to do timing belts yourself and save some cash? It's not a difficult job, just annoying. Most of the cost to have someone else do it is labor. It's billed for several hours even though you can do it yourself in an an hour or two if you've done it before. You'll learn something and get a better sense of pride in your ride.
exdeath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:35 PM   #18
overst33r
Diamond Member
 
overst33r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,579
Default engines that use timing chain

2000+ Corolla. 2002+ Sentra (I think).
__________________
.. 135
.. ╠╬╬╗
.. 246 R
Past | Present | Future
overst33r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:57 PM   #19
Bignate603
Lifer
 
Bignate603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 13,900
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: Baked
You must drive a lot if 60K interval hurts your wallet.
Yes, but why spend $500 you don't need to? I can afford to do it but all things being equal I would really prefer not to spend it.
__________________
Ugly can be fixed,stupid is forever.
AnandTech Moderator
Bignate603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #20
F1N3ST
Diamond Member
 
F1N3ST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,750
Default engines that use timing chain

.83 Cents a mile if replacing at 60k.

__________________
Q9550 3.4Ghz | 2x2GB, 2x1GB, DDR2-800 | TP35D2-A7 | X-fi Xtremegamer | EA650 | GTX260 655/2100 | Caviar Black 750GB
Quote:
Originally Posted by bignateyk View Post
There's a fine line between superman dick and whiskey dick. Maybe he was a hero?
F1N3ST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:18 PM   #21
Squisher
Lifer
 
Squisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 20,738
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: evident

he hasn't even posted in this thread, what the hell is your problem?
He hasn't posted because he's on a little vacation.

I still wanna hug that mod.



__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by: electron
Forget P&N, we need a new forum for this. I recommend naming it "Cuckoo's Nest"
Grandkids holding some vermin.
Squisher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:44 PM   #22
evident
Diamond Member
 
evident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 9,727
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: Squisher
Quote:
Originally posted by: evident

he hasn't even posted in this thread, what the hell is your problem?
He hasn't posted because he's on a little vacation.

I still wanna hug that mod.


hope hes on a long vacation, even though i like hondas and toyotas he's still a fucking moron
evident is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 08:12 PM   #23
Volkswagen
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,107
Default engines that use timing chain

The VW Vr6 12V and 24V use chains.
__________________
Intel I7 2600K| Corsair H80
ASROCK Z77E-ITX |Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 8GB DDR3 2133
GALAXY GTX 780
Crucial M4 256 GB | WD Scorpio BLACK 750 GB
Shuttle SZ68R5 Chassis with 500W PSU
HEAT: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=20134
Volkswagen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:28 PM   #24
nismotigerwvu
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kent, Ohio
Posts: 1,410
Default engines that use timing chain

Nissan KA series did. Also had some annoying tensioner issues associated with it. If your 240SX sounds like a marble rolling around in a tin can you might wanna check them out.
nismotigerwvu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:57 PM   #25
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Rubycon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: For A Moment It Seemed Like The Clouds Stopped Moving
Posts: 16,801
Default engines that use timing chain

Quote:
Originally posted by: F1N3ST
.83 Cents a mile if replacing at 60k.
Good thing Verizon does not replace them because it would cost $49,800! :laugh:

REF
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.