Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2009, 05:53 PM   #1
jadeiceman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Default MSI BIOS on Sylvania G Magni Elite

Hi, I was wondering if I could install the MSI Wind's BIOS on the Sylvania G Magni Elite netbook because I heard it is just a rebranded MSI Wind. I want to overclock.

Thanks.
jadeiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:57 PM   #2
mpilchfamily
Diamond Member
 
mpilchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,559
Default MSI BIOS on Sylvania G Magni Elite

Lets asume it is a rebranded MSI wind. That being the cse then it already has the Wind's bios.

Since its not the same bios and is void of the extra features the flash will likely brick the system. Chances are if it is an MSI wind rebrand its just manufactured by MSI and based on the wind. That would mean that Sylvania probably specified its own changes to the system. Thus requiring a different Bios to be used.
__________________
Ntech Duo podcast covers tech news, products reviews, gaming, and any other technology related item.
Listen to Ntech Duo Podcast
http://ntechduo.podbean.com/

Ntech Duo Blog and Show notes
http://www.ntechduo.blogspot.com
mpilchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 06:41 PM   #3
jadeiceman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Default MSI BIOS on Sylvania G Magni Elite

Thanks for the reply. Luckily I found someone who had done it, and sure enough when I tried it, it worked. I was able to get the overclocking feature to work fine too.
jadeiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.