Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2009, 05:01 PM   #1
tjcinnamon
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 133
Default Asus P5Q-E SLi?

I have an Asus P5Q-E and I am thinking of buying a new graphics card.

I want to get a GTX-285 with the potential to go SLi later. Is SLi possible on a P5Q-E? It says in the manual its CrossFire ready but I don't see anything conclusively for or against SLi.

If I can't go SLi, I will probably (begrudgingly) get the GTX-295 which is out of my price range. Plus, I'm not sure about the stability of the GTX-295.

Can the P5Q-E handle SLi?

Thanks,
JOe K.
tjcinnamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:41 PM   #2
imported_wired247
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,184
Default Asus P5Q-E SLi?

As far as I know the only "supported" way to SLI on an intel chipset is the X58, or in other words getting a core i7.

So long story short, no.
imported_wired247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:46 AM   #3
n7
Elite Member
 
n7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 21,072
Default Asus P5Q-E SLi?

No.

nVidia's drivers have artificial limitations built in so that only nForce chipset-based boards can do SLI, other than for X58 & IIRC, Skulltrail...

Basically, a money scam.
__________________
Steam
Xfire
n7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 05:01 PM   #4
Aenslead
Golden Member
 
Aenslead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1,256
Default Asus P5Q-E SLi?

1) get nForce motherboard if you have a good CPU
2) get a GTX295 better, instead of doing SLI.
__________________
Personal System: GeForce GTX480, 12GB RAM DDR3, Core i7 920, X58 Chipset, SSD Now! RAID0 + 1TB RAID1 HDD, P182 + SilentPro 600. http://yfrog.com/1sntws01nov1001j
Aenslead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.