Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2009, 02:41 AM   #1
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,053
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

http://www.theinquirer.net/inq...design-playstation-gpu
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 03:55 AM   #2
novasatori
Diamond Member
 
novasatori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,851
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
TechRadar spoke with a Sony Computer Entertainment Europe rep who told us in no uncertain terms, "it's nonsense, and is quite possibly the best work of fiction I've read, since Lord of the Rings."
http://www.techradar.com/news/...-in-ps4-rumours-525563
novasatori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:15 AM   #3
nosfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 424
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

on the other hand, it wouldn't be the first time that sony denied rumors that turned out to be true
nosfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:22 AM   #4
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,053
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Despite being denied by Sony, I can see this actually making sense. Intel has deep pockets (and would probably pay Sony handsomely for the CPU/GPU rights to PS4) and if they want to get a foothold in the GPU business a console is not a bad way to go.
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:17 AM   #5
Bateluer
Lifer
 
Bateluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 26,164
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Makes sense to me. Sony seems to live in a world of denial with the PS3.
Bateluer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:32 AM   #6
nosfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 424
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

what i'm hoping for is that the consoles will use x86 style CPU's with GPU's that more closely resemble what we have in desktops so that porting games back and forth would be extremely easy so instead of spending money on porting the code they'll spend the money to make sure that the console games ported to the PC will have proper menus/controls/etc
nosfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:42 AM   #7
IlllI
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,832
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Larrabee reminds me of the cell processor they use



IlllI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:48 AM   #8
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,273
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

I really can't see Sony committing to such untried technology.
__________________
i5 2500K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | GA-P67A-UD3-B3 | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:13 AM   #9
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,116
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BFG10K
I really can't see Sony committing to such untried technology.
Who says it's untried? End-consumers like you and me, sure we haven't tried it. But if Sony really went with Larrabee then you can bet they've already tried it in-house and are pleased enough with the preliminary results.

Quote:
Originally posted by: thilan29
Despite being denied by Sony, I can see this actually making sense.
When I read TheINQ link last night I though "more of groo's crazy anti-Nvidia rants"...but once Sony went out of their way to deny the rumor, well nothing could have confirmed it any more so. Sony denying a rumor is a 100% guarantee it is the truth.

Have people learned nothing about Sony these past 3 yrs? They are nearly as consistent as AMD when it comes to denying rumors that are actually true.
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 10:59 AM   #10
nosfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 424
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BFG10K
I really can't see Sony committing to such untried technology.
so how "tried" were the Xenon or the Cell?
nosfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 11:06 AM   #11
Wreckage
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,529
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Even though this is clearly more made up Inq delusions, it probably belongs in the console section.
Wreckage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 11:27 AM   #12
SlowSpyder
Diamond Member
 
SlowSpyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,959
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Idontcare
Quote:
Originally posted by: BFG10K
I really can't see Sony committing to such untried technology.
Who says it's untried? End-consumers like you and me, sure we haven't tried it. But if Sony really went with Larrabee then you can bet they've already tried it in-house and are pleased enough with the preliminary results.

Quote:
Originally posted by: thilan29
Despite being denied by Sony, I can see this actually making sense.
When I read TheINQ link last night I though "more of groo's crazy anti-Nvidia rants"...but once Sony went out of their way to deny the rumor, well nothing could have confirmed it any more so. Sony denying a rumor is a 100% guarantee it is the truth.

Have people learned nothing about Sony these past 3 yrs? They are nearly as consistent as AMD when it comes to denying rumors that are actually true.
Yea, we'll see how this turns out. I'm curious to see if The Inq gets this right or not. While their stories are often not 100% correct, they are often pointed in the right direction so to speak.
__________________
Steve
FX 9370 @ 5017MHz (223 x 22.5)/ MSI 990FXA-GD80 / 8GB x 2 ADATA XPG 2400 @ 1784MHz / Radeon 7970 @ 1100/1425MHz / 2 x 160GB Intel 320 SSD's RAID0
SlowSpyder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 12:05 PM   #13
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,053
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Wreckage
Even though this is clearly more made up Inq delusions, it probably belongs in the console section.
It has to do with a technical GPU aspect of the console though. I'm fairly certain I've seen similar threads about Xenon or RSX before in this forum.
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 12:38 PM   #14
Barfo
Lifer
 
Barfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: in your mom
Posts: 26,969
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
It seems Nvidia has proverbially bent Sony over like they did MS on the XBox, and are not really welcome there any more.
Anyone know what is this about?
__________________
3570K | ASUS P8Z77-V |16 GB | Sapphire 7950 w/ boost | HAF 922| Seasonic 550W |Win7 x64

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/21/7yjuny7a.jpg
Barfo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 01:08 PM   #15
Wreckage
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,529
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: barfo
Quote:
It seems Nvidia has proverbially bent Sony over like they did MS on the XBox, and are not really welcome there any more.
Anyone know what is this about?
Charlie likes to write fiction and pass it off as fact.
Wreckage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 01:16 PM   #16
Astrallite
Diamond Member
 
Astrallite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,204
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

This would actually be kind of cool really since you have to consider that all the flagship games are console games anyway and the AAA titles that were PC-exclusive years ago are all multiplatform.

Consoles can actually drive multithreading. If it was just the PC industry you'd probably only see dual-threaded games for an eternity whereas a lot of the console ports these days actually take advantage of quads.
__________________
Intel 4770k @ 4.3 GHz | Nvidia GTX 780 SLI @1161MHz | Dell S27040L | Dynaudio C1 Signature | Yamaha RX-A3000 Receiver | Dual JL Audio F110 Subwoofers
Astrallite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 01:30 PM   #17
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,509
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: nosfe
what i'm hoping for is that the consoles will use x86 style CPU's with GPU's that more closely resemble what we have in desktops so that porting games back and forth would be extremely easy so instead of spending money on porting the code they'll spend the money to make sure that the console games ported to the PC will have proper menus/controls/etc
They wont, they will just pocket the extra money and call it a day.
Keep in mind that if they license the unreal engine it already works on both PCs and consoles, so there is nothing really to port, only thing to do is change the menus, which they always skimp on.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 01:38 PM   #18
Lonyo
Lifer
 
Lonyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,461
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: barfo
Quote:
It seems Nvidia has proverbially bent Sony over like they did MS on the XBox, and are not really welcome there any more.
Anyone know what is this about?
In 2002, Microsoft and NVIDIA entered arbitration over a dispute on the pricing of NVIDIA's chips for the Xbox.[11] NVIDIA's filing with the SEC indicated that Microsoft was seeking a US$13 million discount on shipments for NVIDIA's fiscal year 2002. Additionally, Microsoft alleged violations of the agreement the two companies entered, sought reduced chipset pricing, and sought to ensure that NVIDIA fulfill Microsoft's chipset orders without limits on quantity. The matter was settled on February 6, 2003, and no terms of the settlement were released.[12]

http://www.eetimes.com/news/se...ml;?articleID=10803514
http://www.eetimes.com/news/la...tml?articleID=10800974
__________________
CPU: Q3570K @ 4.1GHz 1.23v // Mobo: Asus P8Z77-V // GFX: Sapphire Tri-X 290 @ 1000/5200 // RAM: Corsair DDR3 @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 // SSD: Samsung 830 128GB
Video cards: TNT2, Ti4400, 9800, 7800GT(+7200GS), HD4850(+HD2400), HD6850, HD7950 (Laptops: GF6150, HD3200, GMA500)
Lonyo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:49 PM   #19
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,188
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

IMO this is very bad news for Sony and the PS4.

Larabee is unproven technology, and IMO it will be inferior to what AMD and NV have.

Sony used to make good consoles. The PS and PS2 were both fantasic, and IIRC, they created their own custom "emotion engine" graphics components.

AMD seems to make the best console GPUs ATM. Xbox3 FTW. :beer:
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 04:58 PM   #20
DaveSimmons
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 36,849
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

It's a bad idea to switch from Cell + nvidia.

If they follow Nintendo's lead and just duct-tape 2 PS3s together (add cores to Cell and a newer nvidia chip) then they start the PS4's life with a mature set of tools, while publishers and studios have experience, engines and code libraries working and tested.

Duct-taping also allows getting the PS3 version of titles "for free" when you build the PS4 version: just re-complile with diferent build flags, such as rendering at 640p instead of the 1080p the PS4 will finally allow.
DaveSimmons is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:10 PM   #21
chizow
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,485
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: nosfe
so how "tried" were the Xenon or the Cell?
They're actually both based on existing RISC processors, which have always been better than their general-purpose long instruction set x86 counterparts for gaming consoles.

I'd say the only way this has any chance of being true is if Intel buys ATI from AMD in its final death throes. Latest news out of Intel for Larrabee have not been good, and even worst for their integrated GPU/CPU.
__________________
Intel Core i7 4770K @4.3GHz | Gigabyte Z87X-UD4 | Win7 x64 Ultimate | Corsair H100i | Ballistix Elite 2x8GB
Galaxy GeForce GTX 670 GC (680 PCB) SLI | Asus VG278H 120Hz 3D Vision LCD | Samsung 840 250GB SSD | HyperX 3x120GB SSD RAID 0 | WD Black 2x1.5TB RAID 0 | Sony STR-DG1000 A/V Receiver | Polk Audio RM6880 7.1| LG Blu-Ray | Auzen X-Fi HT HD | Logitech G110/G700/G27/G930 | Cooler Master HAF X | Antec TPQ 1200W
chizow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 05:45 PM   #22
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,509
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: SickBeast
IMO this is very bad news for Sony and the PS4.

Larabee is unproven technology, and IMO it will be inferior to what AMD and NV have.

Sony used to make good consoles. The PS and PS2 were both fantasic, and IIRC, they created their own custom "emotion engine" graphics components.

AMD seems to make the best console GPUs ATM. Xbox3 FTW. :beer:
I can't possibly imagine HOW. The sony is currently running a cell processor, where there is 1 CPU like core and 8 larabee like cores... replacing it with something capable of x86 code means it has the same structure only much easier to program for.

Besides, every single new technology ever made is by definition untested when it is first made, by the time it is thoroughly tested it is obsolete. This is more of a "does intel have the experience and knowledge to actually BUILD a GPU or are they just taking on a contract that they cannot fulfill".
The answer is most likely:
1. if they cannot fulfill it sony will benefit greatly from the "unable to fulfill" clause of the contract
2. they most likely can fulfill it because they have the money to hire competent engineers, programmers, etc who can create it...
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:27 PM   #23
SickBeast
Lifer
 
SickBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14,188
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: taltamir
Quote:
Originally posted by: SickBeast
IMO this is very bad news for Sony and the PS4.

Larabee is unproven technology, and IMO it will be inferior to what AMD and NV have.

Sony used to make good consoles. The PS and PS2 were both fantasic, and IIRC, they created their own custom "emotion engine" graphics components.

AMD seems to make the best console GPUs ATM. Xbox3 FTW. :beer:
I can't possibly imagine HOW. The sony is currently running a cell processor, where there is 1 CPU like core and 8 larabee like cores... replacing it with something capable of x86 code means it has the same structure only much easier to program for.

Besides, every single new technology ever made is by definition untested when it is first made, by the time it is thoroughly tested it is obsolete. This is more of a "does intel have the experience and knowledge to actually BUILD a GPU or are they just taking on a contract that they cannot fulfill".
The answer is most likely:
1. if they cannot fulfill it sony will benefit greatly from the "unable to fulfill" clause of the contract
2. they most likely can fulfill it because they have the money to hire competent engineers, programmers, etc who can create it...
I guess I just fail to see how a bunch of puny Atom-like CPUs can somehow emulate a GPU and run somewhat fast. I just don't like the direction intel is going with; Larabee does not look to be a good product to me. It's too radical. I don't know why Sony keeps going with radical designs lately.
__________________
Asus X53E l i3-2350M l 16gb DDR3 l OCZ Agility 4
SickBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 06:30 PM   #24
tcsenter
Lifer
 
tcsenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 16,904
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Cell is one of the best things going for PS3. The stream and distributed computing clients that PS3 is being used to reach top FLOP performance rankings hardly touch the GPU except for real-time visualization. They're running almost entirely on PPC + Cell.
tcsenter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:03 PM   #25
mmnno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 381
Default Intel GPU in the PS4?

Quote:
Originally posted by: BFG10K
I really can't see Sony committing to such untried technology.
As absurd as this statement sounds, you have to think Sony will go down a more conservative route this time around. Even though the PS3 wasn't a success, do they really want another radical architecture change in this market? Unless making games for it is as easy as making toast, they're going to stick with the known product for the PS4.
mmnno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.