Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2007, 08:12 AM   #1
napes22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 309
Default One Core Runs Hotter

I recently went into my computer, and manged some cables, as well as re-applied arctic silver on my processer. Upon boot, I noticed that Core 1 was running 5-10 degrees hotter than Core 2. I am not sure if this is normally the case, but I have never noticed it before. Is this normal? Should I re-seat the chip?

Idle:
Core 1 - 34
Core 2 - 27

Load:
Core 1 - 45
Core 2 - 40

Thanks
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 | Intel Core i5 2500K | Corsair H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB 1600 | Corsair 400R | Sapphire 6950 2GB
XFX 650PRO 650W PSU | 1xCrucial M4 128GB SSD | 1xWD Caviar 1TB 7200

heatware
napes22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 09:09 AM   #2
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,953
Default One Core Runs Hotter

I got the same situation with my X-2 3800+. My temps are different from each other by as much as 10C during idle and 5C during load. My max idle temp was 38C according to CoreTemp. I read from somewhere before that CoreTemp readings can be off by as much as 15C when reading temps on AMD processors.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 09:30 AM   #3
napes22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 309
Default One Core Runs Hotter

I was also using CoreTemp to read my X-2 4200+. The odd thing is that prior to me fiddling around in the case and re-seating the processor, I was pretty sure that CoreTemp gave me closer readings.
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 | Intel Core i5 2500K | Corsair H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB 1600 | Corsair 400R | Sapphire 6950 2GB
XFX 650PRO 650W PSU | 1xCrucial M4 128GB SSD | 1xWD Caviar 1TB 7200

heatware
napes22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 09:55 AM   #4
Ava1anche
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Default One Core Runs Hotter

Core 1 will aways run hotter than core 2. Core one is run the OS background programs. You are normal.
Ava1anche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 12:27 AM   #5
fluffmonster
Senior Member
 
fluffmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 201
Default One Core Runs Hotter

I get diffs of 4C at idle (32 vs. 36) which could be the background programs running on one core, but I get diffs of 8C or so under Orthos (45 vs. 53) in which case it is not a load differential.

Makes me wonder if I got the heatsink seated right.

AC Pro 64 on an X2 4400+
__________________
i7-920 3.4GHz ~ Gigabyte UD4P ~ 12GB 1600 ~ xfx hd7870 ~ 128GB Crucial C300+1TB Barracuda ~ Corsair 750TX ~ CM 690-I ~ Samsung T240 24"
fluffmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 08:42 AM   #6
Yellowbeard
Golden Member
 
Yellowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,542
Default One Core Runs Hotter

You could run Orthos Prime and stress both cores 100% and see if that temperature gap closes.
__________________
Corsair Technical Support Artist
Yellowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 11:35 AM   #7
napes22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 309
Default One Core Runs Hotter

Would that really work? If anything, I feel like the gap would close in the way we wouldn't want (the lower temperature core being regularly hotter). Also, could that damage your system? I only have a stock heatsink.
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 | Intel Core i5 2500K | Corsair H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB 1600 | Corsair 400R | Sapphire 6950 2GB
XFX 650PRO 650W PSU | 1xCrucial M4 128GB SSD | 1xWD Caviar 1TB 7200

heatware
napes22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 11:59 AM   #8
elcamino74ss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 215
Default One Core Runs Hotter

I just put my x2 3600 toghther last night and coretemp is reporting 17 and 7 idle for me. Set up is in a P180 case and I'm using the NE $10 Arctic Cooling cooler. Board is a Gigabyte Nforce4 SLI AM@ board.
__________________
Gaming rig : i7-920/Gigabyte UD3R/8gb DDR3/EVGA 460GTX 1gb
WHS : Dell PowerEdge T110 X3450, 16gb DDR3, 5TB
Asus G72Gx : 2.53ghz C2D, 6gb DDR2, 2 x 500gb SATA, GTX 260m 1gb, 17"
MacBook Pro 15" : T8900 C2D/8gb/9600GT/256gb SSD
elcamino74ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 12:04 PM   #9
AnotherGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Default One Core Runs Hotter

Quote:
Originally posted by: napes22
Would that really work? If anything, I feel like the gap would close in the way we wouldn't want (the lower temperature core being regularly hotter). Also, could that damage your system? I only have a stock heatsink.
Those temps are pretty cool... thats exactly pretty much the same temps under load and idle... for my single core amd3000+ oced to 2.4 since day 1... that is 2.5 years ago... but with a Thermalright XP-90 HSF.
U should have no problem from those temps... but the temp difference i donno anythin about that.
__________________
New system: Asus P5k, Q9400 @3.2Ghz - 1.25v, Freezer 7 Pro hsf, 3X2GB G. Skill ddr2 8500, VisionTek HD7850 2GB, Corsair CX600, OCZ Solid3 120GB SSD, WD 640gb 16mb, 2 optical drives, Sviking case
Samsung 226BW
AnotherGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.