Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
brxndxn
Diamond Member
 
brxndxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,474
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

I installed Windows 7 on my laptop because I am going to force myself to figure out how to get used to it. (So far, I really really hate it.)

If I go to cdocuments and settings, it says "Access Denied!"

If I go to my home folder on the desktop and click 'Local Settings', I get "Access Denied!"

How do I make it so that my administrator account is really an administrator account? I should not be blocked from doing anything.
__________________
Do good things and shut up.
brxndxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
stash
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,468
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

cdocuments and settings is a junction...you don't want to mess around with it and shouldn't need to, which is why the permissions are set the way they are.
stash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:39 PM   #3
TAandy
Diamond Member
 
TAandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,218
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by: stash
cdocuments and settings is a junction...you don't want to mess around with it and shouldn't need to, which is why the permissions are set the way they are.
doesn't really explain anything!
??
and i'm well aware, i may be missing a lot
__________________
Terrorists are now planting bombs inside tins of alphabetti spaghetti; if just one of them explodes, it could spell disaster
TAandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:44 PM   #4
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

CDocuments and Settings doesn't really exist on Vista or 7, that's just a junction. Go to CUsers if you want to mess around with your profile's contents.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:47 PM   #5
TAandy
Diamond Member
 
TAandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,218
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by: mechBgon
CDocuments and Settings doesn't really exist on Vista or 7, that's just a junction. Go to CUsers if you want to mess around with your profile's contents.
cheers mech,
__________________
Terrorists are now planting bombs inside tins of alphabetti spaghetti; if just one of them explodes, it could spell disaster
TAandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:14 PM   #6
brxndxn
Diamond Member
 
brxndxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,474
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Screw that.. I want to mess around with everything.

I found that if I right-click C:, click properties, click security, click advanced, click owner, click edit, select my username, and check 'replace owner on subcontainers and objects', and click apply, I get no more annoying 'access denied' messages.. **** junctions. I should be able to access everything. It is my computer.
__________________
Do good things and shut up.
brxndxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:24 PM   #7
BlueAcolyte
Platinum Member
 
BlueAcolyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Look! A distraction!
Posts: 2,793
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Well maybe, you know, it doesn't exist?
BlueAcolyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:27 PM   #8
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by: BlueAcolyte
Well maybe, you know, it doesn't exist?
Exactly. This is the Windows 7 (x64) filesystem: http://pics.bbzzdd.com/users/m...ndows_7_filesystem.PNG Obviously, there is no CDocuments and Settings, so nuking one's file-system security in order to "access" a piece of thin air is not very productive. Just go to CUsers, and there you are already.

Now, the issue from the local desktop, that could be a valid bug report. What steps are required to replicate that, brxndxn?

mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:57 PM   #9
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default Windows 7 - Access Denied!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by: mechBgon

Now, the issue from the local desktop, that could be a valid bug report. What steps are required to replicate that, brxndxn?
BTW if it's the Local Settings in CUsers\(your username) as shown in this pic :camera:, that's another junction. Doesn't really exist. Go to AppData as shown with the highlighter.

In the bigger picture, if you want to be a "traditional" Admin-level user like in the olden days, then the option technically exists, but from here onwards you are not going to be set up that way by default. It leaves you open to exploits, and this isn't the '90s where that was a low-risk proposition. So learn what you want to learn from Windows 7, but if you want to be a WinXP-style Admin, you have to set that up yourself.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 04:45 PM   #10
mah01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brxndxn View Post
Screw that.. I want to mess around with everything.

I found that if I right-click C:, click properties, click security, click advanced, click owner, click edit, select my username, and check 'replace owner on subcontainers and objects', and click apply, I get no more annoying 'access denied' messages.. **** junctions. I should be able to access everything. It is my computer.
Thank you!!! This problem was driving me nuts and your post just made my day Best regards, Mattias
mah01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 05:03 PM   #11
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,983
Default

I just learned this the hard way with Vista...

Before I touch any user's machine I always take an acronis image. So I did that. I mounted the image to my PC so I can access the files. ACCESS DENIED! So I took ownership of all files and folders thinking it was NTFS permissions. Nope.

So I decided to just do a full disk copy using an ubuntu live CD. Then I did the mistake of assuming I got all the files and started the format. While checking I noticed that documents and settings was empty!!!

So I go to restore my image, that wont work either! Vista really does weird file system level stuff, guess newer imaging software might support it, but TI11 does not.

Vista causes hair pulling even once it's off the computer! The user will be happy to see XP on here, but not very happy to learn vista ate his files.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 05:26 PM   #12
Blazer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,051
Default

redSquirel, Ti11 was allways unpredictable, upgrade to a newer edition.
Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 05:38 PM   #13
Meghan54
Diamond Member
 
Meghan54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rollin' Rollin' Rollin', keep them doggies rollin'
Posts: 5,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSquirrel View Post
Vista causes hair pulling even once it's off the computer! The user will be happy to see XP on here, but not very happy to learn vista ate his files.

Actually, Vista did no such thing....more likely your error. I've used Acronis Image to dupe a hd to hd Vista install and have never had the sort of problems you keep saying you have with Vista.
Meghan54 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 05:40 PM   #14
Red Squirrel
Lifer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 27,983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meghan54 View Post
Actually, Vista did no such thing....more likely your error. I've used Acronis Image to dupe a hd to hd Vista install and have never had the sort of problems you keep saying you have with Vista.
Actually know what it was a noob move on my part, I just checked with gparted and turned out I forget to set the restored partition as bootable, so it was trying to boot off the HP recovery partition which I decided to keep on there just in case.
__________________
~Red Squirrel~
486dx2 @66Mhz turbo, 8MB ram, 512MB HDD, sound blaster 16 + 2x cdrom, Trident 1MB video card @ 640*480, 56k high speed modem.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 09:32 AM   #15
CycloWizard
Lifer
 
CycloWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 12,350
Default

I'm having a similar issue, though I don't think the posted answers necessarily pertain to my specific situation. I wrote a program in LabView back in 2006 and compiled it to save to cdocuments and settings\username\blah. Now I don't have access to the LabView compiler anymore, so I can't update it to change it to cusers\username\blah. The LabView program doesn't give me an error or anything, but it doesn't appear to be saving the file anywhere, either. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
"Somewhere, in a parallel universe near you, people read books, scientists are treated like rock stars, and beer is not sold in 30 can value packs." --Sign in a bar in Muncie, Indiana

Anything is possible when you don't know what you're talking about.
CycloWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 09:44 AM   #16
n0cmonkey
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 42,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brxndxn View Post
Screw that.. I want to mess around with everything.

I found that if I right-click C:, click properties, click security, click advanced, click owner, click edit, select my username, and check 'replace owner on subcontainers and objects', and click apply, I get no more annoying 'access denied' messages.. **** junctions. I should be able to access everything. It is my computer.
Bwahahaha! Don't install antivirus, turn off autoupdates, and use IE too! That'll show'em!
__________________
freakangels | HFC
n0cmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:49 PM   #17
daishi5
Golden Member
 
daishi5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CycloWizard View Post
I'm having a similar issue, though I don't think the posted answers necessarily pertain to my specific situation. I wrote a program in LabView back in 2006 and compiled it to save to cdocuments and settings\username\blah. Now I don't have access to the LabView compiler anymore, so I can't update it to change it to cusers\username\blah. The LabView program doesn't give me an error or anything, but it doesn't appear to be saving the file anywhere, either. Anyone have any ideas?
The links in windows 7 should be redirecting it to cusers\username\blah or something close.
The location of documents and settings does not exist, but there is a link there that pretends to be the location that redirects programs to the correct location.

I would start here for more information, lots of bad information on the internets. http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../aa905066.aspx
daishi5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 01:59 PM   #18
CycloWizard
Lifer
 
CycloWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 12,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daishi5 View Post
The links in windows 7 should be redirecting it to cusers\username\blah or something close.
The location of documents and settings does not exist, but there is a link there that pretends to be the location that redirects programs to the correct location.

I would start here for more information, lots of bad information on the internets. http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../aa905066.aspx
That's what I thought as well. Maybe I need to make an actual user with the correct name, since making the corresponding directory manually in the cusers folder didn't seem to work.

edit: Creating an actual user account with the appropriate username actually solved the problem. There is surely an easier workaround than that, but that will work for my purposes anyway. It only appears to work when I'm logged in as the user with the appropriate name, so it may be that the link only exists during that user's session. It will work if that user is logged in, even if I'm running the program under another account.
__________________
"Somewhere, in a parallel universe near you, people read books, scientists are treated like rock stars, and beer is not sold in 30 can value packs." --Sign in a bar in Muncie, Indiana

Anything is possible when you don't know what you're talking about.

Last edited by CycloWizard; 12-01-2009 at 02:30 PM. Reason: solved
CycloWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:21 AM   #19
pcgeek11
Diamond Member
 
pcgeek11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,744
Exclamation

Like a box of chocolates!

Duh. Some of these people obviously can't read.
pcgeek11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 05:52 PM   #20
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

You can also add the take ownership option to explorer so you can right click to take ownership of any file or folder easily. Careful as it will let you take ownership of files that if deleted will make windows crash or not boot.

Save as a .reg file the code below then import to registry

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas]
@="Take Ownership"
"NoWorkingDirectory"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas\command]
@="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F"
"IsolatedCommand"="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\runas]
@="Take Ownership"
"NoWorkingDirectory"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\runas\command]
@="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" /r /d y && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F /t"
"IsolatedCommand"="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" /r /d y && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F /t"
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 05:53 PM   #21
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default

DP
Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:16 AM   #22
daishi5
Golden Member
 
daishi5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CycloWizard View Post
That's what I thought as well. Maybe I need to make an actual user with the correct name, since making the corresponding directory manually in the cusers folder didn't seem to work.

edit: Creating an actual user account with the appropriate username actually solved the problem. There is surely an easier workaround than that, but that will work for my purposes anyway. It only appears to work when I'm logged in as the user with the appropriate name, so it may be that the link only exists during that user's session. It will work if that user is logged in, even if I'm running the program under another account.
I think the reason it only works for that user is by default only that user has access to their profile folders. Admins used to have access, and they may still have access in win7, I have not checked. However, even if they do have access, the new security features appear to have admin accounts running as non-admin and only giving "admin" power when you answer the UAC prompt. So, and this is just a guess, most of the time even admins can't access folders that they are granted access to through the "administrators" group. Maybe you could try granting access to the folders to the actual username you are using instead of just the admin group, see if that helps. No promises, but I would be interested to hear if it works.

Oh, and because I am taking guesses, if this is important at all, back your system up before you take my bad advice.
daishi5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:10 PM   #23
ThePCDoc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

There is no need to change ownership or anything else to access CUsers\%username\Local Settings. It is already your folder.
(Vista and Windows 7 now use CUsers instead of cDocuments and Settings)
By default, everyone is denied read/view access. Probably for security reasons so that malware cannot screw with that folder (or the user).
You will notice that you can jump past the Local Settings folder and get to folders inside Local Settings, as you have read/view access to those folders. Just enter cUsers\%yourusername\Local Settings\Temp to see all the temp files stored there.

If you really want to get browsing rights to the folders locked out (such as Local Settings), just remove the read/view denied privileges for that folder.
1) Select properties for the folder
(Click Local Settings folder and then right click Properties)
(This assumes you've changed the settings to show hidden files, folders and turned off hide protected operating system files. It is under Tools/Folder Options/View).
I think in Home versions, you have to set permissions to advanced sharing or you get a very basic version without any way to set privileges at a setting level. I don't use the Home versions.
2) Select the Security tab
3) Select Advanced button under Permissions
4) Click Change Permissions
5) Select the line for the Everyone Account, and click edit. Then, uncheck the box that says DENY read/view access. Then click ok.
6) Note that even if your account has full privileges, if Everyone is denied read access, you will be denied also. This would fix that problem. Permissions would now inherit from the folder higher up.

I find it preferable to change the deny view access for only these folders than to change permissions for my entire hard drive.
ThePCDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 03:11 PM   #24
hclarkjr
Lifer
 
hclarkjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Hostetter PA USA
Posts: 11,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brxndxn View Post
I installed Windows 7 on my laptop because I am going to force myself to figure out how to get used to it. (So far, I really really hate it.)

If I go to cdocuments and settings, it says "Access Denied!"

If I go to my home folder on the desktop and click 'Local Settings', I get "Access Denied!"

How do I make it so that my administrator account is really an administrator account? I should not be blocked from doing anything.
have a look here http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...le.html?filter i just enabled it and deleted my account i created when i installed windows. works great, have access to everything now
__________________
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=2478 205-0-0
Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 8.1 pro X64
hclarkjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:42 PM   #25
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hclarkjr View Post
have a look here http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...le.html?filter i just enabled it and deleted my account i created when i installed windows. works great, have access to everything now
I still can't even fathom why you would care enough to do that. I've been using Win7 at work since it went RTM and I can count the number of local "Access Denied" messages I've seen on one hand.

As long as you understand the Windows permissions scheme and the various, minor changes that were introduced in Vista and Win7 none of this is a problem.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.