Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 PM   #1
Sam25
Golden Member
 
Sam25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 1,652
Default Display adapter error! [SOLVED]

Right, so I was working on my old computer yesterday evening and suddenly it re-started automatically. Then, when it turned back on after a few minutes I got a blue screen and a huge error of which I could only read the first 3 words in a hurry as the screen was there for a few seconds only! The words were 'One of the display adapters..." The computer then just shutdown and now it's not working any more. If I switch it on there is power, the fans are spinning but there is absolutely no signal to the monitor. Any ideas on what has gone wrong?
__________________
i5-2500k | H80 | P67A-UD3R-B3 | 8GB Snipers | Mushkin 60GB SSD | HD7850 | GS800 | 4TB | 2320L | LiLi A70F Full Tower || Audio: Asus Xonar DX (x2) | Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 | Z5500D | Sony MDR-XB90EX | JVC HA-RX900 | FiiO E11 Kilimanjaro | Sansa Clip Zip 4GB (RB + 16GB Class 10) || PS3 (12GB) || Google Nexus 7
Sam25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 12:25 PM   #2
daniel49
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,806
Default Display adapter error!

Quote:
Originally posted by: Sam25
Right, so I was working on my old computer yesterday evening and suddenly it re-started automatically. Then, when it turned back on after a few minutes I got a blue screen and a huge error of which I could only read the first 3 words in a hurry as the screen was there for a few seconds only! The words were 'One of the display adapters..." The computer then just shutdown and now it's not working any more. If I switch it on there is power, the fans are spinning but there is absolutely no signal to the monitor. Any ideas on what has gone wrong?
one of the adapters? are you running dual monitors or something?
or you have onboard enabled and a video card installed as well?
__________________
A great civilization is not conquered from without.
Until it has been destroyed from within.
Will Durant

thanks for Recycling congress in 2010.
Now lets take out the rest of the trash in 2012!
daniel49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:19 PM   #3
mpilchfamily
Diamond Member
 
mpilchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,559
Default Display adapter error!

I assume your refuring to the second rig listed in your sig. But don't want to jump to conclusions.

But you have a couple of possibilities here.

One is a bad PSU. The PSU may still supply some power as indicated by the LEDs and fans. But may not be able to supply enough power to get the system to actually boot.

Another issue could be that your video card failed. If you have onboard video then plug the monitor into that and remove the video card. If it boots then it the video card that has failed.

There is also the possibility that the motherboard itself has failed.
__________________
Ntech Duo podcast covers tech news, products reviews, gaming, and any other technology related item.
Listen to Ntech Duo Podcast
http://ntechduo.podbean.com/

Ntech Duo Blog and Show notes
http://www.ntechduo.blogspot.com
mpilchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 10:04 AM   #4
Sam25
Golden Member
 
Sam25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 1,652
Default Display adapter error!

Quote:
Originally posted by: mpilchfamily
I assume your refuring to the second rig listed in your sig. But don't want to jump to conclusions.

But you have a couple of possibilities here.

One is a bad PSU. The PSU may still supply some power as indicated by the LEDs and fans. But may not be able to supply enough power to get the system to actually boot.

Another issue could be that your video card failed. If you have onboard video then plug the monitor into that and remove the video card. If it boots then it the video card that has failed.

There is also the possibility that the motherboard itself has failed.
Nope, it's actually one of my much older rigs mate. The specs are follows:

Intel Celeron @ 1.7 GHz
512MB DDR
Mobo > ASUS P48GL-MX
40GB Samsung HDD
(No additional graphic card used)

Today I changed the mobo with a new one and still there was no display at all. I used another working PSU from a different omputer but no luck. Is anything wrong with the processor?
__________________
i5-2500k | H80 | P67A-UD3R-B3 | 8GB Snipers | Mushkin 60GB SSD | HD7850 | GS800 | 4TB | 2320L | LiLi A70F Full Tower || Audio: Asus Xonar DX (x2) | Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 | Z5500D | Sony MDR-XB90EX | JVC HA-RX900 | FiiO E11 Kilimanjaro | Sansa Clip Zip 4GB (RB + 16GB Class 10) || PS3 (12GB) || Google Nexus 7
Sam25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 08:36 PM   #5
igibson
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 50
Default Display adapter error!

Are there any beeps? If you have known good power now and changed your mainboard, it would be between processor or memory. Try one stick of memory, then try the other or try some totally different stuff as you don't wanna fiddle with your cpu anymore than necessary.

good luck!
igibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 10:02 AM   #6
Sam25
Golden Member
 
Sam25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 1,652
Default Display adapter error!

Finally fixed it last week. Got a new motherboard and everything works perfectly again.
Thanks for all the help to everyone!
__________________
i5-2500k | H80 | P67A-UD3R-B3 | 8GB Snipers | Mushkin 60GB SSD | HD7850 | GS800 | 4TB | 2320L | LiLi A70F Full Tower || Audio: Asus Xonar DX (x2) | Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 | Z5500D | Sony MDR-XB90EX | JVC HA-RX900 | FiiO E11 Kilimanjaro | Sansa Clip Zip 4GB (RB + 16GB Class 10) || PS3 (12GB) || Google Nexus 7
Sam25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.