Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2008, 02:39 AM   #1
Qubus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

I have an old Dell E1405/640M. The maximum the laptop is supposed to be able to recognise is 2GB either by 1x2GB vs 2x1GB.

Is there any benefit to using one configuration over another?

ie Would there be decreased power draw if using only 1 slot - and would it be significant? Also, what/how serious would the performance drop be? I've been out of the loop for a while

Q
Qubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 08:50 AM   #2
Brainonska511
Lifer
 
Brainonska511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,500
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

Not really any benefit to one configuration over another. You can probably go higher than 2GB, especially if it's using the 945 mobile chipset (first generation of Core Duo mobile processors).

What amount of RAM do you have installed now? If you have 1GB (2x512MB), you can just pull one of the 512MB sticks out and place a 2GB stick in for a total of 2.5GB.

The max supported RAM is weird. I think Dell only lists the "max supported" by what amount they sold up to with that computer.
__________________
Desktop: Core i3-2100 | CM Hyper TX3 | AMD HD5770 | MSI H67MA-E45 (B3) | Intel 520 120GB | 8GB DDR3 1333
HTPC: SilverStone ML03 | Pentium G3240 | Gigabyte GA-H81M-H | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Corsair Force LS 60GB SSD | Antec EarthWatts 380W
Laptop: T420i | Core i3-2310M | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 525 120GB mSATA | 500GB HDD
Heatware My Flickr
Brainonska511 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:34 AM   #3
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,110
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

I can only think of one advantage. I ordered my T60 with one 2GB SODIMM leaving one slot open. Why? Simply to allow for later expansion to 4 GB should I change to 64 bit Vista.

There is a downside, perhaps for some. The single 2GB SODIMM is more expensive than a pair of 1 GB SODIMMs.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 12:04 PM   #4
IlllI
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,838
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

Quote:
Originally posted by: corkyg
I can only think of one advantage. I ordered my T60 with one 2GB SODIMM leaving one slot open. Why? Simply to allow for later expansion to 4 GB should I change to 64 bit Vista.

There is a downside, perhaps for some. The single 2GB SODIMM is more expensive than a pair of 1 GB SODIMMs.

yep. thats about it really.

IlllI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:21 PM   #5
JTsyo
Diamond Member
 
JTsyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 9,152
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

There's also the fact it would be easier to trouble shoot if the memory dies on you. At least you'll still have 1 gig. For best performance, it's recommended to have matching sticks. Not sure if it's better to have 2 gigs or 2.5 gigs unmatched.
JTsyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:25 PM   #6
Qubus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

Originally I was looking at 2 x 1GB and was planning to give my sticks to my gf as she has just 512MB which is barely usable.

Anyway, I was looking at 2Gb as I'm pretty sure I won't be needing more. However, I may be getting into more serious PS in about 4 months so having the option for another 1GB later might make sense. So is there really no performance drop from just using 1 stick vs 2 sticks? I remember it being about about 5-10% with the XPs/A64s back in the day.

Also, the price difference between 2Gb and 2x1GB modules is rather negligible with retailers here.

*Edit* Although I assume so, would a 2GB and 1Gb stick of the same type be fine together?
Qubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 07:14 PM   #7
WobbleWobble
Diamond Member
 
WobbleWobble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,867
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

My brother has an E1405 and it has a 1GB and 2GB stick. Supports it no problem. The only problem with the chipset in that laptop is it does not let you use all 4GB of RAM if you put 2x2GB in there. It behaves the same as as using a 32-bit OS. So 3GB is probably the sweet spot without "wasting" RAM.

This chipset also supports dual-channel memory with mixed memory sizes I believe.
__________________
What the F prompt?
WobbleWobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 07:19 PM   #8
Qubus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Any advantage in using 1 RAM slot over 2 slots (1x2Gb vs 2x1GB)?

Thanks for the replies. I'll be buying 3GB then. It's cheap enough, can buy the same module type and there's no extra delivery.
Qubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.