Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2013, 08:47 AM   #1
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default R9-290(X) Voltage Control

MSI has released a new beta that adds voltage control for reference Hawaii chips using the stock BIOS. Unfortunately, MSI took the cautious approach and has only allowed a maximum offset of +100mV.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=383541
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 08:54 AM   #2
Shmee
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,126
Default

Good news, this is a start!
__________________
Anandtech Moderator
3770k @ 4.4 GHz + 290x WC
16GB Corsair Vengeance on MSI Z77A-GD65
HP ZR30W | Haf X | Logitech G110 + G500
Seagate 600 + Crucial M4 + WD black 1TB
Shmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 09:02 AM   #3
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Also, instead of a memory voltage setting you have Aux. It reads the same as GPU-Z's VDDCI which is supposed to be the memory, but I'm assuming by the change in name that it controls other parts of the chip. However I haven't seen anything to explain the change.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:56 AM   #4
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,572
Default

Please keep us updated, thanks for the news.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 CF + Crucial 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

NAS and HTPC/workstation: Supermicro MBD-X9SCM + G530 + 16GB ECC; ASUS P8B WS + i3-3220; 1.1TB of Intel/Crucial/Samsung SSDs + 26TB of WD/Hitachi HDDs
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:19 PM   #5
DooKey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 617
Default

Doesn't help much. I got 25mhz more out of my 290s by overvolting. I can do 1150 stable now and without artifacts.
__________________
4670K @4.5|GA-Z87X-OC Force|16gb G.SKILL 1866|R9 290 TRIFIRE|Samsung EVO 1TB SSD|Dell U2711|Sliverstone Raven RV02B-EW|Corsair AX1200 PSU
DooKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 06:07 PM   #6
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DooKey View Post
Doesn't help much. I got 25mhz more out of my 290s by overvolting. I can do 1150 stable now and without artifacts.
There are ways to get more than 100mV buy using some command line augments if you want to push your chips higher.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Thanks, VRM state/id/location seem to be pretty similar to mine R290 (Hawaii PRO Press Sample).
You can alter voltage on it even with current MSI AB beta by sending commands to VRM via MSI AB command line:

To set +100mV offset:
MSIAfterburner.exe /wi4,30,8d,10

To restore original voltage:
MSIAfterburner.exe /wi4,30,8d,0

Use it at your own risk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Almost correct, but you're thinking in right direction. Offset is adjusted in 6.25mV steps and specified in hexadecimal format. So 10 hexadecimal = 16 decimal = 16 * 6.25 mV = 100 mV. 5 results in 5 * 6.25 = 31.25 mV. To set it to 50 mV you should use 8.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
By default I2C write commands (/wi) apply to currently selected GPU only. But there are additional /sg<GPU_INDEX> command line switches allowing you to specifiy target GPU for the next commands. So the next command line will apply settings to both GPU0 and GPU1:

MSIAfterburner.exe /sg0 /wi4,30,8d,10 /sg1 /wi4,30,8d,10
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 03:16 AM   #7
Shmee
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,126
Default

you can also use asus GPU tweak, don't know if you need a asus bios though.
__________________
Anandtech Moderator
3770k @ 4.4 GHz + 290x WC
16GB Corsair Vengeance on MSI Z77A-GD65
HP ZR30W | Haf X | Logitech G110 + G500
Seagate 600 + Crucial M4 + WD black 1TB
Shmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 03:48 AM   #8
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,831
Default

So afterburner doesn't overvolt MSI cards unless you fool around with command line options?
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:03 AM   #9
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skurge View Post
So afterburner doesn't overvolt MSI cards unless you fool around with command line options?
If it has the same controller chip as the reference design it'll work out of the box no matter the vendor, just with a strict 100mV limit. You can only go past that by using the command line options or flashing with an Asus BIOS and using GPU Tweak.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:06 AM   #10
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmee View Post
you can also use asus GPU tweak, don't know if you need a asus bios though.
Yes, you have to flash with an Asus BIOS to get voltage control with that program. Sucks that they felt the need to put a vendor lock on a program that is pretty much a copy of Afterburner, but to each their own.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:10 AM   #11
Shmee
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,126
Default

Ok, cuz that is the one I used to flash to 290X with, as recommended by OCN. So far appears to work btw.
__________________
Anandtech Moderator
3770k @ 4.4 GHz + 290x WC
16GB Corsair Vengeance on MSI Z77A-GD65
HP ZR30W | Haf X | Logitech G110 + G500
Seagate 600 + Crucial M4 + WD black 1TB
Shmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:27 AM   #12
3DVagabond
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 7,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmee View Post
Ok, cuz that is the one I used to flash to 290X with, as recommended by OCN. So far appears to work btw.
Do you think it unlocked shaders?
3DVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 04:50 AM   #13
Shmee
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,126
Default

Yes, as per GPUZ and higher heaven score.
__________________
Anandtech Moderator
3770k @ 4.4 GHz + 290x WC
16GB Corsair Vengeance on MSI Z77A-GD65
HP ZR30W | Haf X | Logitech G110 + G500
Seagate 600 + Crucial M4 + WD black 1TB
Shmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:24 AM   #14
Zanovar
Golden Member
 
Zanovar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmee View Post
Yes, as per GPUZ and higher heaven score.
I highly doubt that but im prepared to be pleasantly surprised
__________________
i5 3570k@4.5|GA-Z77X-UD4H|8GB Samsung 2200@ 9-10-10-28 1t|Sapphire 290 Tri-X |Samsung 840 pro 128|2x4tb Seagate barracuda|AX750|Arc Midi.

"The first cruise I came on was Tom Cruise"-Tom Baker aka the doctor.

Zanovar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:39 AM   #15
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,831
Default

What clocks have you been able to get out of it?
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:45 AM   #16
Shmee
Moderator
Memory and Storage
Video Cards and Graphics
 
Shmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,126
Default

So far at 1050/1275 @ 1250mV. Should I try for higher? Also, unsure if I have memory voltage control.
__________________
Anandtech Moderator
3770k @ 4.4 GHz + 290x WC
16GB Corsair Vengeance on MSI Z77A-GD65
HP ZR30W | Haf X | Logitech G110 + G500
Seagate 600 + Crucial M4 + WD black 1TB
Shmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:45 AM   #17
Zanovar
Golden Member
 
Zanovar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skurge View Post
What clocks have you been able to get out of it?
Did you grab one skurge?,this waiting is killing me
__________________
i5 3570k@4.5|GA-Z77X-UD4H|8GB Samsung 2200@ 9-10-10-28 1t|Sapphire 290 Tri-X |Samsung 840 pro 128|2x4tb Seagate barracuda|AX750|Arc Midi.

"The first cruise I came on was Tom Cruise"-Tom Baker aka the doctor.

Zanovar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:54 AM   #18
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmee View Post
So far at 1050/1275 @ 1250mV. Should I try for higher? Also, unsure if I have memory voltage control.
You should be able to get close to 1100 on the core without extra voltage and ~1130-1150 with a little more. As for the memory, the Aux setting allowed me to get another 50Mhz with 50mV offset.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:57 AM   #19
Skurge
Diamond Member
 
Skurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Namibia
Posts: 4,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanovar View Post
Did you grab one skurge?,this waiting is killing me
Yeah, I ordered a 290X, but it will only be here in just under 2 weeks. Curse of living in Namibia.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4770K [stock]|MSI Z87-G45 Gaming|16GB DDR3-1600|Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce CF [stock]|Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB|Corsair AX860 PSU|Corsair 750D|Windows 8 Pro|Samsung S27A950D|Logitech G27 Racing Wheel|Nexus 5 32GB
Skurge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:57 AM   #20
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanovar View Post
I highly doubt that but im prepared to be pleasantly surprised
I am too. It would be great is someone would run 3Dmark 06 feature tests before and after to see if it's actually unlocking shaders or if the 290X BIOS is just changing memory timings netting a little higher score in benchmarks.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 05:59 AM   #21
Zanovar
Golden Member
 
Zanovar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skurge View Post
Yeah, I ordered a 290X, but it will only be here in just under 2 weeks. Curse of living in Namibia.
Enjoy
__________________
i5 3570k@4.5|GA-Z77X-UD4H|8GB Samsung 2200@ 9-10-10-28 1t|Sapphire 290 Tri-X |Samsung 840 pro 128|2x4tb Seagate barracuda|AX750|Arc Midi.

"The first cruise I came on was Tom Cruise"-Tom Baker aka the doctor.

Zanovar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 07:03 AM   #22
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by (sic)Klown12 View Post
I am too. It would be great is someone would run 3Dmark 06 feature tests before and after to see if it's actually unlocking shaders or if the 290X BIOS is just changing memory timings netting a little higher score in benchmarks.
+1 This I agree etc. etc.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 CF + Crucial 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

NAS and HTPC/workstation: Supermicro MBD-X9SCM + G530 + 16GB ECC; ASUS P8B WS + i3-3220; 1.1TB of Intel/Crucial/Samsung SSDs + 26TB of WD/Hitachi HDDs
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 07:31 AM   #23
AlNasty
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by (sic)Klown12 View Post
I am too. It would be great is someone would run 3Dmark 06 feature tests before and after to see if it's actually unlocking shaders or if the 290X BIOS is just changing memory timings netting a little higher score in benchmarks.
That should not be hard for one to do, as the card has dual bios. The 1 dip switch setting should be the original 290 bios, and the other should be the flashed 290x version.

If I remember reading the review, it said one is a read only, and the other is a read/write.
__________________
4770k + Seidon 240M, Asus Z87-WS, PC R9 290 X2 w290x bios+ AC Accelero Hybrid on top card, 16GB PC2400, 250 Evo 840, 1300W psu, Qnix 1440p @ 120hz.

3570k, GTX680 4gb Twinfrozr, 16gb Ballistix, 500 EVO 840, 1080p @ 120hz.

8350, HD6970, 16gb Ballistix, Crusial M4.

Last edited by AlNasty; 11-16-2013 at 07:31 AM. Reason: spelling/grammer
AlNasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 09:30 AM   #24
OCGuy
Lifer
 
OCGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 26,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmee View Post
Yes, as per GPUZ and higher heaven score.
GPU Z is just a database, it doesn't count your shaders. It is reading your false BIOS. Score could be a fluke or due to higher clocks.

290s aren't 290x for a reason, and it isn't marketing gimping stable chips.
__________________
4670k @ 4.2
MSI Gaming GTX770 @ 1246/7500
OCGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #25
(sic)Klown12
Senior Member
 
(sic)Klown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DFW Area,TX
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCGuy View Post

290s aren't 290x for a reason, and it isn't marketing gimping stable chips.
That's what everyone thought about Cayman too. AMD has a habit of throwing a bone to their customers with allowing lower tier cards/CPUs to unlock cores.
__________________
i7 4930K @ 4452 MHz w/ H100i - 4 Fan Push/Pull| 16 GB Ripjaws X @ 1890 9-10-9-28 | Asus X79 Deluxe | Sapphire R9-290 @ 1100/1300 (lost the silicon lottery) W/ Qnix 27" 2560x1440 | Powered by Corsair AX860
"Creationists make it sound as though a 'theory' is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night." —Isaac Asimov
(sic)Klown12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.