Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2008, 06:51 PM   #1
supaidaaman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 366
Default format seems to be taking a long time

I just got a new 640gb WD drive to put into an external case from rosewill. Im formatting it connected to the USB port (in windows disk management)....and it seems like its taking a long time.

Its been 2 hours and its only at 52%

Is that normal? Can I stop it and try something else?



(also as a side note, if the drive lays on its back it rattles the case pretty bad, but when I rotate it, its fine) Maybe its the drive spin rattling????
__________________
Antec P180, Asus p6x58d-e, i7 970, 12gb 1600 gksill (3x4) , Seasonic x-750, win 7 ultimate
supaidaaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:12 PM   #2
dfuze
Lifer
 
dfuze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11,935
Default format seems to be taking a long time

I used the same method on my 500gb drive and it took forever on full format (as opposed to quick format). I don't remember how long it took overall though.
__________________
Desktop: ASrock Extreme3 Gen3 || 2500K || Samsung 840 SSD || 500gb WD || 8gb DDR3 1333 GSkill || XFX 6850

HeatWare
dfuze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:16 PM   #3
supaidaaman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 366
Default format seems to be taking a long time

I dont think I can wait 2hours, i need to move the system...Can I just stop the format and do it later? Ill have to start over right?
__________________
Antec P180, Asus p6x58d-e, i7 970, 12gb 1600 gksill (3x4) , Seasonic x-750, win 7 ultimate
supaidaaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:31 PM   #4
RebateMonger
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
RebateMonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Posts: 11,592
Default format seems to be taking a long time

You can stop the format and do a Quick Format instead. Then do a Chkdsk /r overnight if you wish to scan the surface of the drive for errors.
__________________
MCSE:Security:2003 - MCTS:SBS 2008 - Arizona's 1st Microsoft Small Business Specialist
--- In loving memory of my beautiful Australian Shepherd, Skye. July 2001-January 2010 ---
War on Terror 2000-2010 ~ Terrorist-caused Deaths < 10,000 ~ Bush's Wars > 1,000,000 ~ Winning?
RebateMonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:00 AM   #5
Raduque
Lifer
 
Raduque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,137
Default format seems to be taking a long time

I've never been able to quick format a fresh from the factory hard drive.

My 1TB drive took 6 hours to format(not on USB).
__________________
Wrote a note said Be Back in a Minute
Bought a boat and I sailed off in it
Don't think anybody's gonna miss me anyway


Heat
ForSale
Raduque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:58 AM   #6
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default format seems to be taking a long time

Quote:
Originally posted by: Raduque
I've never been able to quick format a fresh from the factory hard drive.
Strange. That's how I always do it.

Are you formatting from Explorer, or from Computer Management? I always use Computer Management.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 07:51 PM   #7
faxon
Platinum Member
 
faxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,098
Default format seems to be taking a long time

computer managment, or a third party app like partitionmagic, will be able to run a quick format just fine. never format from explorer lol
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsavo View Post
I ordered 3 screens from Dell and two of them came packed in dead oompa loompas. The third oompa loompa was alive.
2600k@4.6GHz, 3x Sapphire 7950s, MSI P67A-GD80, 4x4GB GSkill DDR1600, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w, 2x 1Tb F1 RAID1. D5>Apogee XT>MCR320-QP>FrozenQ Res for the CPU.
faxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 07:54 PM   #8
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default format seems to be taking a long time

Quote:
I've never been able to quick format a fresh from the factory hard drive.
The difference between a full and quick format is a purely software option, there's nothing about a drive that forces one or the other.

Quote:
computer managment, or a third party app like partitionmagic, will be able to run a quick format just fine. never format from explorer lol
Partition Magic is a waste of money and Computer Management and Explorer use the same functions for formatting the drive, there's no difference between them.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 03:50 AM   #9
DanDaMan315
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 1,366
Default format seems to be taking a long time

I always long format just to make sure all the bits are actually erased and not searchable or detectable. It makes your drive faster in the long run any way, quick format doesn't format the entire drive. I have a 640GB and it did take a little while, about 2 hours total. You probably just have a slow hard drive. Get a SSD
DanDaMan315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:12 AM   #10
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default format seems to be taking a long time

Quote:
I always long format just to make sure all the bits are actually erased and not searchable or detectable
A full format with the Windows tools doesn't erase the full drive, all it does is verify that all of the blocks are readable.

Quote:
It makes your drive faster in the long run any way, quick format doesn't format the entire drive.
The end result is the same with both types of format, neither one will affect the drive's speed.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:16 PM   #11
edplayer
Platinum Member
 
edplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 2,186
Default format seems to be taking a long time

Quote:
Originally posted by: DanDaMan315
It makes your drive faster in the long run any way, quick format doesn't format the entire drive.
My drive was a 7200rpm drive but I did a full format and now its 7300rpm


edplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.