Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default 1TB SSD worth $500 (15" rMBP)

Tonight I'm going to order the new Haswell rMBP. The two setups I'm considering are:

15" rMBP 2.6Ghz quad core i7 16GB ram 512GB SSD Geforce GT750M 2GB GDDR5
$2799

and

15" rMBP 2.3Ghz quad core i7 16GB ram 1TB SSD Geforce GT750M 2GB GDDR5

$3099


I'm very much leaning towards the $2799 setup partly for cost and partly because I really have no use (at this moment) for 1TB SSD. I can,however, see it as useful at some point.


I'm selling my mid 2011 13" MBA (1.7Ghz i5, 256GB SSD, 4GB Ram) to pay for a portion of it, but at best ill get $700. What do you guys think?
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:06 PM   #2
Koing
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Health and Fitness Moderator
 
Koing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 16,930
Default

Unless you really need 1TB I'd go with the 512GB.

I'm debating the 256GB or 512GB myself on the 13" rMBP.

Koing
__________________
My first Cut
Make a thread in Health and Fitness for related advice
Koing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:11 PM   #3
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,862
Default

For 1 TB, that pricing isn't absolutely terrible, since it would cost you more than that to buy a 1 TB drive.

In my case, I'd just get 256 GB though, since I don't have heavy needs for a laptop.

BTW, in your case the price difference is only $300. I know the $3099 machine has a slower CPU, but honestly, a 2.3 GHz quad i7 is blazing fast for a laptop already. I'd get the 2.3 GHz with 1 TB if you really think you need 1 TB. However, if as you say you have no use for the 1 TB, then don't bother.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

I don't have a desktop, so this is basically my only machine. At the moment I'm just pushing something like 200GB on my MBA, and prob would be pushing close to 300GB if I hadn't have started removing stuff I don't use. I did look online and 1TB drives are not cheap, and considering the fact that Apple has been putting some great SSDs in their machines lately it might not be a bad idea. The 3k+ sticker price irks me tho.

I'm really disappointed they didn't put an option to upgrade the dedicated graphics. The GT750M is by no means slow, but it's no GTX 780M. They could've done better IMO (if anything, they could've charged an extra $300 for the upgrade). I only upgrade every 2 years, so the machine I buy is (usually) pretty fast.

This machine is going to be used for movies, photoshop, illustrator, very light gaming, final cut pro, and regular work (Word/Excel)
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:31 PM   #5
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreVader View Post
I don't have a desktop, so this is basically my only machine. At the moment I'm just pushing something like 200GB on my MBA, and prob would be pushing close to 300GB if I hadn't have started removing stuff I don't use. I did look online and 1TB drives are not cheap, and considering the fact that Apple has been putting some great SSDs in their machines lately it might not be a bad idea. The 3k+ sticker price irks me tho.

I'm really disappointed they didn't put an option to upgrade the dedicated graphics. The GT750M is by no means slow, but it's no GTX 780M. They could've done better IMO (if anything, they could've charged an extra $300 for the upgrade). I only upgrade every 2 years, so the machine I buy is (usually) pretty fast.

This machine is going to be used for movies, photoshop, illustrator, very light gaming, final cut pro, and regular work (Word/Excel)
They couldn't have put the GTX 780m in the rMBP AND had it be less than 3/4" thick. They couldn't have put the 780m in there, AND gotten the battery life that they were looking for. If they could have put a 760 in there, that's what the card would be.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:54 PM   #6
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

I don't think anybody is spending $2900 on a laptop for battery life. If I wanted battery life I would stick with the 13" MBA and call it a day. You may be right about the GTX although I think if Apple had really wanted to they could've done something proprietary to the GTX (heat pipes, crazy fans) and shoved it in there.


I suppose I'm asking for too much, obviously it's not a deal breaker but here is a legitimate issue:


Why no dedicated graphics in the 13"? And if size is an issue, why do I have to pay $600 more for dedicated graphics on the 15"? Seems exorbitant. They DEF could've shoved that card into the 2Ghz for no more than an extra $200. And they prob could've shoved it in the 13" too.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #7
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 568
Default

get the 256GB and this -

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822178278
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:04 PM   #8
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
I would but you can't order the rMBP with dedicated graphics with anything less than 512GB.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:13 PM   #9
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
I would but you can't order the rMBP with dedicated graphics with anything less than 512GB.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:24 PM   #10
jiffylube1024
Diamond Member
 
jiffylube1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,411
Default

For only $300 extra, that's not an outrageous price to go from 512GB to 1TB SSD, especially going from $2799 to $3099.

In your title you ask if the SSD is worth $500. Did you make a typo somewhere - is it really $3299?

I'd say that the SSD upgrade is worth $300 (it means not having to carry external storage for awhile down the line, and probably will boost the resale value down the road too). For $500, it's getting kind of expensive and 512GB should be enough.
__________________
heat
Desktop: Intel i5 3450, Crucial M500 480GB, Radeon 7950, Dell U2713HM
Devices: Nexus 5, iPad mini w/ Retina, Macbook Pro Retina 13.3" (2013)
jiffylube1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:47 PM   #11
mmntech
Lifer
 
mmntech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 14,699
Default

Lol. Wish I had this problem where $2799 is just right but $3099 is way too much.

If I were you, I'd get the 512mb version and then buy an external USB 3.0 or Thunderbolt hard drive. You can get 2.5'' ones for under $100.
__________________
Callout portion of post removed, which left only "I'll be showing my girlfriend my massive penis..." Since that is obviously some kind of typo I deleted it as well. - allisolm

Boycott SiriusXM
mmntech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 02:53 PM   #12
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
I am trying to figure out what that is. Is it an external TB enclosure? Or does it have a 1TB drive in it?
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:13 PM   #13
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

I ordered the 512GB 2.6Ghz. Unfortunately, because it's not the absolute highest spec model they don't carry it in the store. That seems ridiculous to me... I can pay an extra $500 to get it today with 1TB or wait. And I'm gonna wait.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:07 PM   #14
Zaap
Diamond Member
 
Zaap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gus6464 View Post
I am trying to figure out what that is. Is it an external TB enclosure? Or does it have a 1TB drive in it?
I'm pretty sure it's a 1TB hard drive, with a Thunderbolt adapter. I believe the picture is showing the TB adapter with the drive sled pulled out from the SATA connectors. I'd assume you could plug any bare SSD or SATA laptop drive straight into it and use via a TB port.
__________________
Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 2600K | 16GB 1600 | HD6870 1GB | OSX 10.9.2 + Win 7 x64
Zaap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:10 PM   #15
Koing
Elite Member
Super Moderator
Health and Fitness Moderator
 
Koing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 16,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreVader View Post
I ordered the 512GB 2.6Ghz. Unfortunately, because it's not the absolute highest spec model they don't carry it in the store. That seems ridiculous to me... I can pay an extra $500 to get it today with 1TB or wait. And I'm gonna wait.
I thought they only carried standard base specs (entry, mid, top etc) in store and the custom stuff had to be done online?

Koing
__________________
My first Cut
Make a thread in Health and Fitness for related advice
Koing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:21 AM   #16
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koing View Post
I thought they only carried standard base specs (entry, mid, top etc) in store and the custom stuff had to be done online?

Koing
I actually just spoke to the guy at the store and he said they always carry a version of the 13" and the 15" fully loaded (all additional upgrades added) in store.


They just don't carry any with a processor upgrade but no 1TB SSD

I'm actually considering just adding another $500 for 1TB and calling it a day. I mean really it's already breaking 3k with taxes... why not.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:52 PM   #17
Tweak155
Diamond Member
 
Tweak155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreVader View Post
I actually just spoke to the guy at the store and he said they always carry a version of the 13" and the 15" fully loaded (all additional upgrades added) in store.


They just don't carry any with a processor upgrade but no 1TB SSD

I'm actually considering just adding another $500 for 1TB and calling it a day. I mean really it's already breaking 3k with taxes... why not.
Because it's $500 you might use for something else? Maybe some new software?

But then maybe you can't install it having half the space
__________________
Organo Gold Coffee

Heatware 92-0-0
Tweak155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 01:54 PM   #18
TreVader
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "The Town"
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweak155 View Post
Because it's $500 you might use for something else? Maybe some new software?

But then maybe you can't install it having half the space
After consulting the storage forum apparently there isn't much if any performance hit with 512GB so I'm keeping it.

I'm spending the extra on a 16GB mini w retina and LTE


The two mini models i considered were the 128GB wifi and the 16GB LTE, but when I thought about it for the price I'm paying for the 128GB i can just stream stuff to the 16GB.


I wish they wouldn't gouge so much on storage! I know the 128GB can't cost more than an extra $100 than the 16GB to produce.
TreVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 09:46 AM   #19
mkrohn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dowagiac, MI
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreVader View Post
I wish they wouldn't gouge so much on storage! I know the 128GB can't cost more than an extra $100 than the 16GB to produce.
That's exactly why android is taking root so deeply. I wouldn't have ANY second thoughts about buying an LTE ipad if only it had a micro SD slot. As it stands the lower end ones like the nook HD are probably gonna get my tablet dollars and instead of having just one everybody in the family can get one.

The LTE ipad would be sweet mainly because of the tmobile deal for free 200Mb which for just browsing is quite a bit. I would likely use the data for voice though and carry the mini as a phone.
mkrohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:52 PM   #20
boomhower
Diamond Member
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,604
Default

Personally I'd go with 512 but if you can comfortably afford it go with the 1TB. It'll be cheaper than upgrading down the road.
__________________
heat
boomhower is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.