Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2013, 09:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 595
Default Too much vcore for my i7-4820k at 3.9GHz?

If changing memory settings to XMP, my motherboard sets the turbo to sync to all cores which is 3.9GHz on all cores and then my vcore is 1.171v during idle and a bit lower during load due to Vdroop, with vcore on Auto. CPU core temps reached 65C during Intel Burn Test at the Very High setting. Is 1.171v too much for my CPU running at an all core turbo of 3.9GHz? If I get an error in a program or a BSOD should I first blame it on my CPU if it's running at 3.9GHz on all cores?
Dave3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 10:03 PM   #2
Platinum Member
Burpo's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,544

Generally if it passes IntelBurn Test, it's good to go.. Temp isn't bad, and as long as it's stable don't worry about it.
Burpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
Kougar's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 398

The voltage looks a little high for that frequency, but it's nothing to be concerned about. You could probably lower it with manual tweaking, but it's up to you if you want to spend time thoroughly testing voltages out.
Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:01 AM   #4
Diamond Member
Yuriman's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont
Posts: 4,116

That's still a reasonable, safe voltage. I wouldn't be concerned.
3570K | Zotac Z77-ITX-A-E | Gigabyte HD7850 2GB | 2x 4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 1.25v | OCZ Agility 3 240GB | WD Green 1.5GB | Sparkle 400w Platinum | DIYPC HTPC-Cube
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.