Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2013, 03:26 PM   #1
RU482
Lifer
 
RU482's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12,597
Default Whats the best way to run 4 monitors 1080p on a haswell build?

I need to spec out a PC for our conference room. Most likely going with an i5 Haswell as the CPU.

We have two 70 inch 1080p monitors on the wall, and the boss wants to have two 24 inch monitors at the podium for running presentations.

My initial though was to run the two 24in monitors off of the IGP, and the two external monitors off of something like an HD7770.

Would this work?
RU482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:54 PM   #2
Stuka87
Platinum Member
 
Stuka87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 2,100
Default

I would suggest an eyefinity 7750.

Does the motherboard you have have two dedicated video outputs? Most have two outputs (like dvi and hdmi), but they are the same output. Both cannot drive displays at the same time.

An eyefinity 7750 will drive 6 displays via display port at the same time. They are not cheap, but may be your only option if the mobo you are using cannot drive two displays itself off the IGP.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814129274
__________________
Gaming: Antec 300 Illusion | Phenom II 965BE @4114MHz | Xigmatek Gaia | MSI 790GX-G65 | 12GB Crucial DDR3 1333 | Sapphire HD7950 OC 1100/1400 | Antec NEO ECO 520C | ViewSonic VP2365wb
Work: Dell Precision M4600 | i7-2620 | 8GB | 2GB Quadro 1000 w/Optimus | Dual Dell 2412M's
Stuka87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuka87 View Post
I would suggest an eyefinity 7750.

Does the motherboard you have have two dedicated video outputs? Most have two outputs (like dvi and hdmi), but they are the same output. Both cannot drive displays at the same time.

An eyefinity 7750 will drive 6 displays via display port at the same time. They are not cheap, but may be your only option if the mobo you are using cannot drive two displays itself off the IGP.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814129274
This suggestion is a good one. Do make note that you'll need displayport monitors, however. Some older LCDs don't handle DP so well.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #4
SolMiester
Diamond Member
 
SolMiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 4,797
Default

6xx series Kepler will drive 4, or 3 + the iGPU, even a $50 GT620
__________________
HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS DC GTX660OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP ML350G5 2012 Host-Plex/W8/MINT..
My Super 6 Calais
SolMiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:29 PM   #5
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,825
Default

OP : Why not run all four monitors directly from the 7770?
That's what I did at the office :



The only catch is most of the 7770 cards depart from the reference design, which is supposed to have (2x miniDP, 1x DVI, 1x HDMI), and come with either (2x DVI, 1x HDMI, 1x miniDP) or (1x DVI, 1x HDMI, 1x DP) instead.
__________________
BlueSmoke.net
Silverstone Temjin TJ09S - i7 4770K @ 4.55GHz - MSI Z87-GD65 - 32GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 CL9 - MSI Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Antec Kuhler 920 - 6x Noctua NF-P12 - Samsung 840 500GB - Samsung F3 1TB - OptiArc 7261S - Logitech G19 - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
Clevo w230ss - i7 4810MQ - 16GB GSkill 1600 CL9 - GTX 860M - Crucial M500 240GB - Hitachi Travelstar 7200 1TB

Last edited by WhoBeDaPlaya; 09-15-2013 at 08:09 PM.
WhoBeDaPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:53 AM   #6
KyleGates
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RU482 View Post
I need to spec out a PC for our conference room. Most likely going with an i5 Haswell as the CPU.

We have two 70 inch 1080p monitors on the wall, and the boss wants to have two 24 inch monitors at the podium for running presentations.

My initial though was to run the two 24in monitors off of the IGP, and the two external monitors off of something like an HD7770.

Would this work?

Man..when you said "The Boss" I was so hoping you meant your spouse.....in that case DAMN yer lucky! But then you had to go and ruin by saying "at the podium for presentations"....damn....
__________________
Some boring specs of the ol LAN (18 functional computers and counting), and a few Benchs, can be found round here:

TGUpdate
KyleGates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:09 AM   #7
RU482
Lifer
 
RU482's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12,597
Default

how about this 7790?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121727

1x displayport
1x HDMI
2x DVI

thinking I'd run the two 70" monitors off HDMI, one natively and one via a Displayport to HDMI cable
(like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882903083)
Then running the two podium monitors off DVI.

Will this 7790 run all 4 displays at once?

Assuming yes, would a 2GB version have any huge advantage over a 1GB version?
From the benchmarks ect I saw, there wasn't much advantage...BUT, would pushing 4 monitors increase the need for video memory?

Last edited by RU482; 09-17-2013 at 11:17 AM.
RU482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:14 AM   #8
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,825
Default

Nope. Cheap bastards only put two TMDS clock sources on the cards, so out of the 2x DVI + 1x HDMI, you'll only be able to use two of them.

This is why you'd want something with two miniDPs / DPs (or whatever combination thereof) with two ACTIVE miniDP/DP -> DVI adapters.
The active adapters generate TMDS streams, vs. passive adapters, which are about as useful as a eunuch in the Playboy mansion.

There are exceptions to this for special cards (eg. Eyefinity editions), which come with more than two TMDS streams.
__________________
BlueSmoke.net
Silverstone Temjin TJ09S - i7 4770K @ 4.55GHz - MSI Z87-GD65 - 32GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 CL9 - MSI Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Antec Kuhler 920 - 6x Noctua NF-P12 - Samsung 840 500GB - Samsung F3 1TB - OptiArc 7261S - Logitech G19 - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
Clevo w230ss - i7 4810MQ - 16GB GSkill 1600 CL9 - GTX 860M - Crucial M500 240GB - Hitachi Travelstar 7200 1TB

Last edited by WhoBeDaPlaya; 09-18-2013 at 09:18 AM.
WhoBeDaPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.