Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2013, 02:39 PM   #1
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 973
Default Server 2008 R2, need to replicate all settings to a new server.

Bottom line is, within group policy, I cannot remember all the settings I have altered. I am getting a new server and would like to replicate all the settings an also keep the same name. So it is DC01.home.local. I know I can set it to DC02.home.local and let the settings replicate but I do not want 2 servers sucking electricity.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 04:09 PM   #2
IndyColtsFan
Lifer
 
IndyColtsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 29,178
Default

I'm assuming by the name of the servers, these are domain controllers at home and you're wanting to copy domain policies, etc? It is easy -- bring up the new server as a DC02, DCPROMO it, and transfer all the FSMO roles to it. Next, go over to DC01, DCPROMO it back to a member server, and then remove it from the domain and shut it down.
__________________
MAIN: i7-2600K @ 4.5 Ghz | Asus P8Z68-V Pro | G.Skill 16 GB DDR3-1600 | Seagate 600 series 240 GB SSD (boot) | Samsung Evo 500 GB | 2 TB (data) | MSI Lightning GTX780 | Cosmos S | Dell U2410 and 2001fp | Seasonic Platinum 760 | Windows 8.1 x64 Enterprise
IndyColtsFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 05:05 AM   #3
yinan
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,536
Default

P2V
__________________
CALLING AN ILLEGAL ALIEN AN "UNDOCUMENTED IMMIGRANT" IS LIKE CALLING A DRUG DEALER AN "UNLICENSED PHARMACIST"!
yinan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:08 AM   #4
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 973
Default

What does P2V mean?
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 10:28 AM   #5
seepy83
Platinum Member
 
seepy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,023
Default

He's suggesting that you make your existing server a Virtual Machine by doing a Physical-to-Virtual (P2V) migration.
seepy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 12:42 PM   #6
Mushkins
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyColtsFan View Post
I'm assuming by the name of the servers, these are domain controllers at home and you're wanting to copy domain policies, etc? It is easy -- bring up the new server as a DC02, DCPROMO it, and transfer all the FSMO roles to it. Next, go over to DC01, DCPROMO it back to a member server, and then remove it from the domain and shut it down.
This is the industry standard way of doing it. If you really care about the name you can rename it after you remove the old server from the network, I always give the new server a new name though to easily identify outdated documentation that still has the old server name on it (and thus needs to be updated!).
Mushkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:36 PM   #7
Carson Dyle
Golden Member
 
Carson Dyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,573
Default

I wonder if it's really policies he's worried about in a home environment. More likely things like network shares and ACLs.
Carson Dyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:38 PM   #8
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 973
Default

Lastly what should I do with the folder redirection policy? The physical drive will no longer be the same on the new server. Will be much bigger.... Will I need to maunally edit the GPO to reflect the new area that the folder redirection will be taking place?

When I did this in a practice VM, I broke the folder redirection and could not get it back.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:01 PM   #9
seepy83
Platinum Member
 
seepy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compman55 View Post
Lastly what should I do with the folder redirection policy? The physical drive will no longer be the same on the new server. Will be much bigger.... Will I need to maunally edit the GPO to reflect the new area that the folder redirection will be taking place?

When I did this in a practice VM, I broke the folder redirection and could not get it back.
How are you doing folder redirection now?

If you're redirecting to the user's home directory, then you would need to go into the properties of the user accounts in ADUC, go to the Profile tab, and change the path that you connect the Home folder to.

Otherwise, you should be able to assign a new location through the GPO if you're not using Home Directories.
seepy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:28 PM   #10
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 973
Default

Setting the location thru a tab under the user properties (not sure as I am not in front of it), then made a seperate GPO for the offline files syncronization every (x) amount of seconds. I do this so I can run each computer in offline mode, and have it sync the folders. This way in offline mode I don;t feel the pain of the slow gigabit network. It can sync later.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.