Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2013, 05:29 PM   #1
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,203
Default How to connect an iPad Mini to an HDTV?

My mom received an iPad Mini a few months ago as a gift, and she'd like to hook it up to her TV so she can watch movies and TV shows from her iPad, on her TV.

So basically she needs an adapter that can go from iPad Mini to HDMI, and it must transmit both audio and video.

Any ideas? I have no experience with Apple products and Amazon product search is conflicting to me. I found this thing, which looks like the same connector the iPad mini uses, but it doesn't mention iPad Mini compatibility anywhere.

It just needs to be a simple solution where she can plug the iPad Mini into her TV with a cable. Thanks in advanced.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:36 PM   #2
SKORPI0
Lifer
 
SKORPI0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: I'm from the internet
Posts: 12,086
Default

http://store.apple.com/sg/product/MD...tal-av-adapter
http://www.amazon.com/Apple-Lightnin.../dp/B009WHV3BM
__________________
HP TouchPad - Dual boot Android CM10 (Jelly Bean 4.12) and webOS (F4 Phantom Kernel).
Anandtech Off Topic [Archive] - May 2000-present
i7 3930k @ 4.3GHz @ 1.28v, Asus Sabertooth X79, 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1866, PNY GTX 680 4GB, CM HAF 932 Advanced, CM Silent Pro Gold 1kW.
NZXT Kraken X60 PULL, Samsung 830 128gb SSD (Windows 7), Kingston
SSDNow V300 120gb (OS X 10.8.2), Dual Yamakasi 2703, Logitech MK320.
SKORPI0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:47 PM   #3
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,203
Default

Thanks for the quick response. If you don't mind me asking, is there a 3rd-party solution that doesn't cost $40?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:59 PM   #4
SKORPI0
Lifer
 
SKORPI0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: I'm from the internet
Posts: 12,086
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
Thanks for the quick response. If you don't mind me asking, is there a 3rd-party solution that doesn't cost $40?
Unfortunately no. Apple propriety tech.

http://www.panic.com/blog/2013/03/th...pter-surprise/
http://www.macrumors.com/2013/03/01/...dged-computer/
__________________
HP TouchPad - Dual boot Android CM10 (Jelly Bean 4.12) and webOS (F4 Phantom Kernel).
Anandtech Off Topic [Archive] - May 2000-present
i7 3930k @ 4.3GHz @ 1.28v, Asus Sabertooth X79, 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1866, PNY GTX 680 4GB, CM HAF 932 Advanced, CM Silent Pro Gold 1kW.
NZXT Kraken X60 PULL, Samsung 830 128gb SSD (Windows 7), Kingston
SSDNow V300 120gb (OS X 10.8.2), Dual Yamakasi 2703, Logitech MK320.
SKORPI0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:37 PM   #5
mshan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,869
Default

Apple TV 3 and use AirPlay option? http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4437
mshan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:45 PM   #6
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mshan View Post
Apple TV 3 and use AirPlay option? http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4437
Well, he's hoping for cheap.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:55 PM   #7
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,344
Default

opt for the airplay, that little apple hdmi dongle i bought for half the price of apple tv got cable kink and doesn't charge or transmit signal in certain position..

the cable got knock off by someone walking around the tv and now i dont even use it anymore.. im just waiting for apple tv to go on sale
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:15 PM   #8
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsutoratosu View Post
opt for the airplay, that little apple hdmi dongle i bought for half the price of apple tv got cable kink and doesn't charge or transmit signal in certain position..

the cable got knock off by someone walking around the tv and now i dont even use it anymore.. im just waiting for apple tv to go on sale
That is a valid concern, wires are a pain in the ass and distance limited. With the AppleTV, you are only limited by the range and throughput of your wireless signal.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:56 AM   #9
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,546
Default

I know you want to be cheap, but at some point, you'll just end up getting an Apple TV anyway.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) | Mac mini (Late 2012) | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air w/ LTE
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 03:38 AM   #10
tim Paul
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Default How to connect an iPad Mini to an HDTV?

When you connect your iPad Mini to a HDTV via USB cable, the attached TV will automatically display iPad screen.
  • If you want to watch video in HD resolution, use Apple AV digital adapter.
  • Make sure the video cable is compatible and tightly connected at both ends.
  • Check that connected HDTV has proper video input such as HDMI selected.
  • If no video appear disconnect the cable and try again

Last edited by tim Paul; 06-24-2013 at 05:50 AM.
tim Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.