Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2008, 02:49 PM   #1
SylEm
Senior Member
 
SylEm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 311
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

My computer specs are in my sig. I have a samsung 22" widescreen lcd, and its native resolution is 1680x1050. Everytime I run fallout 3 on default settings (which is set for "High") it runs great, as long as I keep the resolution to something around 1200x1000 (or something like that). But if I move it to 1680x1050 the game lags at a ridiculous rate. I even changed the settings to "medium" and ran it at 1680x1050 and still same lag problems. Any ideas on how to fix this? I was told with my build I shouldn't have issues running it at 1680x1050.

Thanks!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A 1600 C9 8GB (2 x 4GB)
EVGA GTX 580 SC 015-P3-1582-AR
128GB Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Corsair HX1050 PSU
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Steel ATX Full Tower
22" Samsung LCD Monitor
SylEm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
Dorkenstein
Diamond Member
 
Dorkenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,554
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Are you running the pip boy radio? If so, try turning it off.
__________________
"I'm not going there to die, Faye. I'm going there to see if I'm still really alive..."

HEATWARE
Dorkenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:10 PM   #3
SylEm
Senior Member
 
SylEm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 311
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

I don't know if it is enabled, what happens in the game that would make me know if it is or isn't enabled?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A 1600 C9 8GB (2 x 4GB)
EVGA GTX 580 SC 015-P3-1582-AR
128GB Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Corsair HX1050 PSU
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Steel ATX Full Tower
22" Samsung LCD Monitor
SylEm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:12 PM   #4
Dorkenstein
Diamond Member
 
Dorkenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,554
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

You would hear Enclave Propaganda or soothing Jazz all the time while walking around. I am guessing it's off in your case if you haven't noticed it.

Give a look-see at the Bethesda forums, lots of people are having graphics-related and lag issues. I think you might find your answer there.
__________________
"I'm not going there to die, Faye. I'm going there to see if I'm still really alive..."

HEATWARE
Dorkenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:13 PM   #5
imported_protoz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 135
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Looks like it's either your processor or video card if it's the 320mb version. I have a Q6600 and 8800GT running it at that resolution on High with AA on.
imported_protoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:15 PM   #6
Dorkenstein
Diamond Member
 
Dorkenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,554
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Yeah, that could do it too. SylEM, check your advanced graphics options at the launcher and make sure shadows and lighting are kept at tame settings.
__________________
"I'm not going there to die, Faye. I'm going there to see if I'm still really alive..."

HEATWARE
Dorkenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:29 PM   #7
HeXploiT
Diamond Member
 
HeXploiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alaska
Posts: 4,356
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Well first off the "default" resolution of a monitor means absolutely nothing. It's an advertising gimmick. Usually nowadays with lcd that means it's the highest resolution your monitor will do.
Secondly with settings on "high" this undoubtedly means that aa is set to high. Oblivion @ 1680x1050 with 8xaa is taxing on an 8800gts so naturally Fallout 3 will be even harder on the system at these settings.
Turn your aa down to 2x or even off and it should resolve the issue. Another option is to turn down draw distance a little.
I would leave lighting on high as it makes a big difference in picture quality & realism.
__________________
Quote:
--
“For the scientist who has lived by his faith in the power of reason, the story ends like a bad dream. He has scaled the mountains of ignorance; he is about to conquer the highest peak; as he pulls himself over the final rock he is greeted by a band of theologians who have been there for centuries.”
-Robert Jastrow: Founding director of NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies commenting on the second law of thermodynamics and the creation of the universe.
HeXploiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:31 PM   #8
Dorkenstein
Diamond Member
 
Dorkenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,554
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Good advice also. I was kind of tricked by the graphics options. Had to manually change resolution by editing an *.ini file.
__________________
"I'm not going there to die, Faye. I'm going there to see if I'm still really alive..."

HEATWARE
Dorkenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:48 PM   #9
SylEm
Senior Member
 
SylEm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 311
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Quote:
Originally posted by: Perry404
Well first off the "default" resolution of a monitor means absolutely nothing. It's an advertising gimmick. Usually nowadays with lcd that means it's the highest resolution your monitor will do.
Secondly with settings on "high" this undoubtedly means that aa is set to high. Oblivion @ 1680x1050 with 8xaa is taxing on an 8800gts so naturally Fallout 3 will be even harder on the system at these settings.
Turn your aa down to 2x or even off and it should resolve the issue. Another option is to turn down draw distance a little.
I would leave lighting on high as it makes a big difference in picture quality & realism.
I did try that, and nothing changed, still had lots of lag. And yes, my card is the 320mb one.
__________________
Current Build:
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A 1600 C9 8GB (2 x 4GB)
EVGA GTX 580 SC 015-P3-1582-AR
128GB Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Corsair HX1050 PSU
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Steel ATX Full Tower
22" Samsung LCD Monitor
SylEm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:54 PM   #10
Dorkenstein
Diamond Member
 
Dorkenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,554
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

Hmm, in that case just run the launcher and make sure you lower the advanced options, if you haven't already.
__________________
"I'm not going there to die, Faye. I'm going there to see if I'm still really alive..."

HEATWARE
Dorkenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:47 PM   #11
astrosfan315
Golden Member
 
astrosfan315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,378
Default Fallout 3 having lag issues, need help

I have the 8800GT 256mb card and a 4800+ AM2. It put me at High by default. In the vault it worked okay..but I went in and killed the 4xAA which you can't really tell that much of a difference and in the vault that helped tremendously. However, when I hit the wasteland it went from 50fps to 2 fps. So I changed:

-turned off vert sync
-reduced AF to 4 samples and AA to none
-turned off shadows
-turned off HDR

now I run 65-80 fps and it still looks great. With not having as much memory on the card as the 512mb version or bigger some of the stuff needs to be turned off so that the textures have space to load. I run WS as well and looks really good. That's all the tweaking I've done so far, but I'm sure the tweakguide guys will be putting something out.
__________________
My Heatware
astrosfan315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.