Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
garikfox
Senior Member
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 506
Default Samsung 840 and Pro Firmware DXT08B0Q / DXM05B0Q

Released today !

Samsung 840 - DXT08B0Q

Samsung 840 Pro - DXM05B0Q


Download: http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...downloads.html
__________________
GA-Z97X-UD3H | Intel i5-4690 | 4x4GB Samsung DDR3-1600 | Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | PNY GTX 680 | Creative Gigaworks T40 Series II | Cooler Master V650 | HP Pavilion 27xi
garikfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:28 PM   #2
MoInSTL
Senior Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 342
Default

Thanks for the heads up. Used Magician 4, it required a shut down and back up now. Took less than 3 minutes.

Have the 840 Pro. Said: Enabling the DAS function is default option. What is the DAS function? Google was no help.

Edit: I found info on P/DAS. Looks like it has to do with the I/O redirection. Don't know if I'm on the right track or not.

Last edited by MoInSTL; 05-14-2013 at 02:37 PM.
MoInSTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:42 PM   #3
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,898
Default

Hmm... I have mine in a Mac. Hopefully it is dead easy to update on a Mac. (When I first installed it, I had done the firmware check on a Windows machine first using Samsung Magician software.)

Thanks for the heads up.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
BOND8585
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

What does this new firmware change? I have no idea what "Enabling the DAS function is default option" means. I haven't been able to find any information about a DAS function either.
BOND8585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:01 PM   #5
F1shF4t
Golden Member
 
F1shF4t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,581
Default

Thanks for the heads up. Just update my 840 using the ISO. No issues.
__________________
Laptop1: Asus G750JX, i7 4700hq, Samsung 840 Evo 750GB, 32GB DDR3, GTX770M 3GB GDDR5, Ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Laptop2: Asus G75VX, i7 3630qm, Samsung 840 Evo 250GB, 24GB DDR3, GTX670MX 3GB GDDR5, Win8.1 Pro
F1shF4t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:11 PM   #6
garikfox
Senior Member
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 506
Default

As for the ISO update, For me the Update Utility Screen is still all messed up you can barely at most see anything.

So if you use the ISO to update and cant see anything just press the "Y" button twice, Let it finish then once its done hit the "Y" button again it will drop you too DOS. Then PWR down to complete the update.
__________________
GA-Z97X-UD3H | Intel i5-4690 | 4x4GB Samsung DDR3-1600 | Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | PNY GTX 680 | Creative Gigaworks T40 Series II | Cooler Master V650 | HP Pavilion 27xi
garikfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:08 AM   #7
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ Users with 2 or more Samsung 840 SSDs running as RAID0 array:

I just have successfully updated the Firmware of my 2 Samsung 840 PRO SSDs, which are running within my Z77 system as RAID0 array.
If you are interested about how I managed to do it, please look into >this< thread.

Regards
Fernando
__________________
If you are searching for the newest/best AHCI and RAID drivers or AHCI/RAID ROM modules with guides how to get them into the BIOS, you may visit my Forum at http://www.win-raid.com.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:34 AM   #8
HardcoreRobot
Lifer
 
HardcoreRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NoVA
Posts: 16,399
Default

cool thx
HardcoreRobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:28 PM   #9
Remobz
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,813
Default

Honestly, is this new firmware really really really needed?

Will it boost performance at all?

Would it hurt to not update firmware?
Remobz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:55 PM   #10
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remobz View Post
Honestly, is this new firmware really really really needed?
No, you and your system will probably survive, if you don't do this Firmware update.
On the other hand no Firmware update will be developed and offered my the hardware manufacturer without any reason.
Quote:
Will it boost performance at all?
AFAIK you can not expect any performance boost, but stability and compatibility is important as well.
Quote:
Would it hurt to not update firmware?
Probably not in this case.
__________________
If you are searching for the newest/best AHCI and RAID drivers or AHCI/RAID ROM modules with guides how to get them into the BIOS, you may visit my Forum at http://www.win-raid.com.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.