Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
Xellos2099
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,987
Default Technet key vs retail key vs oem key

I got some question concerning technet window 8 key. Are there key consider retail key thus able to reinstall in case of crash and upgrade or si it like oem key where it is one time only install
Xellos2099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,299
Default

TechNet keys should behave like retail.

If it does not reactivated auto call the 800 number.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:46 AM   #3
fleshconsumed
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
TechNet keys should behave like retail.

If it does not reactivated auto call the 800 number.


I believe Microsoft made a change to TechNet activation last year. TechNet keys will only activate as long as the subscription is still active, otherwise you're OOL. Not sure what it means for reinstalling/reactivation. Best solution is to make a system image backup.
fleshconsumed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:53 PM   #4
oslama
Platinum Member
 
oslama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: sangrila
Posts: 2,886
Default

I have activated several TechNet keys even after my subscription expired.
__________________
AMD Sempron 140 unlocked to AMD Athlon II X2 440| Asus M4A88T-M| G.Skill 4GB DDR3| Seagate 120 GB| AMD Radeon HD 5450

Sony Tap 11 tablet for work
oslama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.