Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2013, 05:30 PM   #1
Cappuccino
Golden Member
 
Cappuccino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bristol University
Posts: 1,341
Default Failed to initialize Steam when I start game.

I keep getting 'Failed to initialize Steam' http://gyazo.com/38da9a10704c44befe1933a6a3a3f925 when I try to open Resident Evil 6. I have not purchased the game of Steam, I' downloaded of Pir***bay lol

So yeah. Does anyone know how I could solve this problem?

Really appreciated!


We do not like pirates around here.

Anandtech Moderator
KeithTalent
__________________
The most helpful member on the forum! http://forums.anandtech.com/member.php?u=75687

Last edited by KeithTalent; 04-19-2013 at 06:00 PM.
Cappuccino is offline  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:35 PM   #2
Karstein
Senior Member
 
Karstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 390
Default

Try closing Steam, then find ClientRegistry.blob in your Steam directory and delete it. Then restart Steam and see if it works.
__________________
Improvise, modify, adapt, overcome.
Karstein is offline  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:41 PM   #3
Cappuccino
Golden Member
 
Cappuccino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bristol University
Posts: 1,341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karstein View Post
Try closing Steam, then find ClientRegistry.blob in your Steam directory and delete it. Then restart Steam and see if it works.
Hey, that did not work

also everytime i dlete ClientRegistry.blob, it keeps coming back in my folder when i start Steam.
__________________
The most helpful member on the forum! http://forums.anandtech.com/member.php?u=75687

Last edited by Cappuccino; 04-19-2013 at 05:44 PM.
Cappuccino is offline  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:56 PM   #4
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cappuccino View Post
I have not purchased the game of Steam, I' downloaded of Pir***bay lol
/end thread.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.