Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013, 07:52 PM   #1
Daemas
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 165
Default Help with Samsung Smart TV, Yamaha receiver, and ARC

My dad recently purchased a Samsung UN46ES6100 and Yamaha RX-V473. The receiver works great when playing audio/video via the cable box. But when he wants to watch videos on YouTube/use the smart function of the TV, We are unable to get any sound. Am I correct in thinking that the receiver should be playing TV Video/Audio in PIP while selecting my app. Then when I load the YouTube app and play a video. The cable audio stops and the smart TV audio starts?

Both machines have the most recent firmware and software (in the case of the TV)

Here's how it's all hooked up

Cable Box > HDMI Input 1 > RX-V473
_________________________________> HDMI Output (ARC Enabled connection) >> Samsung UN46ES6100 HDMI 2 (ARC connection)
DVD Player > HDMI Input 2 > RX-V473

So I have the cables in the right places, HDMI 1.4 cables (ARC is HDMI 1.4 spec), AFAIK All the pertinent ARC Options enabled on both the TV and AVR. The only one that I don't understand is the Receiver HDMI Options. HDMI Control is on... The only audio sources available under ARC is Audio 1 (analog), and AV1-6 (various analog/digital). Yamaha says AV4 is the input used for ARC, but there's only one coax and one Optical SPIDF, No HDMI input? I wondered if just setting it to AV4 told the receiver to look for the HDMI audio, no dice.

Why is any of this shit even an option? ARC is an HDMI standard/spec, ARC means nothing for Optical/SPIDF connections.

The Samsung website says to enable AnyConnect+ (which is an HDMI-CEC solution), but since my receiver isn't a Samsung, it doesn't find it. (GJ Samsung, only telling people how to connect to other Samsung stuff. Too bad you make shit audio products)

Am I just going to have to use an optical cable to go from the TV to the AVR? The TV and Receiver must be able to do it like I'm trying to do or else the outlets wouldn't be named how they are.

My dad is pissed and I'm trying to pull my hair out. If anybody had any advice/solutions/previous experience, it would be much appreciated.
Daemas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:30 AM   #2
mickjcat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemas View Post
My dad recently purchased a Samsung UN46ES6100 and Yamaha RX-V473. The receiver works great when playing audio/video via the cable box. But when he wants to watch videos on YouTube/use the smart function of the TV, We are unable to get any sound. Am I correct in thinking that the receiver should be playing TV Video/Audio in PIP while selecting my app. Then when I load the YouTube app and play a video. The cable audio stops and the smart TV audio starts?

Both machines have the most recent firmware and software (in the case of the TV)

Here's how it's all hooked up

Cable Box > HDMI Input 1 > RX-V473
_________________________________> HDMI Output (ARC Enabled connection) >> Samsung UN46ES6100 HDMI 2 (ARC connection)
DVD Player > HDMI Input 2 > RX-V473

So I have the cables in the right places, HDMI 1.4 cables (ARC is HDMI 1.4 spec), AFAIK All the pertinent ARC Options enabled on both the TV and AVR. The only one that I don't understand is the Receiver HDMI Options. HDMI Control is on... The only audio sources available under ARC is Audio 1 (analog), and AV1-6 (various analog/digital). Yamaha says AV4 is the input used for ARC, but there's only one coax and one Optical SPIDF, No HDMI input? I wondered if just setting it to AV4 told the receiver to look for the HDMI audio, no dice.

Why is any of this shit even an option? ARC is an HDMI standard/spec, ARC means nothing for Optical/SPIDF connections.

The Samsung website says to enable AnyConnect+ (which is an HDMI-CEC solution), but since my receiver isn't a Samsung, it doesn't find it. (GJ Samsung, only telling people how to connect to other Samsung stuff. Too bad you make shit audio products)

Am I just going to have to use an optical cable to go from the TV to the AVR? The TV and Receiver must be able to do it like I'm trying to do or else the outlets wouldn't be named how they are.

My dad is pissed and I'm trying to pull my hair out. If anybody had any advice/solutions/previous experience, it would be much appreciated.
Hey Daemas,
If you connect all of your HDMI cables into the receiver, (Set top box, bluray, etc). and one out HDMI to your TV (HDMI 2) ARC, it should automatically sense when you change audio sources, ie. To the TV tuner, smart hub, for that matter also your DVD player if it is hooked up.

I have a Samsung smart tv and the HDMI 2 input is the ARC. And when I looked at the back of your receiver the the output HDMI has written on the bottom ARC.

The best way I can describe it is: The Audio Return Channel (ARC), pings back to the receiver whatever sound is sensed, TV, DVD, Smart Hub etc. And plays that sound out of the receiver....

If that does not work, your may want to buy from monoprice.com, HDMI high speed cables. (They are very inexpensive). That is the only other issue that in my humble opinion, could hamper your success.

Please excuse me if I am telling you anything you don't already know.

I hope this helps.
By the way, I use the Anynet to use my TV remote to turn on and off my devices.
mickjcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:34 AM   #3
Number1
Diamond Member
 
Number1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 7,067
Default

On my system, if I want to hear the ARC (Netflix, DLNA, etc) my receiver has to be set to "TV". It's only logical has the TV becomes the audio source.




Did this help?
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4200, MSI P67A-G43 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155, Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit, 5450 Radeon 500M X 2, 4TB storage, 600W OCZ GameXtream, Windows 7 HP 64, Samsung Syncmaster2463uw, Audio password Audio
Number1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:36 AM   #4
Kadarin
Lifer
 
Kadarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 43,275
Default

You need audio output from the tv to audio in from the receiver. The tv is the source of the audio here.
__________________
Eject, Buckaroo! Eject!
Kadarin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:07 AM   #5
Number1
Diamond Member
 
Number1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadarin View Post
You need audio output from the tv to audio in from the receiver. The tv is the source of the audio here.
All he needs to do is set the receiver to TV. The audio will be fed to the receiver from the TV via the ARC channel in the 1.4 HDMI cable.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4200, MSI P67A-G43 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155, Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit, 5450 Radeon 500M X 2, 4TB storage, 600W OCZ GameXtream, Windows 7 HP 64, Samsung Syncmaster2463uw, Audio password Audio
Number1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.