Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
-Slacker-
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,562
Default So the WiiU's cpu is a 1.25 Ghz tri-core PowerPC 750...

https://twitter.com/marcan42


Nintendo ... seriously dude? A PowerPC 750?

Christ ... does anyone know the clock-for-clock difference between an IBM PowerPC 750 core and a Power5/5+ core?
__________________
Phenom II x4 B35 2.9Ghz 1.3625v unlocked from AIIx3 435/ cooler master hyper 212 plus/ Palit geforce 460 768mb green "SE"/ 4 gb ddr3 / chieftec aps a135 550 s 550w, 1280x1024 and 1920x1080 TV
-Slacker- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:51 PM   #2
A5
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,743
Default

Not sure why you're asking for a comparison to POWER5 - it runs a completely different version of the PPC ISA from PPC 750. Beyond that, it's really hard to compare them on an IPC basis without a really detailed simulator or examples of both types of hardware to run some benchmark code on.
A5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:57 PM   #3
A5
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,743
Default

It basically sounds like this core is 2x the clockspeed of the Wii, with 3 cores instead of one. Depending on the GPU, I'd expect its top performance is a bit higher than the 360, but you'll probably only see it maximized by Nintendo-made games.
A5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:57 PM   #4
NTMBK
Diamond Member
 
NTMBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Slacker- View Post
https://twitter.com/marcan42


Nintendo ... seriously dude? A PowerPC 750?

Christ ... does anyone know the clock-for-clock difference between an IBM PowerPC 750 core and a Power5/5+ core?
It's a further evolution of the Gekko core which was originally in the Gamecube (a single core at 486MHz).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
I like my VRMs how I like my hookers, hot and Taiwanese.
NTMBK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:09 PM   #5
-Slacker-
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTMBK View Post
It's a further evolution of the Gekko core which was originally in the Gamecube (a single core at 486MHz).
Yeah I know. That's why I'm foaming at the mouth

Edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hector Martin
I don't know how it compares at the actual clock speeds, but at the same clock the 750 wins hands down except on pure SIMD.
Hmm..
__________________
Phenom II x4 B35 2.9Ghz 1.3625v unlocked from AIIx3 435/ cooler master hyper 212 plus/ Palit geforce 460 768mb green "SE"/ 4 gb ddr3 / chieftec aps a135 550 s 550w, 1280x1024 and 1920x1080 TV

Last edited by -Slacker-; 11-29-2012 at 01:16 PM.
-Slacker- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:18 PM   #6
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Slacker- View Post
Yeah I know. That's why I'm foaming at the mouth

Edit:



Hmm..
I doubt it has less CPU power than 360. The problem,as of now, is that all games for WiiU are not optimized for it properly. Nintendo needs some blockbuster titles and they need to sell a lot of units in order for devs to optimize properly for their machine.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:23 PM   #7
Hubb1e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 393
Default

The Wii U would have been pretty awesome in 2006.
Hubb1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:27 PM   #8
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PowerPC_7xx

It could have some interesting/sweet custom logic in there. According to the never-wrong wikipedia, it didn't have SMP support. Well, it clearly must now. It is possible that they beefed up the FPU as well.

"No hardware threads. One per core. No new SIMD, just paired singles. But it's a saner core than the P4esque stuff in 360/PS3."

hmm...

It would be more interesting to compare this to a current ARM CPU, IMHO.

I thought the Tegra 3 in my Oooohya was going to be super weak, but maybe it isn't so bad as I thought.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 11-29-2012 at 01:30 PM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:27 PM   #9
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,078
Default

As that guy said on his twitter account,Espresso CPU(WiiU) is out of order,short pipeline design with high(er) IPC but weaker SIMD performance. Broadway CPU in xbox360 is in order high clocking design with SMT(vs 3-core low clocked out of order machine in WiiU).
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:34 PM   #10
Cerb
Elite Member
 
Cerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 16,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Slacker- View Post
https://twitter.com/marcan42


Nintendo ... seriously dude? A PowerPC 750?

Christ ... does anyone know the clock-for-clock difference between an IBM PowerPC 750 core and a Power5/5+ core?
Could Nintendo afford a Power5? A new PPC core would probably be faster, but break compatibility. At some point, though, it seems like swapping between old and new (GC/Wii/Wii-U modes, and new-console mode with a spiffy shiny new CPU core), or having AMP (they probably don't want to give devs that hassle), would be the way to go, v. speeding up the old CPU(s).

OTOH, they might have gotten a really sweet license for the old PPC CPU, making it much cheaper to keep going with it. I'm not sure that kind of info has ever been released.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono View Post
I'm 90% certain the hipster movement was started by aliens from another galaxy who have an exaggerated interpretation of earth culture(s).
Cerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:34 PM   #11
A5
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PowerPC_7xx

It could have some interesting/sweet custom logic in there. According to the never-wrong wikipedia, it didn't have SMP support. Well, it clearly must now. It is possible that they beefed up the FPU as well.

"No hardware threads. One per core. No new SIMD, just paired singles. But it's a saner core than the P4esque stuff in 360/PS3."

hmm...

It would be more interesting to compare this to a current ARM CPU, IMHO.

I thought the Tegra 3 in my Oooohya was going to be super weak, but maybe it isn't so bad as I thought.
Ha. The Tegra 3 at 1080p will look terrible - despite Nvidia's marketing, it can't put out 360/PS3 quality at HD resolutions.
A5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:55 PM   #12
-Slacker-
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inf64 View Post
I doubt it has less CPU power than 360. The problem,as of now, is that all games for WiiU are not optimized for it properly. Nintendo needs some blockbuster titles and they need to sell a lot of units in order for devs to optimize properly for their machine.
I'd be very appreciative if you expanded on that though, even if you don't dumb it down for a computer science illiterate like me
__________________
Phenom II x4 B35 2.9Ghz 1.3625v unlocked from AIIx3 435/ cooler master hyper 212 plus/ Palit geforce 460 768mb green "SE"/ 4 gb ddr3 / chieftec aps a135 550 s 550w, 1280x1024 and 1920x1080 TV
-Slacker- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 01:58 PM   #13
NTMBK
Diamond Member
 
NTMBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Slacker- View Post
I'd be very appreciative if you expanded on that though, even if you don't dumb it down for a computer science illiterate like me
The PowerPC cores in the 360 do not have out-of-order execution. This means they can't change the order of instructions to execute them more efficiently, limiting the theoretical performance. It's more like an Intel Atom (in-order with Hyperthreading). On the other hand, the WiiU chip is more like an AMD Bobcat- lower clock speed, half the number of threads, but better real-world performance, largely due to OOOE.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
I like my VRMs how I like my hookers, hot and Taiwanese.
NTMBK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:15 PM   #14
firewolfsm
Golden Member
 
firewolfsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,757
Default

I really don't see why they couldn't just put a Trinity processor in there and call it quits. Their GPU is already quite similar.
__________________
What I cannot create, I do not understand
firewolfsm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:25 PM   #15
NTMBK
Diamond Member
 
NTMBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firewolfsm View Post
I really don't see why they couldn't just put a Trinity processor in there and call it quits. Their GPU is already quite similar.
Using an x86 chip breaks backwards compatibility with the Wii.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
I like my VRMs how I like my hookers, hot and Taiwanese.
NTMBK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:53 PM   #16
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,654
Default

So don't buy it. I know I won't. Its nintendo. They are not a graphics oriented, high tech gaming company. Their games are just fun for kids and family etc.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:02 PM   #17
ChronoReverse
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,028
Default

As mentioned already, if this is a triple core 750 at 1.25GHz, that's actually pretty beefy. More than I had anticipated with all the acclaims of "inadequate CPU power" going around. Gaming is integer driven with lots of decisions isn't it? An out of order design with stronger integer than FP seems to be a wise design.
ChronoReverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:34 PM   #18
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firewolfsm View Post
I really don't see why they couldn't just put a Trinity processor in there and call it quits. Their GPU is already quite similar.
Die size of the Wii U 3 core CPU is 32.76mm2

that's smaller than a dual core Atom I think,
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:36 PM   #19
SlowSpyder
Diamond Member
 
SlowSpyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
So don't buy it. I know I won't. Its nintendo. They are not a graphics oriented, high tech gaming company. Their games are just fun for kids and family etc.

I agree, if you're playing games just for how much adult content there is and the graphics, the next Xbox or Playstation will be more for you... or better yet, stick to PC gaming. But, for the record, I'll take something somewhat original even with marginal graphics that's actually fun to play over yet another run of the mill first person shooter or the like. And Nintendo is fairly good at that.
__________________
Steve
FX 9370 / 7970 / ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
GO PACKERS!
SlowSpyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 04:59 PM   #20
zephyrprime
Diamond Member
 
zephyrprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
Die size of the Wii U 3 core CPU is 32.76mm2

that's smaller than a dual core Atom I think,
Even a a tegra3 is 80mm2 (40nm process). The wii u is using a 45nm process. The tegra2 was 49mm.
zephyrprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:30 PM   #21
frozentundra123456
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
So don't buy it. I know I won't. Its nintendo. They are not a graphics oriented, high tech gaming company. Their games are just fun for kids and family etc.
What's wrong with fun for kids and family? Not everyone is a hard core PC gamer.

The problem I see is that they hit the kids/family/casual party game market with the original Wii at a lower price than their competitors. I am not sure they can be successful with that strategy again at a higher price point. But you have to admit, the original Wii was a big success for several years despite being technically far inferior to the other consoles.
frozentundra123456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:24 PM   #22
Hubb1e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zephyrprime View Post
Even a a tegra3 is 80mm2 (40nm process). The wii u is using a 45nm process. The tegra2 was 49mm.
That tegra 3 die size includes 5 cores, a GPU, and all the extra fixed function hardware for a mobile chip. The Wii die is just the CPU, memory controller, and probably the I/O stuff. So you can't really compare the CPU size by the die size itself. The Wii U CPU is probably quite a bit more powerful than Tegra 3's 4 A9 cores.
Hubb1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:27 PM   #23
Acanthus
Lifer
 
Acanthus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 19,916
Default

I will buy one the day a new mario kart game comes out.

I'm 30.
__________________
::Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0ghz (100x50) 1.400v ~ 47% performance increase
::2x4GB Mushkin DDR3-1333
::Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3
::XFX Radeon 6850 1GB
::OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
::Water Cooling - Swiftech Apogee GTX, Triple 120mm rad, 120GPH pump
Acanthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:01 PM   #24
xx0xx
Junior Member
 
xx0xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20
Default

No more Nintendo for me. They lost me after the N64.
xx0xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:46 PM   #25
Exophase
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubb1e View Post
That tegra 3 die size includes 5 cores, a GPU, and all the extra fixed function hardware for a mobile chip. The Wii die is just the CPU, memory controller, and probably the I/O stuff. So you can't really compare the CPU size by the die size itself. The Wii U CPU is probably quite a bit more powerful than Tegra 3's 4 A9 cores.
Broadway is OoO, but only minimally so. It's a mostly two-wide design (plus branch folding) with two ALUs and one load/store unit, and has a roughly 6 instruction execution window for reordering. I say roughly because while it has a 6-deep commit queue there's just a single reservation station in front of the execution units (or two in front of L/S) and 6 GPR/FPR rename registers.

I'd say it's actually a pretty similar level of sophistication to Cortex-A9, which is another mostly two-wide, two ALU + one L/S CPU. The pipelines are a shorter but the branch prediction is worse. The FP capability is similar (2x FP32 per cycle or 1x FP32, fmadds) but Broadway lacks the 128-bit integer SIMD NEON has.

So on a core-only basis I'd put the higher clocking quad core Tegra 3 over a triple core 1.24GHz Broadway. But a superior L2 cache and memory subsystem could easily tip things towards Wii U's favor (assuming it really has 3x Broadway to begin with). And while people have been ragging on Wii U's main RAM bandwidth it oustrips Tegra 3's maximum by a pretty wide margin.

On the GPU front it's going to be no competition whatsoever.
Exophase is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.