Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 10:05 AM   #176
Sunburn74
Senior Member
 
Sunburn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ney2x View Post
It makes me wonder, still no tech site e.g. http://www.anandtech.com , http://thessdreview.com/ , http://www.techpowerup.com/ regarding this great news! Come on Intel! What is your official statement about this? Or better yet, please explain it to us.
I would rather not have official news released because it may cause them to quietly lock it down again and set the community back another year trying to figure it out. In fact, as we speak I am saving the orom and my bios and the latest intel RST into a storage folder in case the next update of either quietly and secretly puts an end to the discovery.
Sunburn74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:17 AM   #177
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
With my gigabyte board, all I really did was flash my motherboard with the updated bios and then install the latest intel Rapid storage raid driver and trim was fully working.
Didn't need to recreate the array. Didn't even need to switch from ahci to raid to be honest in the bios.
I doubt, that you are right regarding the last sentence. An automatic switch of the SATA mode from "AHCI" or "IDE" to "RAID" without entering the BIOS seems rather unlikely.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:41 AM   #178
Sunburn74
Senior Member
 
Sunburn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 765
Default

I remember being surprised after the flash that windows booted up, meaning raid mode was active and not ahci. At the time of the flash i was already in raid mode. Not really sure what happened there. Maybe its my memory screwing up and forgetting that I quietly switched over now that I think about it. Either way just happy to have working trim.
Sunburn74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:47 AM   #179
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ney2x View Post
It makes me wonder, still no tech site e.g. http://www.anandtech.com , http://thessdreview.com/ , http://www.techpowerup.com/ regarding this great news! Come on Intel! What is your official statement about this? Or better yet, please explain it to us.
Check back soon
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:53 AM   #180
ney2x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
I would rather not have official news released because it may cause them to quietly lock it down again and set the community back another year trying to figure it out. In fact, as we speak I am saving the orom and my bios and the latest intel RST into a storage folder in case the next update of either quietly and secretly puts an end to the discovery.
2 months ago I posted at overclock.net that I have a "friend from inside" told me to wait for this important feature (TRIM on RAID) especially on older chipsets. "He" told me that Intel will release an IRST driver that will support TRIM on RAID on older chipset, it makes me think and this must be their excuse for this exposed feature...

Anyways, Dufus a.k.a. CPL0, deserves a beer from us!
ney2x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:56 AM   #181
ney2x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Check back soon
WOW! upon clicking reload in my browser, I saw --->http://www.anandtech.com/show/6477/t...therboards-too You are too fast
ney2x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:58 AM   #182
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 511
Default

Aaaaand done: http://www.anandtech.com/show/6477/t...therboards-too

Thanks everyone for the help, especially Fernando and Dufus! If there are any errors, let me know and I'll edit the article.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:21 AM   #183
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
This article is very good. Thank you very much!

Quote:
If there are any errors, let me know and I'll edit the article.
I haven't seen an error, but it may be a good idea to mention, that TRIM in RAID0 will not work for Z68 or P67 user by just updating the Intel RAID ROM module of their BIOS.
They have to customize the RAID ROM file by using a hex editor or - much easier - take an already modified Intel RAID ROM module. As you know I am offering the Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 with enabled TRIM for RAID0 for Z68 and P67 chipsets within the start post of >this< thread since 11/25/2012.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:24 AM   #184
Brahmzy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 441
Default

Haha, awesome. Great stuff.
__________________
MAIN: 4770K 4.6 | Max VI Hero | 16GB 2400/C10 | H110 | 2 GTX670 FTW SLi | 2 840 Pro 256 R0 | SB Z | 750D | AX1200 | Z30i 1600p | 8.1x64
HTPC: 4670K 4.4 | Max VI Gene | 8GB 2133/C9 | NH-L9I | HD6450 | 840 Pro 128 | 2TB Red | GD05 | SSR-550RM | 70" | 8.1x64
MEDIA: 4670K 4.4 | Gryphon | 8GB 1866/C9 | VX Black | HD4600 | 840 Pro 128 | 4 F4 HD204UI R5 | 550D | SSR-550RM | 305T 1600p | 8.1x64
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:26 AM   #185
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
I haven't seen an error, but it may be a good idea to mention, that TRIM in RAID0 will not work for Z68 or P67 user by just updating the Intel RAID ROM module of their BIOS.
They have to customize the RAID ROM file by using a hex editor or - much easier - take an already modified Intel RAID ROM module. As you know I am offering the Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 with enabled TRIM for RAID0 for Z68 and P67 chipsets within the start post of >this< thread since 11/25/2012.
I added a line about that
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:07 PM   #186
kensiko30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I just read the article.

So you have modified the OROM to ensure it will work with series 6 chipset? If this is true, where can we get it?
kensiko30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:12 PM   #187
organshifter
Junior Member
 
organshifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kensiko30 View Post
I just read the article.

So you have modified the OROM to ensure it will work with series 6 chipset? If this is true, where can we get it?
Hellhammer linked to it on page 2 of his article, but Fernando is still online. List your motherboard/bios, and he'll probably cook one up for ya.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ney2x View Post
Latest ASUS P8Z68-V Pro/GEN3 and Deluxe BIOS 3603 has an OROM version of v11.2.0.1527, so no TRIM-enabled yet.
Thanks for the info. Shame on Intel.

Last edited by organshifter; 11-28-2012 at 12:15 PM.
organshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:36 PM   #188
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,388
Default

Thanks for the great work guys! -- I'll be trying this on my P67 Sabertooth once my other SSD arrives.
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:22 PM   #189
Sunburn74
Senior Member
 
Sunburn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 765
Default

Was having some trouble with searching in hex editor but solved it. No problems. Thanks.

Last edited by Sunburn74; 11-28-2012 at 02:34 PM.
Sunburn74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:32 PM   #190
kensiko30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organshifter View Post
Hellhammer linked to it on page 2 of his article, but Fernando is still online. List your motherboard/bios, and he'll probably cook one up for ya.



Thanks for the info. Shame on Intel.
Thanks !

My mobo is Asrock Extreme3 Gen3, latest bios is 2.3.
kensiko30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:33 PM   #191
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,277
Default

So I was able to dump the ROM from my Sony Vaio but have you seen this error before it looks like the MM tool cannot read this rom file. I can read the rom files from my Asus board no problem.

__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:43 PM   #192
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kensiko30 View Post
My mobo is Asrock Extreme3 Gen3, latest bios is 2.3.
The modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702, which you can download from >here<, will enable the TRIM in RAID0 feature for your Z68 system. Just insert it into your actual mainboard BIOS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
So I was able to dump the ROM from my Sony Vaio but have you seen this error before it looks like the MM tool cannot read this rom file.
Did you already try the Aptio UEFI MMTool?

Last edited by Fernando 1; 11-28-2012 at 02:47 PM.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 03:00 PM   #193
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
The modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702, which you can download from >here<, will enable the TRIM in RAID0 feature for your Z68 system. Just insert it into your actual mainboard BIOS.

Did you already try the Aptio UEFI MMTool?
I didn't try it because this Vaio z is a 2010 model so I didn't think the UEFI version would work since this is an older style bios.

But its worth a shot I guess.

Ok so I tried it but something still doesn't look right. i'm unable to find the Raid ROM in this screen.

__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750

Last edited by Makaveli; 11-28-2012 at 03:26 PM.
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:12 PM   #194
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Ok so I tried it but something still doesn't look right. i'm unable to find the Raid ROM in this screen.
Yes, mainboard manufacturers like Sony and Intel don't make it easy for the users to look into the BIOS components and to modify the BIOS.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:17 PM   #195
Owls
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 634
Default

Could this work on X58 boards? Specifically the Asus P6T Deluxe (v1)?
Owls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:52 PM   #196
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owls View Post
Could this work on X58 boards? Specifically the Asus P6T Deluxe (v1)?
We don't know it until now, but you may test it, if you want.
Preconditions:
1. It should be possible to update the Intel RAID ROM module of your mainboard BIOS to v11.6.0.1702.
2. Dufus's SATA ID Tool must show a valid Alternate Device ID. >Here< you can find the link. Please run the tool and tell me the Alternate Device ID. Then I will try to enable the TRIM in RAID feature for your mainboard.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:54 PM   #197
Yavi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default

@ Makaveli

It might help if you fill link present square and look for Vendor ID 8086 and Device ID 2822 or 282a .....
Yavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:31 PM   #198
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
Yes, mainboard manufacturers like Sony and Intel don't make it easy for the users to look into the BIOS components and to modify the BIOS.
lol great so then I either wait for pyro to respond which isn't looking good since he is a new member with 1 post.

He is on the notebook review site cause I seen him in the sony thread over there somewhere but I don't like waiting.

I'm either gonna have to find another rom or find away to extract it from there exe.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:27 PM   #199
davidm71
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Default Anyone speak assembly?

What we need is someone who is proficient in assembly language to find the conditional argument in the orom or driver that checks those device ids and force it off so all intel boards older or not are supported. I get the feeling that only the device ids that were in the original orom table are supported and the reason some had trim turned off is for the following reasons: 1. They want to sell the latest tech and force your upgrade path. 2. They're being cheap with paying their engineers do the validation on older hardware even from last year, and 3. End of life hardware not supported period as oem vendors will never get to updating the bios from few years back (ex. X58 boards). What a shame..
davidm71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:53 PM   #200
Sagath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
Yes, mainboard manufacturers like Sony and Intel don't make it easy for the users to look into the BIOS components and to modify the BIOS.
Sooo, what you're saying is that Im SOL since I'm using an Intel DP67BG on the latest 2209 bios?

After reading the news feed, I fiddled a bit, but being that the file name was xxx.BIO I couldnt get to read it with any of the previously mentioned editors

Please let me know your thoughts Thanks!
Sagath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5-series, 6-series, raid0, srt, trim

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.