Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 04:08 PM   #76
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
The issue I am having is that mmtool nor aptio are recognizing any of the gigabyte bioses that my board uses (ga-p67x-ud3-b3 board). I get an error when trying to load the rom
I had no problem to open the newest BIOS U1a for your GA-P67X-UD3-B3 with the Aptio MMTool and to replace the original Intel RAID ROM v11.0.0.1339 by the modded v11.6.0.1702. You can download this already modified BIOS from >here<.

Good luck!
Fernando
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:14 PM   #77
Brahmzy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 441
Default

UDAMAN Fernando. I'll be testing tomorrow night hopefully. I'll let you know how it goes!
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:34 PM   #78
Sunburn74
Senior Member
 
Sunburn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
I had no problem to open the newest BIOS U1a for your GA-P67X-UD3-B3 with the Aptio MMTool and to replace the original Intel RAID ROM v11.0.0.1339 by the modded v11.6.0.1702. You can download this already modified BIOS from >here<.

Good luck!
Fernando

I really appreciate it, but here's the issue. The UEFI bios for the p67x-ud3 board cannot be flashed on the board (don't ask me why, but it can't and its well reported on the net). All of the non uefi bioses are not being recognized by either mmtool or aptio. If you can get a non uefi bios to work for the p67x-ud3-b3 board I'm super appreciate it. However, i couldn't get either to be recognized though I was able to successfully mod the uefi bios (i just couldn't actually flash it)
Sunburn74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 02:59 AM   #79
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
The UEFI bios for the p67x-ud3 board cannot be flashed on the board (don't ask me why, but it can't and its well reported on the net).
So you mean, that the mainboard manufacturer GIGABYTE is offering a BIOS (U1a) for their GA-P67X-UD3-B3, but this BIOS cannot be flashed into the mainboard's BIOS chip at all?
That is hard to believe. Did you already contact the GIGABYTE support?
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:29 AM   #80
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Acceleration is go...

After adding support in the main BIOS it seems SRT is possible for the P67, I think there is a good chance it might also work on the P55 5-series too, will try to check it out when I have the time.


Enhanced mode accelerating C: drive partition on WD 5400RPM 250GB drive.


Change mode




SRT is not for me I think, while it does offer a nice speed up I think I'll stick to my RAID0


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
As a consequence I will remodify the Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 just for the 6-Series chipset Desktop PCs (Device ID 1C06 and 1C07).
Hey have you updated your field for the p67 series? and what do we are we supposed to do with the file once you have it?
Fernando, maybe Sunburn74 is asking because you did not mention 1C04, a typo perhaps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
I disagree about "proper validation" being needed or EVER being released.
Surely you jest? Software / firmware needs some sort of validation, you can not expect some update to be made and thrown out to the public with out any type of assurance. Intel and the manufacturers have huge resources to do this, I do not.

Update to X79 testing post #20, it's possible that the this was tested with SSD's having broken trim firmware. Given Fernando's excellence in finding a tester, snout, to confirm working trim on X79 I'd be inclined to say the Asrock X79 and BIOS 1.70 should have working trim too.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:00 AM   #81
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufus View Post
Surely you jest? Software / firmware needs some sort of validation, you can not expect some update to be made and thrown out to the public with out any type of assurance. Intel and the manufacturers have huge resources to do this, I do not.
That assumes changes were made. Adding a key for a DRM check is not such a change.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:30 AM   #82
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufus View Post
The 11.6 OROM appears to have a look up table.


It seems the first word lists the RAID controller Alternate ID (AI) to identify the controller, the second word lists the LPC ID to identify sub groups that utilize the RAID controller and a byte follows to indicate set flags.


For instance alternate ID 1C05 (8086:1C05) is a 6 series mobile RAID controller. This has two LPC sub groups, 1C4B (HM67) and 1C4F (QM67). Bit 0 of the flag byte is set to 1 which I think means SRT support. Where the LPC ID is 0000 I guess this means all sub groups. Alternate ID 1C05 is for the Z68 which has only bit 0 set in the flag byte, meaning support for SRT but not trim. Alternate ID's are a way of identifying controllers that normally use a common ID, i.e. 2822 (8086:2822).

Now you can hopefully see why it appears Intel have made it easy to add other chipsets, they just need to be added to the LUT. For testing however I just overwrote one of the ones in the list. For the P67 which has an alternate ID of 1C04 I simply used "1C04 0000 07" and like wise for the P55 which has an alternate ID of 3B25 I used "3B25 0000 07".
The last sentence, which obviously has been added today by Dufus, lets me think, that I have modified the Intel RAID ROM module v11.6.0.1702 the wrong way regarding the TRIM in RAID0 support for P67 and some other 6-series chipset desktop systems except Z68. There is no DeviceID 1C04 within the pictures you had posted previously. That is why I thought, that IC07 is the DeviceID for all 6-Series Desktop Intel SATA RAID Controllers except Z68.

If the SATA RAID Controller of an Intel P67 chipset has the DeviceID 1C04 instead of 1C07, my previously modded ROM will not enable the TRIM in RAID0 support for P67 chipset systems.
Thank you for clearing this up.
As a consequence I have modified the Intel RAID ROM module v11.6.0.1702 again by just replacing the hex code pair "07 1C" by "04 1C" hoping, that this RAID ROM version will enable TRIM in RAID0 for all P67 chipset systems.
Users can find the download link to the specially modified Intel RAID ROM v11.6.0.1702 within the start post of >this< thread. It should enable TRIM in RAID0 for Intel P67 and Z68 chipset systems.

Last edited by Fernando 1; 11-26-2012 at 01:49 PM. Reason: removal of the direct download link
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:54 AM   #83
kulica
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
The last sentence, which obviously has been added today by Dufus, lets me think, that I have modified the Intel RAID ROM module v11.6.0.1702 the wrong way regarding the TRIM in RAID0 support for P67 and some other 6-series chipset desktop systems except Z68. There is no DeviceID 1C04 within the pictures you had posted previously. That is why I thought, that IC07 is the DeviceID for all 6-Series Desktop Intel SATA RAID Controllers except Z68.

If the SATA RAID Controller of an Intel P67 chipset has the DeviceID 1C04 instead of 1C07, my modded ROM will not enable the TRIM in RAID0 support for P67 chipset systems.
Thank you for clearing this up.
As a consequence I will modify the Intel RAID ROM module v11.6.0.1702 again by just replacing the hex code pair "07 1C" by "04 1C" hoping, that this RAID ROM version will enable TRIM in RAID0 for all P67 chipset systems.

Side note: Please reread your last sentence of the text I have quoted.
Are you sure, that you posted the correct hex codes? Shouldn't it be "04 C1" instead of "1C 04" and "25 B3" instead of "3B 25"?
It's plain simple endian shift.



And the file: http://www.4shared.com/archive/39nuB...-6_series.html

A don't have time to format my two SSDs into RAID0 array, I have like a ton of coding to do :S But I will post results for my P67 and 2x Crucial SSDs. I hope the Crucial will put together a working FW by then. Script kiddies :S
kulica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:44 AM   #84
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kulica View Post
It's plain simple endian shift.
That may be simple for you, but not for everyone.
Myself I had 2 typos within the last sentence of my last post, but meanwhile I have corrected them. Since you have quoted it before my correction, it would be very kind, if you correct them too (just to prevent any irritations).

Quote:
Originally Posted by kulika View Post
Thank you for your special customization and the upload of the modded file.
Maybe your version will support the TRIM in RAID feature for more Intel 6-Series chipsets than the version I have linked within my last post. On the other hand a user has written, that setting a lot of DeviceIDs to FLAG "07" didn't work, whereas he succeeded with a specific modification just for his RAID Controller.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
UDAMAN Fernando. I'll be testing tomorrow night hopefully. I'll let you know how it goes!
Since you have a P67 system, I recommend to insert one of the modded Intel RAID ROM files, which were uploaded today by kulika and me.
Here is the download link to the freshly modified P8P67-DELUXE BIOS 3509, which may support TRIM in RAID0 for your Intel SATA RAID Controller (provided it's DEV_1C04):
>ASUS P8P67 BIOS 3509 mod by Fernando<

Good luck!
Fernando

Last edited by Fernando 1; 11-25-2012 at 07:31 AM. Reason: download link to the modified BIOS added
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:20 AM   #85
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
The last sentence, which obviously has been added today by Dufus
No, that was in there from day one. The only thing I updated was about X79 support. You can see the difference if you look at MaxICH's quoted post which follows it.

Sorry for the confusion but it is stated correctly, 2 words and a byte. That is the correct format for a word that contains 2 bytes and as kulika pointed out is in little endian format which is used on x86.

For instance a double-word such as 56789ABC which contains 4 bytes would appear in bytes starting with the LSB and finishing with the MSB, BC 9A 78 56. FYI if I show bytes they will be shown separated. 1C04 0000 07 word-word-byte. Hope that helps.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:39 AM   #86
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufus View Post
No, that was in there from day one. The only thing I updated was about X79 support. You can see the difference if you look at MaxICH's quoted post which follows it.
Ok, then I haven't read the related post correctly - my bad.

By the way:
Do you know the 6-series chipsets, which have an Intel SATA RAID Controller with the DeviceID 1C07 ("Desktop 6 Premium")?
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:39 AM   #87
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunburn74 View Post
(i just couldn't actually flash it)
Sunburn74, did you boot to DOS and use the FLASHEFI.EXE application that comes with the Gigabyte EFI BIOS download? They were quite late to the EFI party so it would not be surprising if there were problems.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
By the way:
Do you know the 6-series chipsets, which have an Intel SATA RAID Controller with the DeviceID 1C07 ("Desktop 6 Premium")?
Post 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufus View Post
and 6 series 1c04, 1c05, 1c06, 1c07?. I don't know what 1c07 is for, maybe used on servers .
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:58 AM   #88
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ Dufus:
Thanks for answering my question.

@ Sunburn74:
If you should be able to flash the new UEFI BIOS U1a by using the FLASHEFI.EXE, you should not use the BIOS file, which has been updated and uploaded by me previously (TRIM in RAID0 may not work for you due to the missing DeviceID IC04 for P67 SATA RAID Controllers).
If you want, I will modify your BIOS again and put the missing Device ID into the Intel RAID ROM hex code. Please let me know it.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:11 AM   #89
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 513
Default

What's the current verdict on what chipsets are supported? I flashed my AsRock Z68 Pro3 with Fernando's modified OROM and I'm currently testing if TRIM works. Will write something up for the main page if this works.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:29 AM   #90
ney2x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
What's the current verdict on what chipsets are supported? I flashed my AsRock Z68 Pro3 with Fernando's modified OROM and I'm currently testing if TRIM works. Will write something up for the main page if this works.
In regards to modified OROM, only P67 and Z68 are tested as of now.

If TRIM (RAID-0) don't worked for you, try recreating RAID Array/Volume using RAID OROM 11.6.x.xxxx. My 6 units ASUS P8Z68-V and Pro and 8 units ASUS P8P67 B3 has an existing RAID Volume which was created from 10.x.x.xxxx OROM. I flashed newer BIOS with modified RAID OROM 11.6.0.1702 without recreating RAID Volume and TRIM didn't worked. I read at Intel Community forum (I forgot the link) to recreate the RAID Volume and then voila! TRIM (RAID-0) works now

Anyways, I hope it worked for you so that you'll write on the main page and Intel will noticed it and probably release an official OROM for this. Thanks.

Last edited by ney2x; 11-25-2012 at 10:44 AM.
ney2x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:51 AM   #91
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
What's the current verdict on what chipsets are supported?
1. Intel 7-Series and C600-Series (X79) SATA RAID Controllers get full "TRIM in RAID0" support by the original Intel RAID ROM v11.6.x.xxxx (no modding required).
2. It seems, that Intel 6-Series RAID Controllers do support the TRIM in RAID0 feature too, but it has to be unlocked by a slight modification of the RAID ROM hex code.
What we yet not know is,
  1. if all 6-Series chipsets will get TRIM into their RAID by this manipulation and
  2. if the TRIM in RAID feature can be enabled within 1 ROM module for all 6-Series chipsets at once or if it is needed to unlock the feature in a special way (separate ROM modules for different sorts of Controllers).
3. Regarding the "TRIM in RAID" support of 5-Series RAID Controllers we need more test results. Dufus means, that it may work too.
4. Other Intel Chipset are not supported by the TRIM in RAID0 feature tesp. have not been tested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer
I flashed my AsRock Z68 Pro3 with Fernando's modified OROM and I'm currently testing if TRIM works.
Good luck (fingers crossed)!
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:53 AM   #92
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 513
Default

Bad news, performance did not restore after TRIM pass. Here is what I did:

1. Used the special 11.6 OROM and flashed my BIOS. OROM reported as 11.6, so it worked.

2. Installed Intel RST 11.6 drivers (do I need RST(e)?).

3. Created a RAID 0 array using 120GB Corsair Neutron and 120GB Neutron GTX. Filled the array with sequential data and then tortured the array with 4KB random writes (100% LBA space, QD32) for 20 minutes. Formatted the array in Disk Management and then ran HD Tach.

Did I do everything by the book? I'm using AsRock Z68 Pro3 as my motherboard.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:13 AM   #93
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ Hellhammer:
Thanks for your quick feedback!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
2. Installed Intel RST 11.6 drivers (do I need RST(e)?).
The Intel RST drivers v11.5 and v11.6 series are using the AHCI/RAID driver iaStorA.sys and the additional SCSI filter driver iaStorF.sys as the RSTe drivers v3.x series. That is why I name them RST(e) drivers just as an information for the users, that these v11.5/11.6 drivers have another driver structure than the conventional Intel RST driver iaStor.sys (latest Version 11.2.0.1006).
So you have chosen the correct drvers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer
3. Created a RAID 0 array using 120GB Corsair Neutron and 120GB Neutron GTX. Filled the array with sequential data and then tortured the array with 4KB random writes (100% LBA space, QD32) for 20 minutes. Formatted the array in Disk Management and then ran HD Tach.
Why didn't you do just the simple TRIM test by using a hex editor (look >here<)?
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:26 AM   #94
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
Why didn't you do just the simple TRIM test by using a hex editor (look >here<)?
Because I find that to be a better way to show that TRIM is working; performance is what end users think about. I tried the Hex Editor method as well, didn't work either
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:24 PM   #95
Brahmzy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 441
Default

Hmmm. Does the quick format execute trim? How long did you wait after formatting to test?
__________________
MAIN: 4770K 4.6 | Max VI Hero | 16GB 2400/C10 | H110 | 2 GTX670 FTW SLi | 2 840 Pro 256 R0 | SB Z | 750D | AX1200 | Z30i 1600p | 8.1x64
HTPC: 4670K 4.4 | Max VI Gene | 8GB 2133/C9 | NH-L9I | HD6450 | 840 Pro 128 | 2TB Red | GD05 | SSR-550RM | 70" | 8.1x64
MEDIA: 4670K 4.4 | Gryphon | 8GB 1866/C9 | VX Black | HD4600 | 840 Pro 128 | 4 F4 HD204UI R5 | 550D | SSR-550RM | 305T 1600p | 8.1x64
Brahmzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:48 PM   #96
Fernando 1
Senior Member
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Default

@ Hellhammer:
It is a pity, that you obviously did not get TRIM support within your RAID0 after having flashed a BIOS containing the Intel RAID ROM v.11.6.0.1702, which as been customized by me today.

@ all:
This is the related part of the unmodified OROM (uploaded by Dufus):


And this pic shows the changes I have done today (red hex code pairs):


If anyone sees a mistake or has an advice how to make it better, please let me know it.
Fernando 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:03 PM   #97
Sunburn74
Senior Member
 
Sunburn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
@ Dufus:
Thanks for answering my question.

@ Sunburn74:
If you should be able to flash the new UEFI BIOS U1a by using the FLASHEFI.EXE, you should not use the BIOS file, which has been updated and uploaded by me previously (TRIM in RAID0 may not work for you due to the missing DeviceID IC04 for P67 SATA RAID Controllers).
If you want, I will modify your BIOS again and put the missing Device ID into the Intel RAID ROM hex code. Please let me know it.
Hey I really appreciate the help. I did not boot with the flash.exe program on a USB stick and that seems to be the way to do it (I tried the standard method with the bios quick flash which will not at all). I could try that but actually I've been reading about a ton of issues with gigabyte UEFI bioses (loss of win activation, loss of certain overclocking features, etc)

Anyway, I was able to modify the ROM for the UEFI before. However, I could not modify the ROM for the non-UEFI bioses which are the bioses I really want to have. I'm curious if one of you guys can give it a try. MMtools would not recognize them.

This is the link for the file:
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=3815#dl

BIOS F9 or f10 would be great.
Sunburn74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:04 PM   #98
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
AFAIK this works, but you probably need Intel SSDs as members of the RAID0.
both SSD's are intel 160GB g2.

I've not been able to setup the array yet because I have to do a full system backup and move around alot of data before formatting. So been taking my time with it.

If the is no way to get the OROM working on the x58 then manual trim passes with the toolbox will work for me.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:29 PM   #99
Hellhammer
AnandTech SSD Editor
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
@ Hellhammer:
It is a pity, that you obviously did not get TRIM support within your RAID0 after having flashed a BIOS containing the Intel RAID ROM v.11.6.0.1702, which as been customized by me today.
Do you have any idea what could be the reason? Does the tweak not work with all motherboards?
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
Hellhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 02:12 PM   #100
Dufus
Member
 
Dufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
If anyone sees a mistake or has an advice how to make it better, please let me know it.
Well unless it's maybe using 1C07! Give me a while and I'll see if I can write something to read the real ID and try to take some of the unknowns out.

Hellhammer, if you follow Fernando's trim method first to see if it's working IMO that would be better than hammering your SSD's unnecessarily If it doesn't work with the simple test, especially if you've rebooted after deletion, then it's not likely to work anyway. Also trim itself just tells the firmware to unmap the LBA's, it is up to GC to do the erasing at it's pleasure. IOW your test is really a combination of trim and GC and might vary with different SSD firmwares depending on how they handle the trim.

I have tested both a 5-series (P55) and 6-series (P67) and confirmed trim working with drivers 11.0 to 11.5. Personally I prefer the RST drivers, 11.2 is not a bad choice IMHO.
Dufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5-series, 6-series, raid0, srt, trim

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.