Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2014, 10:02 AM   #1
Doomer
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 3,672
Default LSI MegaRAID 9240 8i

Just installed and I'm getting a message says all disks from the previous config are missing. Well no shit, it's a used card that was previously in another computer so of course the disks are missing.

Problem is, I can't get into the config utility to clear out the previous config. Ctrl-H does nothing and neither does hitting 'C' as instructed. Windows Storage manger SW doesn't seem to have this option.

Any help much appreciated.
__________________
I'm like Jesus only bitter and hateful.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:04 AM   #2
ch33zw1z
Lifer
 
ch33zw1z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ten Forward
Posts: 12,645
Default

What did you install this card in? A server or home PC?

You need to get to their "webgui" or the command line to reset to defaults...

Give us more information about your hardware config, and leave everything unattached from the controller while you trouble shoot

You can also try LSI's software, instead of windows, that will give you more control over your controller.

http://www.lsi.com/products/raid-con....aspx#tab/tab4
__________________
Heatware


Last edited by ch33zw1z; 05-04-2014 at 10:08 AM.
ch33zw1z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:37 AM   #3
Doomer
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 3,672
Default

Thank you sir. I had a drive plugged in for testing and when I removed it I was able to get in and delete the previous config.
__________________
I'm like Jesus only bitter and hateful.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:43 AM   #4
ch33zw1z
Lifer
 
ch33zw1z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ten Forward
Posts: 12,645
Default

No prob. I know how annoyingly picky those MegaRAID's can be.
__________________
Heatware

ch33zw1z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.