Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
stickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default Best SSD for Dell Latitude D630 with Win XP

This has probably been asked many times in these forums, but I can't seem to find a good thread. Maybe they are all too old .

I have a Dell Latitude D630 laptop at work with Win XP and want to upgrade my 5400rpm 80GB hard drive to an SSD that is about 128GB. This thing is excruciatingly slowwwww. My main concern is the Win XP and compatibility with the SSD (no trim?). I am thinking of the Samsung 830 or Intel 520 based on their reliability and the software that they have to maintain the performance of the SSD under Win XP. Any help is appreciated.
stickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 12:06 AM   #2
OlafSicky
Platinum Member
 
OlafSicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,375
Default

Any intel will do they have a trim function in their toolbox
OlafSicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:26 AM   #3
StarTech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 827
Default

SAMSUNG 830. It has toolbox also
StarTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:28 AM   #4
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 984
Default

Dump windows XP for Windows 7. That model should support the x86 version perfectly if you get the latest BIOS. I run a Sammy 830 128GB model on my D820 and it works fantastic. Brought it to life. It feels like my new i5/4GB/250 7200RPM dell at work.

If you need XP, place the old hard drive in a latitude D series 2nd bay SATA hard drive enclosure and boot from it if needed. That what I did.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:46 AM   #5
Mr. President
Member
 
Mr. President's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 117
Default

I've been stresstesting the Samsung on a D630 w/ XP here at work. So far I've not run into any issues. The TRIM feature in their software seems to work well also as I've written ~1TB over the course of the past week without performance degradation that it didn't fix. And that's without any overprovisioning and two cycles of full disk encryption and decryption.

The only real issue I ran into is with encryption as the performance falloff was pretty drastic. But we also run an outdated version of the software so it may not apply.
Mr. President is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:59 PM   #6
stickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compman55 View Post
Dump windows XP for Windows 7.
Unfortunately it is a company PC and I can't upgrade to Wisdows 7 (:
stickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 09:03 PM   #7
stickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. President View Post
I've been stresstesting the Samsung on a D630 w/ XP here at work. So far I've not run into any issues. The TRIM feature in their software seems to work well also as I've written ~1TB over the course of the past week without performance degradation that it didn't fix. And that's without any overprovisioning and two cycles of full disk encryption and decryption.

The only real issue I ran into is with encryption as the performance falloff was pretty drastic. But we also run an outdated version of the software so it may not apply.
Thanks. This is exactly what I was looking for. I don't have any excryption so that shouldn't be a problem. I was leaning towards the 830 since I am not all that confident in the Sandforce controllers, even with Intel behind it.

I haven't posted much here, but this forum is a wealth of knowledge when you need it.
stickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:45 PM   #8
stickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. President View Post
I've been stresstesting the Samsung on a D630 w/ XP here at work.
Another question - are their any bois or driver changes I need to make to the D630 function properly with the 830?
stickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:01 PM   #9
Mr. President
Member
 
Mr. President's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stickx View Post
Another question - are their any bois or driver changes I need to make to the D630 function properly with the 830?
It's a bit difficult question to answer without knowing if these are meaningful terms to you but, generally speaking, no. You do want to enable AHCI mode in the BIOS (for a variety of reasons) but, for the installer to recognize the hard disk, the XP install disc needs to include the driver. The Dell install disc should hold the correct driver but you will otherwise need to make a slipstreamed copy. I already had such a disc so (for me) it was only a matter of enabling the feature in the BIOS.

AHCI mode is called something else in the Dell BIOS but I can't remember the correct term. It's probably 'enhanced' or something like that while IDE mode would be 'compatibility' or 'legacy' or somesuch.
Mr. President is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.