Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2012, 01:04 AM   #1
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default ASUS UX32A: Lacking System Responsiveness

My sister's ASUS UX32A has a built in 24GB SSD and naturally, it's too small to install Windows onto it. When it came from the factory, ASUS did something with the SSD to speed the system up. Now after I did a clean install (crappy job probably) onto the HDD, it's damn slow. I can't figure out how to get the same speed as before in terms of boot up and system responsiveness. Would be great if someone can help me out.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
Fayd
Diamond Member
 
Fayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Around
Posts: 7,690
Default

i'm guessing the SSD is meant to be a cache for the hdd?
__________________
Hold me closer Tony Danza
Count the Headlights on the Highway
Lay me down in sheets of linen
You've had a busy day today.
Fayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:33 AM   #3
thescreensavers
Diamond Member
 
thescreensavers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 9,828
Default

The small SSD in that laptop is yea meant for cache. Dump the spinner for a real SSD, need 7mm drive.
__________________
Tech TV Tribute

WRB 2013 Subaru WRX Hatch
thescreensavers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:49 AM   #4
krumme
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,262
Default

120gb ssd all the way. Its dirt cheap. She will have longer battery life. Faster bootup for all aplications, more slick surfing. The computer will last 2 years longer.
Its the most obvious upgrade for this asus. She will apriciate it.
krumme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 04:18 AM   #5
beginner99
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,219
Default

Yeah stay away from those new type of laptops with small ssd cache. Only heard people having trouble with in and in certain cases (lenovo) the cache was always disabled by default out of the factory.

Get one with a real ssd. Yes, more expensive, less storage but much more responsive.
beginner99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:46 PM   #6
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default

Can't get one with a 7mm SSD... They're too damn expensive here...

I hate Ultrabook but I had no choice. Needed to be cheap, 13.3", have US keyboard, good battery life, etc.

So how can I use the 24GB SSD as cache? I think I have it turned on in Windows, but it's still nowhere near as fast as before the clean install.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD

Last edited by geokilla; 09-25-2012 at 02:11 PM.
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:55 AM   #7
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner99 View Post
Yeah stay away from those new type of laptops with small ssd cache.
works fine on my gf samsung 5 ultra, and it's better than a HDD only configuration.


You probably need some software that activates the iSSD express cache on the UX32A
__________________
i7-5820K@4.3Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 750GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:04 PM   #8
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,396
Default

maybe download the express cache and instant on program from this site:

http://www.asus.com/Notebooks/Superi...X32A/#download
__________________
i7-5820K@4.3Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 750GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 04:14 PM   #9
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biostud View Post
maybe download the express cache and instant on program from this site:

http://www.asus.com/Notebooks/Superi...X32A/#download
I have both installed, then uninstalled Instant On. Instant On is only for some standby thing I believe.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 06:20 PM   #10
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 571
Default

Intel Rapid Storage Technology maybe????
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:30 PM   #11
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post
Intel Rapid Storage Technology maybe????
Installed that but I can't get SSD caching to work. The Accelerate tab in Intel RST doesn't exist.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:15 PM   #12
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,396
Default

have you checked bios settings?
__________________
i7-5820K@4.3Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 750GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:38 PM   #13
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biostud View Post
have you checked bios settings?
Like 50 billion times....

I've given up.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:52 AM   #14
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,396
Default

this might help:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/sams...k-edition.html
__________________
i7-5820K@4.3Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 750GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:23 PM   #15
geokilla
Golden Member
 
geokilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,969
Default

Don't got the laptop anymore and it'll be another 2 weeks till I get my hands on it again. Will take a look then.

Thanks for the find.
__________________
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
XFX 7950 Double D 3GB (TDKC); VDCC @ 1.125VDCC 1000/1500
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB and Western Digital Black 1TB + Misc HDD
geokilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:04 AM   #16
Greediest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

geokilla,

have you found the solution? i did the same thing to my asus s56ca
Greediest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:18 PM   #17
Katanaqui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Is this of use? Same thing happened with my Asus UX32A, clean install and slow as hell, no instant on or anything.
http://www.tall-paul.co.uk/2013/05/0...he-asus-ux32a/

Tl;dr: look in CeSupport\eDriver\Software\Others for the Intel Rapid Storage Technology and ExpressCache setup files - that for some reason are not set up as default by Asus so it probably isn't even to do with the clean install - and use command prompt after rebooting to check that they're working (CProgram Files\Diskeeper Corporation\ExpressCache>ECCmd.exe -INFO)
Katanaqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.