Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2012, 10:45 PM   #1
alex298
Junior Member
 
alex298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default External hard disk problem - change from 1T to 2T suddenly!

Hello,

My computer platform: Windows XP

My friend borrowed my 1TB Buffalo External Hard Disk. He returned the Hard Disk to me after a few week. He said that my external Hard Disk had problem and could not be used since he borrowed.

Here's the problem that I found:

1. The External Hard Disk appear in the system tray when plug in my computer. However it does not show up in the Windows Explorer.

2. I tried to use Swiss Knife to partition and format the Harddisk. However when I click on the Hard Disk icon, the following error appear:
Quote:
Read/rite error
3. I then tried to use EaseUS Partition Master to partition and format the Hard Disk. To my surprise, the external hard disk showing:
Quote:
Basic MBR 2.00 TB / Unallocated 2.00 TB
I then tried to create a partition with 300 GB with NTFS file system. However the following error appear when format the partition:
Quote:
There are some error occurred while writing partition chains on disk.
Why the storage change from 1.00 TB to 2.00 TB? My friend told me that he did nothing with the hard disk. He never use the hard disk.

Is the problem caused by the "additional 1.00 TB"?

What is the problem with my external hard disk?

How can I create partition and format my external hard disk?

Thanks and best regards

Alex
alex298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
bigi
Golden Member
 
bigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,415
Default

Install ubuntu on USB stick and run Gparted. It'll show you all what is up with HDD and you will be able to format it properly assuming HDD works.
__________________
"I'm sick of being so healthy" - H.Simpson
bigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:58 AM   #3
hhhd1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 472
Default

If you have a receipt from when you bought it, make sure it matches the serial number

Check and see if it looked opened (harddisk replaced).

And make sure it doesn't have physical damage or scratches.
hhhd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
alex298
Junior Member
 
alex298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Hi all,

Thanks for your information.

Quote:
Install ubuntu on USB stick and run Gparted.
I cannot follow this. Could you please provide some guidelines for me?

Quote:
Can I ask what brand external you got ? We help you further.
This is 1TB Buffalo External Hard Disk. I purchased it some years ago and the warranty should be expired.

Best regards

Alex
alex298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 10:03 PM   #5
alex298
Junior Member
 
alex298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Hello,

Still waiting for a solution. It seems that many Partition software do not working in this situation.

Best regards
alex298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:32 PM   #6
murphyc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 235
Default

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

If it cannot partition the disk, it's physically hosed. I love this idea of opening up the case and checking the serial number, as if the friend did a drive swap. "OH yeah man I never used it, I just put my busted disk in and took yours, thanks!"

There's no reason for any partition tool to get the size of the disk wrong, it's very basic information. If you know for a fact it was 1TB, but now it's 2TB, the drive has been swapped.
murphyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:56 PM   #7
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,806
Default

windows XP
command line:
diskpart
list disk
(select the external disk it will never be disk 0 try it with out the disk attached then list the disk with it attached. The new number should be the external)
select disk 2 [EXAMPLE ONLY, you can wipe the wrong disk]
clean

Code:
Microsoft DiskPart version 6.1.7601
Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Microsoft Corporation.
On computer: Computer

DISKPART> list disk

  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
  Disk 0    Online          238 GB  1024 KB
  Disk 1    Online         2794 GB      0 B
  Disk 2    Online         1863 GB  1024 KB
  Disk 3    Online          931 GB      0 B

DISKPART> select disk 2

Disk 2 is now the selected disk.

DISKPART> clean

DISKPART> exit
This wipes off the MBR and destroys all partitions. You can format it disk manager or using diskpart.

Last edited by imagoon; 09-28-2012 at 03:58 PM.
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
kmmatney
Diamond Member
 
kmmatney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigi View Post
Install ubuntu on USB stick and run Gparted. It'll show you all what is up with HDD and you will be able to format it properly assuming HDD works.
Yeah - this is a bit confusing. Just boot from a GParted live CD, and see if it can find and format it. As said above, if this can;t do it, then something is really wrong with the disk.

It could be something wrong with the enclosure electronics - you may be able to pull out the drive, and connect it directly to a SATA port in a desktop computer.
__________________
Main Rig - Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
i5-3570K @ 4.2
Sapphire HD6850
Soyo Topaz 24" MVA LCD
Corsair TX650W PSU / Antec P182
256GB M4 SSD
kmmatney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.