Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2012, 03:31 PM   #1
sswingle
Diamond Member
 
sswingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 7,019
Default HDD firmware chip

Which of the chips on this board has the BIOS? I have it narrowed down to the two small ones that look the same.

The one on the bottom right says Winbond, I can't read the other one upper right.

http://www.storagereview.com/images/...en-pcb-top.jpg
sswingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:35 PM   #2
PottedMeat
Lifer
 
PottedMeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,376
Default

winbond makes serial eeproms so i'd guess that one, but to be sure look up the chip markings.


...assuming it isn't stored on the large LSI or texas instruments ASICs.
PottedMeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:47 PM   #3
sswingle
Diamond Member
 
sswingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 7,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PottedMeat View Post
winbond makes serial eeproms so i'd guess that one, but to be sure look up the chip markings.


...assuming it isn't stored on the large LSI or texas instruments ASICs.
Below the winbond marking I believe it says 25x40BLS09 1048

the other chip just has:

4184P
P051
sswingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:11 PM   #4
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 933
Default

Often the firmware is on a special area of the platter. Reason being is my motor controller went bad on a WD800JB. After swapping circuit boards with one that had a newer firmware, it never changed. So on that drive the firmware was on the platters.
__________________
-Main: Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-HTPC: Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Lappy: Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: G2020 | 8GB | 500GB WD Black (OS)| 2x Seagate 4TB | 2x Segate 2TB |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.