Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2012, 08:59 AM   #1
lifeblood
Senior Member
 
lifeblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 688
Default Real minimum SSD size

I just bought a WD 500Gb Black drive (I wanted the 5 year warranty) and am playing with the idea of a SSD as a boot drive. My question is, what is the true minimum size it must be to be practical?

I can get a 60Gb and that will hold Win7, Office, and a few games. But I have lots of games that a play on and off. Sometimes I'm in a L4D mood, other times Skyrim, other times I play shooters. Not all of them will fit on that 60Gb SSD. Thats fine, but then what have I really gotten? Windows and Office will boot super fast, but they don't boot slow now. Since I don't install, play, then delete games, I won't see the benefit of an SSD that much, or will I?

I know the answer is "get a 120Mb SSD", but I'm not made of money and I'm saving up for Piledriver if its good, or a new Intel MB and CPU if its not. The SSD is a side thought.

Anyone have experience to share about how a 60Gb or even a 120Gb is too small or big enough?
__________________
AMD FX-6350 || ASROCK 970 Extreame4 || 8Gb (2x4Gb) G.Skill DDR3 1600 || Sapphire 7850 || EVGA GT 610 ||Samsung 24" 1920x1080 LCD || Hanns-G 19" 1440x900 LCD || Corsair 600W 80+ PSU || Win7Pro 64 bit
lifeblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,033
Default

128 should have space for 4 or 5 games or if you can save enough, get a 256gb SSD. See what will be on sale on Black Friday.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:24 AM   #3
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,198
Default

even 40GB can hold windows and give you boost. I have 80GB on my win7 installation and it can hold few games. rest of them are installed on regular drive.
__________________
i7-3770, Intel DZ77SL-50K, VisionTek HD 7850, Dell 2707WFP, X25-M, X-Fi * PC Gamer Since 1991 *
postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #4
Vinwiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
Default

Get a 120gb, but don't worry about getting the fastest one out there. The cheaper ones with asynchronous memory are still 1000 times faster than a HDD with iops and only a little slower than the more expensive synchronous ssd's. A 60gb SSD is typically slower than a 120gb HDD as well. 120gb seems to have the best performance and gb/$ right now.
Vinwiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 568
Default

I would say to get a 128 and partition 32gb for RST but not on that board. I still would recommend a 128 thou.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
cantholdanymore
Senior Member
 
cantholdanymore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 423
Default

I have win7, open office, Firefox, virtual box with Ubuntu and win8, plus miscellaneous and I'm using 54GB of 120 drive. Still need to install PS. So I guess I could use a 64GB SSD, but I'm looking for an excuse ti buy a 256GB.
__________________
Fractal Design Define Mini using 2 front fans (fractal) and one rear (noctua), Asus Maximus IV gene-z, Intel 2500k, Noctua NH-D14, G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB, Samsung 840 pro 256Gb SSD, NZXT HALE90 750w, Firepro v4900, Asus BD burner, Seagate Barracude 2T.

Switching between 4.0GHz @ 1.2V and 4.6Ghz @1.30v.

4.9 stable using 1.46
cantholdanymore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 02:07 PM   #7
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,505
Default

For best performance in the long run, get a capacity that will not be more than aboutm 69% used.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"We all have private ails. The troublemakers are they who need public cures for their private ails." - Eric Hoffer
corkyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 02:14 PM   #8
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

How about a cache SSD? Roll your own if you have a supported Intel motherboard (Z68, Z77, H77?). Otherwise you can get a Crucial Adrenaline 50GB for $90 (probably Marvell controller) or OCZ Synapse 64GB for $100 (Sandforce). Both comes with 3rd party caching software.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:19 PM   #9
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,716
Default

128GB. The price difference between 128GB and 64GB isn't that much these days.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:37 PM   #10
hhhd1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 466
Default

Talking from experience:

64 are not that small,

it can hold OS + all little applications + few big applications or a game or two.

however the amount of extra space you would get for the price difference between 64 and 128 is HUGE

on 64gb == 25gb for OS, remains 39gb for your files
on 128gb == 25gb for OS, remains 103gb for your files

Important note: if you do get a small drive, enable NTFS compression
it increase read speed 'slightly' and give you an extra 10gb on the 60gb drive.

Last edited by hhhd1; 08-19-2012 at 03:39 PM.
hhhd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:41 PM   #11
ShintaiDK
Diamond Member
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 9,542
Default

128 minimum, recommend 256.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:45 PM   #12
Phynaz
Diamond Member
 
Phynaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hhhd1 View Post

Important note: if you do get a small drive, enable NTFS compression
it increase read speed 'slightly' and give you an extra 10gb on the 60gb drive.
Worst possible thing you could do. Current SSD's don't work well with incomprehensible data because they want to do the compression themselves.

All using NTFS compression is going to do is slow down the drive, to a very large extent.
Phynaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:49 PM   #13
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phynaz View Post
Worst possible thing you could do. Current SSD's don't work well with incomprehensible data because they want to do the compression themselves.

All using NTFS compression is going to do is slow down the drive, to a very large extent.
eh? Only Sandforce drives have on-board compression, Marvell or Samsung care not whether it's compressible or incompressible.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:56 PM   #14
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 22,881
Default

120-128GB is minimum recommended.
If you plan on reformatting and reloading every month or two, go for a 32GB model.
__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers

Last edited by Blain; 08-19-2012 at 04:00 PM.
Blain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:11 PM   #15
dmoney1980
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,821
Default

I have a 64gb Crucial SSD, it holds: Win7 x64, MS Office, NERO, Battlefield 3, and about 10 to 15 other small apps and utilities. I still have 14gb left.

remember to disable hybernate after you install the OS, it will free 5 to 8gb of space on your SSD
dmoney1980 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:53 AM   #16
shurato
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,398
Default

I have a 60gb SSD and I have Windows 7, BF3, SC2, and I have about 7gb left.
Steam on the other hand is on a 7200rpm drive and it's like 250gb. Definitely not enough wiggle room with a small SSD.

With that said I just ordered a 240gb SSD to replace. Moving the 60gb to the HTPC.
shurato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:09 AM   #17
Mr. Pedantic
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,705
Default

If I knew what I know now when I first bought my Vertex2, I would have gone for a 120GB or even 240GB drive, just for some wiggle room. I have space on my 60GB drive, but I can't install many games on it, I have to watch the space, and it's not enough space to hold any large temp files.
Mr. Pedantic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:30 AM   #18
LeftSide
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 129
Default

I used a 40gb SSD for a year, then upgraded to a 120gb. The 120 is definitly nice, but you can get by with smaller. I use steam mover to 'move' my games back and forth between the ssd and hd.

http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
you will never use more then 6GB (of memory) in your life
LeftSide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:43 AM   #19
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,536
Default

120gb at least...

i go with everyone's suggestion.

Been on 40's... been on 60's... 120 is a sweet spot unless ur an avid gamer... which then there is no large enough SSD, unless u have tons of money.
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #20
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,113
Default

I've gone from 64 to 128 to 256GB, but if I were just looking for a boot drive that woould also run one or two key apps, I'd go with 128GB minimum.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:01 PM   #21
Compman55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 848
Default

I got done placing an order for the samsung 830 120GB. It has great performance that the 60GB does not have and it was a great cost for what was included in the kit. Never spend more than $1 per GB, simply wait........

60GB is just too small for windows 7. Forget about it should you decide to try win8.
__________________
-Main | Fractal Arc Midi R2 | Z87-Pro | E3-1245V3 | 32GB | M500 240GB | Antec HCG-620m PSU | Win7x64 Pro | Dual Dell U2414H Borderless IPS Panels w/ MDS14 stand |
-Mac mini | P7550 2.26 | 8GB | 500GB 7K500 | OS X 10.6.8 | Win7x64 Ultimate |
-Dell Latitude D820 | C2D 2.0 | 2GB | 128GB Samsung 830 SSD | 15.4" WXGA | Win7 x86 Ultimate |
-Server: E6400 | 6GB | 74GB Raptor (OS)| 2x Seagate 2TB (RAID 1) | 500GB Segate (Backups) |
Compman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:38 PM   #22
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,536
Default

also note in some cases... RAID can help you if u have low cap SSD's.

For a while i was using 3 x 40's in Raid0....
However i had a 256giger for my games.

4 SSD's in an enclosure like this:

__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 03:08 PM   #23
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,585
Default

The crucial m4 128GB goes on sale for $75-80 every week or two. I recommend waiting around for the next deal on that and jumping on it. I bought one last week to pair up with the m4 128GB I bought last year. I found that 128GB was too small for just my programs and user data, so I can't honestly recommend smaller than that.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:21 PM   #24
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,236
Default

I'm getting by with an 80gb Intel SSD but it's just a little too small. I used to run 2 of them raided and found 160gb plenty enough to have several games loaded and never really have to think about space.

There are some things you can do to reduce the space Windows uses. I have system restore disabled, recycle bin reduced to about 1gb, Reduced my page file to 1gb, and removed my hibernation file.

Page file + hibernation file alone saved me 15gb as I have 8gb of ram.
Yuriman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:52 AM   #25
lifeblood
Senior Member
 
lifeblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 688
Default

I'm getting the feeling from everyone that 60Gb is "do-able" but in practical terms its just too small and the real minimum is 128Gb. I will probably wait until after Piledriver is released and see how much my upgrade or defection will cost, and if able I'll go for the 128Gb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftSide View Post
I use steam mover to 'move' my games back and forth between the ssd and hd.

http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover/
That looks like a nice piece of gear. Not all my games are steam but quite a few are, and this would definitely help out.
__________________
AMD FX-6350 || ASROCK 970 Extreame4 || 8Gb (2x4Gb) G.Skill DDR3 1600 || Sapphire 7850 || EVGA GT 610 ||Samsung 24" 1920x1080 LCD || Hanns-G 19" 1440x900 LCD || Corsair 600W 80+ PSU || Win7Pro 64 bit
lifeblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.