Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2008, 01:56 PM   #1
gizbug
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,551
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?


is this the recommend mode for receivers? Or should I stick with Pro Logic II Movie? I have a 5.1 system, running a sony STR-DG720.

When I set it to AFD Auto, I put on CBS HD to watch a football game, or HDNET to watch a concert on my ATT Uverse, and sound only comes from the front 2, and center speakers.
__________________
Samsung LN-T4661F FX/XAA Version: SX07
January 2008 Build
MODULE-TULPAUSC-1019, DATE:
MICOM: T-TULPAUSS-1011, ACL: T-TULPAUSG-1009
KERNEL:

STR-DG720 Sony Receiver

// XBOX 360 & Wii \\
__________________
I7 - 2600K | Gigabyte Z77-UD3H | G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Radeon HD 7970 | Asus Xonar DX | Windows 8.1

Follow me || http://twitter.com/JBoDEAN
gizbug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 03:31 PM   #2
3chordcharlie
Diamond Member
 
3chordcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9,583
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

AFD auto on sony receivers should give you the sound as encoded (so stereo signals are stereo, not treat as pro logic), with the exception that your crossover does function to run your sub (which it does not if you set '2ch' to listen to a stereo signal).

I leave my receiver on afd auto most of the time, unless I know I'm using a pro logic signal (very rare since I generally listen to music, and watch dvds that are all 5.1).

You should set the receiver to whatever sounds best to you.
__________________
Similes are like metaphors.
3chordcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 04:07 PM   #3
gizbug
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,551
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

Is there a reason that when set to AFD auto, I only have sound out of the fronts, center, and sub with my 5.1 setup?
Am I missing a setting somewhere?
__________________
I7 - 2600K | Gigabyte Z77-UD3H | G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Radeon HD 7970 | Asus Xonar DX | Windows 8.1

Follow me || http://twitter.com/JBoDEAN
gizbug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:11 PM   #4
3chordcharlie
Diamond Member
 
3chordcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9,583
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

That should only happen if there's nothing in the two rear channels (nothing in the incoming signal)
__________________
Similes are like metaphors.
3chordcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 10:39 PM   #5
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

On my 3.1 setup (TV for casual watching), I leave it set in the PLII Movie mode for the simple reason of always having the vocals come from the center channel. Sounds kind of strange (to me) when the vocals come from the left and right.

In my theater room, the receiver there is set to 'native' (the same as AFD Auto) meaning that it will play back in the number of channels it receives (I.e. 2, 2.1, 5.1, 1.0, etc)
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 11:37 PM   #6
gizbug
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,551
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

Thanks. Guess my DVR box from ATT Uverse doesnt do 5.1 over HDMI. So I ran an optical cable from the box to my receiver tonight. Still, with AFD Auto, only getting sound out of fronts and sub. I have to set it to PLII to get it out of all speakers for 5.1 No idea why =(
__________________
I7 - 2600K | Gigabyte Z77-UD3H | G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Radeon HD 7970 | Asus Xonar DX | Windows 8.1

Follow me || http://twitter.com/JBoDEAN
gizbug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:25 PM   #7
3chordcharlie
Diamond Member
 
3chordcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9,583
Default Question on setting A.F.D Auto - Is this recommended?

Do you get 5.1 from your dvd player's digital output when you set afd auto?
__________________
Similes are like metaphors.
3chordcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.