Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2012, 08:15 AM   #1
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,094
Default How to tell if Office2007 32bit or 64bit?

I'm running Win7 Pro.

I dont remember if i chose 32bit or 64bit Office 2007 when i installed it.

In Outlook, when I goto Help/About, i dont see if its 32bit or 64bit.

Also, does it matter if it's 32bit or 64bit if i'm doing basic Word and Excel?
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!
JEDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:57 AM   #2
gmaster456
Golden Member
 
gmaster456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,610
Default

Nope. It doesn't matter at all.
__________________
"Those that would trade essential liberty for temporary security deserve neither liberty nor security."-Ben Franklin
Woe to those who make unjust laws and to those who issue oppressive decrees. -Isaiah 10:1
Blaming guns for death is like blaming forks for obesity-Me

gmaster456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:19 AM   #3
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default

Also, I believe the first Office version to have a 64-bit installation option is Office 2010. You have to manually find it on the disc, or you'll end up with 32-bit.

Tangentially, if you're on Office 2007, there's a security Fix-It you should apply to address a current security vulnerability, more info here: http://blogs.technet.com/b/srd/archi...protected.aspx

It's also a good idea to add the Office File Validation patch, which helps prevent exploits from maliciously-constructed files: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=2807 (also works on Office 2003)

And it wouldn't hurt to install EMET 3.5, I posted some info about it here: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2260200
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:41 PM   #4
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEDI View Post
I'm running Win7 Pro.

I dont remember if i chose 32bit or 64bit Office 2007 when i installed it.

In Outlook, when I goto Help/About, i dont see if its 32bit or 64bit.

Also, does it matter if it's 32bit or 64bit if i'm doing basic Word and Excel?
You can always open taskmgr and see if Winword.exe says *32 or not by it's name. It doesn't matter unless you need 3rd party add-ons because most are still 32-bit and can't be used with 64-bit Office.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
Techtip
Junior Member
 
Techtip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

According to my Knowledge, There is not need to select 32 bit or 64 bit. I think, Office is equal for both
Techtip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 05:06 PM   #6
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechBgon View Post
Also, I believe the first Office version to have a 64-bit installation option is Office 2010. You have to manually find it on the disc, or you'll end up with 32-bit.

Tangentially, if you're on Office 2007, there's a security Fix-It you should apply to address a current security vulnerability, more info here: http://blogs.technet.com/b/srd/archi...protected.aspx

It's also a good idea to add the Office File Validation patch, which helps prevent exploits from maliciously-constructed files: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=2807 (also works on Office 2003)

And it wouldn't hurt to install EMET 3.5, I posted some info about it here: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2260200
wouldnt Windows Update get me all these security patches?
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!
JEDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 01:54 AM   #7
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEDI View Post
wouldnt Windows Update get me all these security patches?
No. There'll eventually be a proper patch to cover the vulnerability that the Fix-It takes care of, but in the meanwhile it's being actively exploited. I'm not 100% sure on OFV, it *might* be on Microsoft Update. EMET is something you definitely have to install and configure yourself.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 03:41 AM   #8
dinker99
Member
 
dinker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 77
Default

You look to see if it`s installed in Program Files or (X86).
dinker99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 02:40 PM   #9
JEDI
Lifer
 
JEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Somewhere between hare . . . . . & their
Posts: 20,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinker99 View Post
You look to see if it`s installed in Program Files or (X86).
x86.. thx..
so its 32bit but apparently doesnt matter


mechdgon: d/l the patches now.. THX!
__________________
Quote:
Irony: The new Virgin Mary aborted the 2nd coming of Christ in 2000
Happy 50th anniversay of JFK's assassination: I was there & saw the other Lone Gunmen on the Grassy Knoll. Elvis!!
-He got away with the kill but Marilyn Monroe got her revenge in a murder/suicide.
Proof God exists: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...06913729_n.png I blame Bush!
JEDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 03:46 PM   #10
Pardus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,822
Default



Pardus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 05:38 PM   #11
Ratman6161
Senior Member
 
Ratman6161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 347
Default Jedi is correct, there is no Office 2007 x64

The first version of Office where there was a separate 64 bit version was Office 20010. Therefore if you have 2007 you are by definition using 32 bit.

For anyone who has Office 2010 you have the version appropriate to your OS. I.e. if you have 64 bit windows, you have 64 bit Office 2010 too. If you try to install the wrong version for your OS you will get an error message and it won't let you do it (I've tried it using downloaded Technet versions just to see).

Also, if you are on 64 bit windows with 64 bit Office 2010, you will see a Microsoft Office folder in both program files and program files (x86).

As far as Windows update goes, once again you will automatically get the update versions appropriate to what you have installed.

Of course all that only matters for 2010 and later and is not relevant to 2007 which is always 32 bit even when installed on a 64 bit system/windows.
Ratman6161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:43 PM   #12
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman6161
For anyone who has Office 2010 you have the version appropriate to your OS. I.e. if you have 64 bit windows, you have 64 bit Office 2010 too. If you try to install the wrong version for your OS you will get an error message and it won't let you do it (I've tried it using downloaded Technet versions just to see).
Not true at all, I have 32-bit Office 2010 on multiple 64-bit Win7 machines. You can't install 64-bit Office on 32-bit Windows because 32-bit Windows can't run 64-bit binaries, but that's nothing MS can work around.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:08 PM   #13
ALIVE
Golden Member
 
ALIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lynched in the square
Posts: 1,452
Default

was not excel 64bit files unaccessible from the 32bit office version???
i though even microsoft in their sites recommended using the 32bit version for compatibility issues and the 64bit one if you really needed the new features.
ALIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 02:24 PM   #14
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALIVE View Post
was not excel 64bit files unaccessible from the 32bit office version???
No, there's no problem with that. I believe Microsoft's party line is to use 64-bit if you plan to work with gi-normous data sets that might call for the added address space, but to expect some add-ons to be incompatible.

The ASLR (address-space layout randomization) mitigation may benefit from 64-bit, since I seem to recall ASLR being limited to only 256 randomization options on 32-bit Windows. I recall Adobe noting the increase in ASLR space when they released their first 64-bit-compatible Flash Player. Anyhow, I've had no issues with 64-bit Office 2010, but the only add-ons I've installed are the Save As PDF/XPS add-on from Microsoft themselves.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #15
ALIVE
Golden Member
 
ALIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lynched in the square
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechBgon View Post
No, there's no problem with that. I believe Microsoft's party line is to use 64-bit if you plan to work with gi-normous data sets that might call for the added address space, but to expect some add-ons to be incompatible.

The ASLR (address-space layout randomization) mitigation may benefit from 64-bit, since I seem to recall ASLR being limited to only 256 randomization options on 32-bit Windows. I recall Adobe noting the increase in ASLR space when they released their first 64-bit-compatible Flash Player. Anyhow, I've had no issues with 64-bit Office 2010, but the only add-ons I've installed are the Save As PDF/XPS add-on from Microsoft themselves.
some features of the excel to accommodate more data
made the file not been able to be opened by a 32bit version
ALIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:30 PM   #16
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALIVE View Post
was not excel 64bit files unaccessible from the 32bit office version???
i though even microsoft in their sites recommended using the 32bit version for compatibility issues and the 64bit one if you really needed the new features.
Maybe if you have a spreadsheet with too many lines for the 32-bit version to handle, but otherwise I don't know of any incompatibilities between the two builds.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:26 PM   #17
LokutusofBorg
Golden Member
 
LokutusofBorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rocky Mtns, USA
Posts: 1,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
Not true at all, I have 32-bit Office 2010 on multiple 64-bit Win7 machines. You can't install 64-bit Office on 32-bit Windows because 32-bit Windows can't run 64-bit binaries, but that's nothing MS can work around.
This is exactly correct. The only way to install 64 bit Office is to go into the x64 folder on the CD and run setup from there. Someone up-thread mentioned this also. You do *not* get 64 bit Office automatically just because your OS is 64 bit.
LokutusofBorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.