Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2012, 03:37 PM   #1
JTsyo
Diamond Member
 
JTsyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 9,131
Default FF7 PC re-release

Looks like they made a mistake and had it up for a bit

Anyone know if this is just a re-release or did they improve the graphics and such? Even FF8 was a huge step up from FF7's graphics.
JTsyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,007
Default

On July 4, 2012, Square Enix revealed that a PC re-release is forthcoming. The official website lists 36 new achievements to be unlocked, a significant online component and a "Character Booster." The game will be available exclusively via the Square Enix store, although no release date has been confirmed

From what I understand it is the previously released PC version, just likely updated for compatibility with newer machines. It probably won't look much different than the original release, except maybe a bit sharper if you play at high resolutions.
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTsyo View Post
Looks like they made a mistake and had it up for a bit

Anyone know if this is just a re-release or did they improve the graphics and such? Even FF8 was a huge step up from FF7's graphics.
pretty sure its just a re-release.
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:38 PM   #4
kia75
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Default

I sure hope they fixed the bugs in the game, due to bugs I could never beat it.
kia75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 07:58 PM   #5
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,597
Default

The original pc release was buggy as hell. One thing I did like about it though was how you could make the music play using MIDI. Gave me something to feed to my roland midi synth for fun. lol. In the long run after dealing with bugs though, I think I ended up with an emulator to play the game on my pc as it was the most stable way to play.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Zorander
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anteaus View Post
It probably won't look much different than the original release, except maybe a bit sharper if you play at high resolutions.
In that case, it will still look terrible compared to anything released in the last decade.

I played the PC version back then (with the Rage3D patch for Hardware acceleration) and don't remember encountering any serious bugs. I definitely enjoyed the game very much. What issues were there?
Zorander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:37 PM   #7
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorander View Post
In that case, it will still look terrible compared to anything released in the last decade.

I played the PC version back then (with the Rage3D patch for Hardware acceleration) and don't remember encountering any serious bugs. I definitely enjoyed the game very much. What issues were there?
It's hard to recall, but I can remember upside down videos, certain parts of the game where it would lock up no matter what you do(I think you had to rely on a guide to do things in a specific order to avoid some bugs), sounds not being synced with animations, there was a problem with chocobo racing where the game would crash after the race... whatever else I can't remember.

I might be confusing some things with emulator problems though.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:45 PM   #8
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Yeah not falling for this. Last time i bought FF7 for PC i got stuck at the submarine part, i docked it and it glitched and docked a few feet away from where the dock was and i was unable to get back into it so could not continue on in the game.

Guess what tech supports answer was? To give me a save file on the other side of the water, with characters that were barely leveld and had crap money crap materia and were missing alot of the items you cannot go back and get later. How the hell is that a solution since i had played the game before and had missed nothing and had very well equiped team at the time.
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:46 PM   #9
Rifter
Diamond Member
 
Rifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kia75 View Post
I sure hope they fixed the bugs in the game, due to bugs I could never beat it.
so much this!!!!
__________________
i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz 1.35V -- Asus P6X58D-E -- Noctua NH-D14 -- Corsair XMS3 6GB 1600Mhz
SLI GTX 460 860Mhz -- Intel 120GB G2 SSD -- 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 1TB in RAID 0
Corsair 850w TX PSU -- Corsair 600T case -- WD Green 2TB -- Seagate LP 2TB

Oppan Gangnam style all up in this mother!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:38 PM   #10
fabiencolombo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 82
Default

What's the point of this re release when you can already make your game look like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e18Ay2kJE4
fabiencolombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:20 AM   #11
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabiencolombo View Post
What's the point of this re release when you can already make your game look like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e18Ay2kJE4

That's why I ended up using an emulator. You can upscale the resolution and apply a lot of post processing effects. If they did this as well as fix the bugs I'd consider buying it again though if I didn't own it on my PSP.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:25 AM   #12
fabiencolombo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalmah View Post
That's why I ended up using an emulator. You can upscale the resolution and apply a lot of post processing effects. If they did this as well as fix the bugs I'd consider buying it again though if I didn't own it on my PSP.

That one is actually the pc version
I tried both (pc and emulator) and finally decided the pc version was the best choice.
Why? Complete retextures ability to change character models and recompressed cinematics.
Cause, it doesn't matter how well your graphic filters work on epsxe, the cinematics still look like crap

And a ff7 with 20Gb of modding is a sight to behold
fabiencolombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:34 AM   #13
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabiencolombo View Post
That one is actually the pc version
I tried both (pc and emulator) and finally decided the pc version was the best choice.
Why? Complete retextures ability to change character models and recompressed cinematics.
Cause, it doesn't matter how well your graphic filters work on epsxe, the cinematics still look like crap

And a ff7 with 20Gb of modding is a sight to behold
Nice. I'd totally play it again if they did this officially and perhaps expanded on the game a bit. (throw in something like the card game from ff8)... or even better... expand on chocobo breeding/racing and make it more badass. Turn it multi player perhaps and deepen its complexity. Man, they could probably make a game all in its own just from this.

I remember staying up until 4am trying to beat that damn pirate ship in the battle arena over and over again. I was too young and dumb to understand the usefulness of equipment that made the (fling you out of the fight action) null. I think it was the ribbon that nullified it.
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:17 AM   #14
PowerYoga
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,307
Default

pretty sure they're not adding anything and this is just a repackaging, aka money grab.
__________________
Your mouse has moved. Windows will restart to make the necessary changes.
PowerYoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:24 AM   #15
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,244
Default

Securom.

No thank you.
Ferzerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:55 AM   #16
JTsyo
Diamond Member
 
JTsyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 9,131
Default

Remember the FF7 vids when the PS3 came out. What a tease.
JTsyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:44 AM   #17
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,447
Default

So.. if I wanted to play through FF7 again, what's the best way?

Original PC game plus mods?

Emulator? Which system? What emu's work on PC that have FF7 with most up to date graphics?
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:49 AM   #18
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTsyo View Post
Remember the FF7 vids when the PS3 came out. What a tease.
Lol yeah. They didn't even touch the game. All they did was take the original source video, sharpened it and encoded it with newer codecs. It doesn't take much to make it look better than the low resolution high compressed video included on the PS1 disc. The funny thing is it worked. They saw a bump in sales because of it, even though it was pure marketing.

Last edited by Anteaus; 08-08-2012 at 11:52 AM.
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:51 AM   #19
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBoyJK View Post
So.. if I wanted to play through FF7 again, what's the best way?

Original PC game plus mods?

Emulator? Which system? What emu's work on PC that have FF7 with most up to date graphics?
ePSX with the proper codecs and settings should get you the best experience as of now. There are tons of info out there about it. Until the updated PC version gets released, no one knows what type of quality jump there will be, if any.
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:59 PM   #20
festa_freak
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 134
Default

I'm on the fence about getting this. While I loved the original, I still own the pc version.

I think I was lucky. The game didn't freeze until the second phase (or so I think) phase of the last boss fight. I got past the chocobo's and other game ruining moments! Heck, I'll probably load up the old game and get all the mods out there to make it look better than this new version!
festa_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:01 PM   #21
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerYoga View Post
pretty sure they're not adding anything and this is just a repackaging, aka money grab.
im sure people will buy this crap, but i cant help to think that they would make more money if they just invested in actually re-making this game.

Doom 3 is gonna sell for like 30 bucks, and that didnt even need it. If they had all new graphics, and added some content (battle arena, challenge modes, etc) I would gladly pay 30 or so bucks for it.

Think about how many people have a attachments to this game. Do it over and do it right and TONS of people will buy.
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:07 PM   #22
diesbudt
Diamond Member
 
diesbudt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nvidiaguy07 View Post
im sure people will buy this crap, but i cant help to think that they would make more money if they just invested in actually re-making this game.

Doom 3 is gonna sell for like 30 bucks, and that didnt even need it. If they had all new graphics, and added some content (battle arena, challenge modes, etc) I would gladly pay 30 or so bucks for it.

Think about how many people have a attachments to this game. Do it over and do it right and TONS of people will buy.
They already said they will not remake or enhance FF7 until they believe they have made a better/more successful game in this series. Because they would rather not have it seen as FF7 being their one trick pony. or whatever they said.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phanuel View Post
If there was a train of logic, yours derailed about 7 stations back and you just hopped onto the tracks and started running down them in place of the train.
diesbudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:13 PM   #23
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diesbudt View Post
They already said they will not remake or enhance FF7 until they believe they have made a better/more successful game in this series. Because they would rather not have it seen as FF7 being their one trick pony. or whatever they said.
ouch its gonna be a pretty hard slap in the face when they probably sell more copies of this game than whatever garbage they come out with next. Maybe someday theyll do it.

For the record, loved 7, liked 8 more, never finished 9, although i heard it was very good. 10 was my favorite FF game, and was also the last i played/enjoyed. X-2 was awful, i tried 13, but lost interest. Random battles are a deal breaker for me.
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:16 PM   #24
diesbudt
Diamond Member
 
diesbudt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nvidiaguy07 View Post
ouch its gonna be a pretty hard slap in the face when they probably sell more copies of this game than whatever garbage they come out with next. Maybe someday theyll do it.

For the record, loved 7, liked 8 more, never finished 9, although i heard it was very good. 10 was my favorite FF game, and was also the last i played/enjoyed. X-2 was awful, i tried 13, but lost interest. Random battles are a deal breaker for me.
Never played 7
Liked 8
Loved 9 and 10 (10-2 was ok at best, interesting is a better term for that)
Never played 11 the MMO
Didn't care for 12s new active fighting style and quick BOOM 1 shot summons to kill bosses.
Never played anything beyond 12
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phanuel View Post
If there was a train of logic, yours derailed about 7 stations back and you just hopped onto the tracks and started running down them in place of the train.
diesbudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:27 PM   #25
JTsyo
Diamond Member
 
JTsyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 9,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diesbudt View Post
They already said they will not remake or enhance FF7 until they believe they have made a better/more successful game in this series. Because they would rather not have it seen as FF7 being their one trick pony. or whatever they said.
One trick pony? how about the ones that came before? FF6 was awesome.
JTsyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.