Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2012, 12:25 PM   #1
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default i7 3770 turbo overclocking

Hi all!

Last week i bought a i7 3770 (non-k) and a Asus P8Z77-V LX, i got the non-k version because it was the only avaible, and i live in a place where finding a 3770 and a z77 board is a miracle.

well, i read that the only way to overclock a non-k SB/IB CPU is via modyfing turbo multiplier, so i did it via BIOS and got a 41 stable multiplier even on full load using prime95, ok, that's nice, but i wanted more, and i changed every core multiplier to 43 (max) but i noticed that when i run prime95 the processor goes up to 43 just for a second and then goes back to 41 and holds there.

Here are some pictures of my BIOS and OS config

http://sdrv.ms/OtsWvy


in the last picture you can see the CPU runing @4,3ghz on 2 thread tortute test. Is there any way to mantain my multiplier at 43 on full load?



BTW, memories are Corsair vengeance 1600 and i have the lastest BIOS installed.



Thanks!
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:46 PM   #2
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,045
Default

Actually, while you can overclock using the multiplier, it's very limited - you're understanding is not quite correct. It is the 3770k that is able to be overclocked using the multiplier without restrictions.

By the way, you have set a cpu overclock in Turbo V Evo for only a single core (you have to check "group tuning"). But you'll never be able to get to 43 on that processor anyway. I believe the highest multiplier that will work for the 3770 non-k is 39 on all cores, and 43 on single core.

Basically, you're already at your max overclock, and you might as well set the cores to 39, rather than 43, since that won't actually have any effect.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!

Last edited by Termie; 08-02-2012 at 01:57 PM.
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Actually, the max overclock you can get in a non-k i5, i7 CPU is the max turbo multiplier +4 bins, so a 3770 (3,9 max turbo) should be able to reach 4,3ghz at one core mode, but since ASUS has a feature named "Asus multicore enhacement" (gigabyte and asrock have features like this one) i should be able to get 4,3 ghz on all 4 cores at full load, but i just can't, i'm stuck at 4,1ghz, that's why i'm asking if i have to change something in the BIOS to work with the max multiplier.

Thanks for your time

Last edited by xusky69; 08-02-2012 at 02:49 PM.
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:59 PM   #4
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xusky69 View Post
Actually, the max overclock you can get in a non-k i5, i7 CPU is the max turbo multiplier +4 bins, so a 3770 (3,9 max turbo) should be able to reach 4,3ghz at one core mode, but since ASUS has a feature named "Asus multicore enhacement" (gigabyte and asrock have features like this one) i should be able to get 4,3 ghz on all 4 cores at full load, but i just can't, i'm stuck at 4,1ghz, that's why i'm asking if i have to change something in the BIOS to work with the max multiplier.

Thanks for your time
The multicore enhancement only takes you to 3.9. It simply runs all four cores at what would normally be the single core turbo. I don't think you can add on to what that already does, so no, you can't reach 4.3 on that CPU. You're running at 4.1 because you're turboing only two cores.

Neither Asus nor anyone else can get around the fact that these are locked processors. All Asus is doing is giving you the four turbo bins that you could have gotten on your own per Intel's specifications for non-k chips.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 03:43 PM   #5
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
The multicore enhancement only takes you to 3.9. It simply runs all four cores at what would normally be the single core turbo. I don't think you can add on to what that already does, so no, you can't reach 4.3 on that CPU. You're running at 4.1 because you're turboing only two cores.


Runing stress test on 8 threads @ 4.1ghz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Neither Asus nor anyone else can get around the fact that these are locked processors. All Asus is doing is giving you the four turbo bins that you could have gotten on your own per Intel's specifications for non-k chips.
Asrock No-k overclock can run the 3770 at 4.3ghz on 4 core mode, and as i understante Asus can do the same.

Last edited by xusky69; 08-02-2012 at 03:50 PM.
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 03:47 PM   #6
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
The multicore enhancement only takes you to 3.9. It simply runs all four cores at what would normally be the single core turbo. I don't think you can add on to what that already does, so no, you can't reach 4.3 on that CPU. You're running at 4.1 because you're turboing only two cores.


Runing stress test on 8 threads @ 4.1ghz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Neither Asus nor anyone else can get around the fact that these are locked processors. All Asus is doing is giving you the four turbo bins that you could have gotten on your own per Intel's specifications for non-k chips.
Asrock No-k overclock can run the 3770 at 4.3ghz on 4 core mode, and as i understante Asus can do the same.
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:04 PM   #7
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,045
Default

Uninstall Turbo V Evo, restart, set Bios at 4.1, restart, and show a screenshot of CPUz while running the stress test. I'm almost positive you'll be at 3.9. As I noted before, the way you overclocked in Turbo V was incorrect and only overclocked a single core. That's why it's showing 4.1, despite the fact that 3 cores are running at 3.9.

This is what I'm talking about: https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=baa27...2D9AD35B%21152

You have to click on "group tuning".
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!

Last edited by Termie; 08-02-2012 at 04:12 PM.
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:12 PM   #8
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default






Asus hates me.
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:32 PM   #9
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,045
Default

Wow - it looks like it's possible after all. What happens if you set it at 42 or 43, again using the BIOS rather than Turbo V Evo?

Honestly, 4.1 is a pretty nice overclock for a non-k chip. You're already at the speed of a 2600k@4.4.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!

Last edited by Termie; 08-02-2012 at 05:34 PM.
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:49 PM   #10
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Wow - it looks like it's possible after all. What happens if you set it at 42 or 43, again using the BIOS rather than Turbo V Evo?

Honestly, 4.1 is a pretty nice overclock for a non-k chip. You're already at the speed of a 2600k@4.4.
Thanks

When i set the multiplier to 42 or 43 via BIOS it works at 4200/4300 at one core mode, but when i run the 4 core stress test it drops back to 41, i don't know if it's possible to get constant 43 somehow, it would be nice.
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:56 PM   #11
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 7,045
Default

Sounds like that's the limit of your CPU/motherboard.

By the way, your voltage is running at above stock - you should be able run at 4.1 on stock voltage, which is usually between 1.14v and 1.17v depending on the chip.
__________________
Work: 3770K | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | 290 Tri-X | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 780 Ti | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus VG248QE
HTPC: 4690K@4.0 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | HD7870 | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building small? See Project ITX at The Tech Buyer's Guru!
What's the best gaming CPU? See TBG's Pentium vs. Core i3/i5/i7!
Termie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 06:05 PM   #12
xusky69
Junior Member
 
xusky69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
Sounds like that's the limit of your CPU/motherboard.

By the way, your voltage is running at above stock - you should be able run at 4.1 on stock voltage, which is usually between 1.14v and 1.17v depending on the chip.
Yeah, now is set to 1,15

thanks!
xusky69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:31 AM   #13
pizzlemynizzle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Default I may have a solution for you

In your BIOS under CPU power management, you will have to increase the power limits or the CPU will throttle itself down. Anything with a limit set it to 200. I believe you can leave the duration at AUTO. Anyway, I have a 2500K and if you don't raise the power limits it throttles down, and that's an unlocked processor. But wow! If you can overclock this to 4.3 GHz, then I can't see how you can justify paying $30-$40 more for the unlocked version. Especially with the heat issues when you overclock it beyond that speed. I hope this works for you.
pizzlemynizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.