Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,138
Default Mouse freezing while web browsing?

Anyone experience any freezing while web browsing? What happens for me is that the mouse becomes unresponsive...although my keyboard is fine. It happens most often in Firefox, but sometimes in IE as well (although Firefox may have been open in the background when it freezes in IE). I have updated to the latest version of Firefox.

My mouse is connected to my monitor usb port and is using the DVI port on my 6950. This seems to have only started happening within the last month so it wasn't because of a driver change since I am using Cats 12.1 and those were installed soon after they came out. I can shut off my monitor and turn it on again and everything is fine. Every other function (gaming, etc) is totally fine.

I'm wondering if it's anything video card related? Or maybe browser related?
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:25 PM   #2
Arkadrel
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,676
Default

Sounds like a software issue, not related to your graphics card at all.

1) try useing your mouse, not via the usb port on your monitor that hooks backup to your pc via the DVI port.
(hook it up to a usb port on your motherboard)

2) If you updated firefox, that could be why your suddenly faceing this issue (sometimes new means = new problems)
Arkadrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
dust
Golden Member
 
dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 2518'N;5520'E
Posts: 1,288
Default

It was this sort of crap that steered me from Firefox! Chrome isn't at all perfect but IMO >Firefox in every way I need it to be.
__________________
My grammar sucks!

"I have opinions of my own, strong opinions, but I don't always agree with them"- G. Boosh
dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 04:56 PM   #4
hdfxst
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 835
Default

firefox 14.0.1 does it for me to,freezes for about 30 seconds.it has something to do with flash.i haven't tried the latest beta but it's supposed to fix it. http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2258441
__________________
X4 955@3.8-1.35V|MSI 870s-g54|Sapphire 5850@900/1200 and 5830@1000/1200 Xfire |8GB. Gskill Ripjaws DDR3 1333|Corsair 650TX|antec 300
hdfxst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 05:08 PM   #5
f1sherman
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dust View Post
It was this sort of crap that steered me from Firefox! Chrome isn't at all perfect but IMO >Firefox in every way I need it to be.
haha yes

Back in the day, FF was crashing on me regularly.
So I switched to Opera, which was a tank compared to FF.
Then a year ago I went to test Chrome........and never went back.

@thilanliyan

Why post this in VC subforum
f1sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,138
Default

Thanks everyone for the responses.

@f1sherman,

I was wondering if it could maybe be a video card issue...I just wasn't sure.
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:09 PM   #7
thilanliyan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,138
Default

I updated Firefox to the latest beta but it was doing the same thing.

I then changed my CPU overclock back from a stock+turbo to a straight overclock and things seem better now. There is an occasional stutter but it doesn't freeze outright.

I will update the thread later if this fix seems to work permanently.
__________________
Intel 4670k
Asus Z87-Expert
8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
3x7950 3gb (mining)
Corsair HX1050 Gold
thilanliyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:47 PM   #8
BFG10K
Lifer
 
BFG10K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 20,411
Default

Thread moved because it doesn't appear to be related to graphics cards - Super Moderator BFG10K.
__________________
4790K | Titan | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Z97-K | 128GB Samsung 830 | 960GB Crucial M500 | 1TB VelociRaptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Seasonic X 560W | Fractal Arc R2 Midi | 30" HP LP3065
BFG10K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.