Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Angry ERROR: "Display driver stopped responding..."

I just built a new computer. After installing and updating Windows 7 Home Premium the screen will randomly go black for a split second and return with the error message:

"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered. Display driver Intel Graphics Accelerator Drivers for Windows 7(R) stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

After several of these occurrences the computer will simply crash, requiring a hard reboot. Relevant parts:

CPU = Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard = GA-H77-DS3H

There is no graphics card installed, as the system was built to run on the integrated Intel HD 4000 graphics. The newest Intel HD 4000 driver was installed as part of the Windows update process - it did not fix the error.

Suggestions are GREATLY appreciated. Also, let me know if you need more info than I've provided.
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:55 PM   #2
HeianJodan
Member
 
HeianJodan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 56
Default

There is a similar issue with nvidia graphics cards going on for a while now. It will happen a lot when browsing the internet on Firefox. Look up nvidia drivers stop working on Google and you will see a lot of related information.
HeianJodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:57 PM   #3
WT
Diamond Member
 
WT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,163
Default

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2238234

Earlier thread on this.
__________________
For long you live and high you fly.. And smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry.. And all you touch and all you see.. Is all your life will ever be.

Heat - One man's FS is another man's WTB
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:58 PM   #4
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Default

I'm not sure that the two problems are in any way related (dedicated Nvidia GPU failure vs. integrated graphics with up-to-date driver).
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Last edited by JackSpadesSI; 06-27-2012 at 05:07 PM.
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Default

Full parts list:

CPU = Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard = GIGABYTE GA-H77-DS3H
Memory = Mushkin Blackline 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600
PSU = Corsair 430W CX430 V2
HDD = WD Caviar Black 1TB WD1002FAEX
OS = Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Monitor = ASUS VH236H 23" 1080p
Optical Drive = LITE-ON iHAS424-98 DVD-Burner
Keyboard = Microsoft Wired 200
Mouse = Microsoft Wired Optical 3000
Card Reader = Rosewill RDCR-11003 USB 3.0
FireWire Card = SYBA PCI SD-COMBO-02
eSATA Bracket = Tripp Lite 952-002
Case = COOLER MASTER Elite 330 RC-330U-KKN1
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 07:24 PM   #6
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,241
Default

Try edit the TDR value in the link above on page 2. And possible uninstall anything that interferes with the GFX driver. Sensoring SW etc.

And try see if Intels downloadcenter got a newer driver. And make sure the BIOS on your board is updated. It contains the GFX ROM.
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums

Last edited by ShintaiDK; 06-27-2012 at 07:30 PM.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:27 PM   #7
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Newest driver from Windows Update != Newest driver

I second Shintai's recommendation of getting the latest driver package straight from Intel.
mfenn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:37 PM   #8
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Newest driver from Windows Update != Newest driver

I second Shintai's recommendation of getting the latest driver package straight from Intel.
I recently tried that (you're right that Intel had a newer version than Windows Update did) but it didn't help.
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:20 PM   #9
Infraction Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 239
Default

This happens to me sometimes with my 7750 if I have too much stuff going on at once. An example would be playing LoL, having a video paused in VLC, firefox and 20 tabs open. I think it might be some problem with windows 7 since this seems to happen with many different video cards and driver sets.
Infraction Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:23 PM   #10
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infraction Jack View Post
This happens to me sometimes with my 7750 if I have too much stuff going on at once. An example would be playing LoL, having a video paused in VLC, firefox and 20 tabs open. I think it might be some problem with windows 7 since this seems to happen with many different video cards and driver sets.
Well, it isn't a case of having too much running for me. This is a computer with ONLY Windows 7 on it.
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:50 PM   #11
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI View Post
I recently tried that (you're right that Intel had a newer version than Windows Update did) but it didn't help.
That sucks. Here are a couple of long shots:
- Use memtest to see if you have bad memory
- Check to make sure the CPU is properly seated in the socket with no bent pins
mfenn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:42 AM   #12
jobz
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 117
Default

Oh gawd, I have the same f*cking annoying problem!

In my case, Win7 64-bit ran great on Asrock H67-GE (hd 2000) for nearly a year. Then same black screen problem started to appear 2 or 3 months ago. At first, it appeared so intermittently and problem would go away after a while, I simply ignored it. But now in recent weeks, screen goes black and then reappears after each cold boot. This happens several times in first hour, then problem goes away!

Tried drivers from asrock, intel and windows update. Reattached cables. Swapped dvi to vga cable. All to no avail.

Pls help. Sorry to hijack your thread, Jack.
jobz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:52 PM   #13
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobz View Post
Pls help. Sorry to hijack your thread, Jack.
See post #11 for suggestions.
mfenn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:12 AM   #14
JackSpadesSI
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 636
Default

So I fixed the problem... in a way... by throwing money at it.

I bought and installed a ATI Radeon HD 6450 1GB GPU. It works great, as I assume it bypasses all issues involving the Intel HD 4000 integrated graphics.

Oh well, at least the computer runs fine now!
__________________
Intel C2D E8500 3.16 GHz, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Mushkin 4GB DDR2 800, Sapphire "TOXIC" Radeon HD 4870 1GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Corsair TX750W, Samsung 2433BW 24" 1920x1200 LCD, Cooler Master Centurion 534, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #15
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,449
Default

Well, the good news is that you now have a working computer. The bad news is that it took the application of money to fix it. Unless this is some sort of really weird driver bug, I'm betting that you have a borderline flaky mobo or CPU (probably mobo).
mfenn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:43 PM   #16
GrumpyMan
Diamond Member
 
GrumpyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,915
Default

Did you have Lucid Virtu installed?
GrumpyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 01:41 AM   #17
jobz
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI View Post
So I fixed the problem... in a way... by throwing money at it.

I bought and installed a ATI Radeon HD 6450 1GB GPU. It works great, as I assume it bypasses all issues involving the Intel HD 4000 integrated graphics.

Oh well, at least the computer runs fine now!
Good for you.

I reinstalled oem driver that came with the mb, and black screen still appears but less frequently than before, and mostly goes away after an hour or so. I don't play games so I really don't want to install a graphics card if I don't have to.
jobz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:36 AM   #18
Mr.D.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Thumbs down

This is for sure a driver issue with the HD4000. See this thread at Intel.

The only solution is the throw good money after bad and buy a video card. I wish I could say that we could wait for Intel to fix the bug, but they clearly don't give a damn as this thread is months old and is related to their premier ivybridge chipset.
Mr.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:11 PM   #19
Jader88
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 91
Default

I fixed the (Display driver stopped responding) by replacing a bad Ram module I had. The problem was not caused by the video card on my system.
Jader88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:29 AM   #20
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jader88 View Post
I fixed the (Display driver stopped responding) by replacing a bad Ram module I had. The problem was not caused by the video card on my system.
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.