Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Post receiver keeps shutting off

ok i have a Yamaha HTR-5940 and when i turn the voulme up its shuts off and says check sp wire. i checked all the wires but still keeps happening what do i do ?
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:46 PM   #2
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,035
Default

Sounds like an impedance mismatch, which is causing the amp to run too hard and overheat. Check your speakers to make sure they Ohm loads are appropriate for the output.

Are you running more than one speaker per channel?
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:52 PM   #3
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

i have a 5.1 setup and all the speakers are 8 OHMs and i don't think its a overheating issue because its not getting hot at all ?
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:22 PM   #4
Anarchist420
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8,591
Default

I guess their could be a short in the speaker wire.
__________________
If thomas Jefferson = 2, then A Jackson = 1; A Hamilton A Hitler and A Lincoln = -1; WWilson neocons = -2
Anarchist420 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:24 PM   #5
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

has to be a short somewhere. disconnect all cables from receiver and speaker, connect one speaker (without removing last) at a time and test.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:39 PM   #6
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

ok will try
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

ok i tried but didn't help.... does it matter what kind of speaker wire to use because im using 18 gauge speaker wire
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:37 PM   #8
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,400
Default

1) edit: nvm, you bought the KLH HT-9900
did you make sure to connect the 2 fronts to the subwoofer? and the subwoofer to the front left right outputs on the receiver?
http://forums.anandtech.com/showpost...5&postcount=15

-----
2) ? it didn't help?
so the first speaker you connected returned the check speaker wire error?

have you tried just connecting the front speakers?

the maximum theoretical distance based on resistance and wire gauge
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speaker_wire#Wire_gauge
do any of your wires approach or exceed 32ft?

most places recommend much shorter distances (see Table 1) [though as explained in the wiki, you can run longer than this, you'll just have worse sound output)
http://www.audioholics.com/education...er-cable-gauge
you might want to use 16 gauge for your surrounds

what speakers are you using?
I think this might apply: as volume/output power increases, impedance decreases
i think i've heard that some 8 ohm speakers will actually drop below 8 ohms under certain conditions
http://www.bcae1.com/spkrimp.htm

Last edited by fralexandr; 06-20-2012 at 08:05 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:43 PM   #9
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
ok i tried but didn't help.... does it matter what kind of speaker wire to use because im using 18 gauge speaker wire

what about no wires connected to receiver? does it complain?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:44 PM   #10
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

i think one exceeds 32FT and others are close

Last edited by Durvelle27; 06-20-2012 at 07:47 PM.
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:51 PM   #11
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
i think one exceeds 32FT and others are close
just get some 12ga and call it a day do not buy expensive wires.

Home Depot has speaker wires that are reasonably priced. The cut length ones, not the ones already in a spindle or roll.

I think it was 2 dollars a metre for 12ga if I remember correctly.

or use 12ga romex if you have spare wiring about and don't mind the stiffness and white shell.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca

Last edited by sdifox; 06-20-2012 at 07:54 PM.
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:54 PM   #12
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

i got my speaker wire from walmart and all that have is 14 gauge, 16 gauge, and 18 gauge copper speaker wire
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:55 PM   #13
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
i got my speaker wire from walmart and all that have is 14 gauge, 16 gauge, and 18 gauge copper speaker wire
walmart is pretty expensive for wires.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...Number=100-025

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=100-113

or check your local electronics hobby store.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca

Last edited by sdifox; 06-20-2012 at 08:00 PM.
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:57 PM   #14
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

100' for 8 but what's a good place you suggest ?
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:02 PM   #15
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
100' for 8 but what's a good place you suggest ?
100' of 18GA for 8 bux is actually not bad. what is their price for 14?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:03 PM   #16
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

like $12
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:04 PM   #17
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Metra-S12-...e-100/21015919

the 100' of 14GA is not bad for 12 bux. as long as it is labelled oxygen free copper.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca

Last edited by sdifox; 06-20-2012 at 08:09 PM.
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:11 PM   #18
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

would this do because they actually carry this in my local walmart

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Scosche-14...Spool/14667126
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:13 PM   #19
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
would this do because they actually carry this in my local walmart

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Scosche-14...Spool/14667126

good god no. no wonder it's so cheap. It ain't copper .

Copper clad aluminum means the core is aluminum, there is a layer of copper outside it.


the walmart 12ga one I linked to will ship to your store free. you just have to wait a bit.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca

Last edited by sdifox; 06-20-2012 at 10:18 PM.
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:14 PM   #20
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,035
Default

Do you have a multimeter? Check the Ohms at both the speaker and at the end of the wires before they enter the reciever. It's possible the problem is the wire or even one of the speakers. It's unlikely that your speaker wire is causing these issues unless they are damaged or shorted, even at 18 gauge. It's still a good idea to swap it out for better stuff, but I doubt it will actually fix the problem unless you happen to replace a bad wire.

Your reciever is telling you there is an impedance issue which is causing an imbalance. Good luck.
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:19 PM   #21
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

no i don't have a multimeter and i wouldn't think there the speakers as they are new.
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:53 PM   #22
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,400
Default

why CCA is BAD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJt6C...eature=g-all-u
copper vs CCA (in a car audio situation)
from this thread
http://www.caraudioforum.com/showthread.php?t=341089

also did you see my edit?
edit: nvm, you bought the KLH HT-9900
did you make sure to connect the 2 fronts to the subwoofer? and the subwoofer to the front left right outputs on the receiver?
http://forums.anandtech.com/showpost...5&postcount=15

Last edited by fralexandr; 06-20-2012 at 09:18 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:14 PM   #23
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

no i'm not using the included sub have the speakers hooked straight to the receiver
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:41 PM   #24
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

well that means i'll have to wait till next month to get the copper speaker wire sense my budget is low from my pc build ?
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:53 PM   #25
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 54,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
well that means i'll have to wait till next month to get the copper speaker wire sense my budget is low from my pc build ?
30 bux?????

next month is only 10 days away
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.