Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2012, 06:09 PM   #1
Xpage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 392
Default HTPC with ATT Uverse

Is it possible to run a coaxial cable from the att uverse standard (non DVR) receiver to my HTPC box (which has a digital and analogue tuner) to use Windows media center to act as a DVR?

I had a nice htpc setup on my last cable company but I am not sure if I can do this on ATT Uverse. What i read on the internets seems to say no but i see few people actually using the ATT uverse receivers
__________________
---Current Rig---
SB 2500K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P8P67, 2x2 GB, 64GB OCZ Agility SSD, 320GB WD 2500KS backup drive, 6950 @ stock atm
Everything watercooled, custom WC on the GPU.

---Last PC Build---
Opteron 165 @ stock volts @ 2.7ghz, FSB 300 2/3 divider, 2x1GB Patriot DDR 2-3-2-5 1T, RAID 0: 2x WD 2500KS (250gb 16mb cache), Evga 7900 GT @ 580/850 on stock voltage, Everything Watercooled. oh yeah!

RISE OF KINGDOMS - It's my baby
Heatware
EBay
Xpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:15 PM   #2
BoomerD
Lifer
 
BoomerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Where I hang my hat.
Posts: 44,983
Default

http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38
BoomerD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
RichieZ
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 6,330
Default

no you can't, uverse is IPTV so it won't work with your tuners
__________________
Heatware 115-0-0
RichieZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
Xpage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 392
Default

nuts. Thank you for informing me
__________________
---Current Rig---
SB 2500K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P8P67, 2x2 GB, 64GB OCZ Agility SSD, 320GB WD 2500KS backup drive, 6950 @ stock atm
Everything watercooled, custom WC on the GPU.

---Last PC Build---
Opteron 165 @ stock volts @ 2.7ghz, FSB 300 2/3 divider, 2x1GB Patriot DDR 2-3-2-5 1T, RAID 0: 2x WD 2500KS (250gb 16mb cache), Evga 7900 GT @ 580/850 on stock voltage, Everything Watercooled. oh yeah!

RISE OF KINGDOMS - It's my baby
Heatware
EBay
Xpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:54 PM   #5
SMOGZINN
Diamond Member
 
SMOGZINN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichieZ View Post
no you can't, uverse is IPTV so it won't work with your tuners
Wait, if it has already gone though the receiver then it has been transformed into a signal the TV can understand right? If so then the tuner in you HTPC is no different then the tuner in your TV and the AT&T Uverse receiver shouldn't even be able to tell the difference.
__________________
"The open society, the unrestricted access to knowledge, the unplanned and uninhibited association of men for its furtherance? These are what may make a vast, complex, ever-growing, ever-changing, ever more specialized and expert technological world nevertheless a world of human community." - J. Robert Oppenheimer
SMOGZINN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.