Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
Shawn
Lifer
 
Shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 32,093
Unhappy Can't login to Windows 7 after running Windows Updates. Password incorrect???

I ran the latest updates today after having it bug me for a few weeks to do updates. After restarting I got the error the user name or password is incorrect.

I know the password is correct because it was setup to automatically log me in at boot up. But it will no longer accept it and if I try to enter it manually is keeps telling me incorrect password. If I try to log in as administrator is says the administrator account is disabled.

I tried safe mode and the recovery console and both require a password to login so I can't roll back to a previous version.

Please help!
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
Icecold
Senior Member
 
Icecold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn View Post
I ran the latest updates today after having it bug me for a few weeks to do updates. After restarting I got the error the user name or password is incorrect.

I know the password is correct because it was setup to automatically log me in at boot up. But it will no longer accept it and if I try to enter it manually is keeps telling me incorrect password. If I try to log in as administrator is says the administrator account is disabled.

I tried safe mode and the recovery console and both require a password to login so I can't roll back to a previous version.

Please help!
Ophcrack live cd?
__________________
My heatware, username icecold
Icecold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
0___________0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
Default

If you have/can get the Windows installation disc, I believe you can use it to do a system restore by choosing Recovery Options, should be listed once you select that.

I've also heard of this recommended: http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/ You just make a bootable disc with the iso file on it and make it highest priority in the boot order.
0___________0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:07 PM   #4
sygyzy
Lifer
 
sygyzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,001
Default

No offense but are you positive you are typing it in correctly? I have never heard of a windows update or bug that just removes or changes your password. Don't touch type - enter each character manually.
__________________
Peace!
Sygyzy
joshspear
The Perfect Cup of Tea (How-To)
sygyzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:46 PM   #5
Shawn
Lifer
 
Shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 32,093
Default

I was able to do a restore from before the updates using the install cd. Don't know how it got messed up, but the password worked again after I did that. I was able to reinstall the updates, this time without my password getting messed up.

Very strange indeed.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 10:26 PM   #6
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,830
Default

Wierd issue ????
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 07:01 AM   #7
ericloewe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 258
Default

Definitely the weirdest Windows Update issue I've heard of...
ericloewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 05:46 PM   #8
kennyja2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I had the exact same problem. This tip fixed it for me.

Start > Run>regsvr32 shgina.dll [enter] – Log off and see if you can now enter your password.
kennyja2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 07:04 PM   #9
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

ophcrack live cd is awesome
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 09:58 AM   #10
Legios
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
ophcrack live cd is awesome
I once had to use it on a new install when there was debris under a keyboard key and it didnt log the keystroke. I was able to crack the password and then figure out my "A" click didnt register, Twice.
Legios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 10:02 AM   #11
holden j caufield
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 5,402
Default

I've seen this issue on a pc that wasn't properly shutdown. Now I always make a 2nd admin account just in case.
__________________
Heatware rating 43-0 since 1997
holden j caufield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:21 AM   #12
narryed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Do you know the reasons why this happended to your computer?
I suggest you can check the reasons fisrt and then use some programs like Windows Boot Genius to fix which has the 40+ repair tools. You can google its name, you also can use other programs

Last edited by Harvey; 07-09-2014 at 12:21 PM.
narryed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 02:36 PM   #13
ArtShapiro
Member
 
ArtShapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyja2 View Post
I had the exact same problem. This tip fixed it for me.

Start > Run>regsvr32 shgina.dll [enter] – Log off and see if you can now enter your password.
But it the OP can't log on in the first place, and apparently only has the one user account, how can he run the regserver?

As an aside, I always keep a spare valid local account on all my machines, figuring accounts get mangled more than Windows itself.
ArtShapiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 02:39 PM   #14
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,426
Default

I never password protect the account. I have Truecrypt.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:57 PM   #15
alkemyst
No Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Corner of EPIC and ÅWESOME ST.
Posts: 83,994
Default

ophcrack or a similar Linux boot environment is going to be the easiest.

You won't get your password, but you can set a password and / or make an account active.

Once you know how to use it, you can get into locked PC's in under 5 mins.
__________________
The Masamune blade would repel the leaves and let them flow safely down the stream, while the Murasame blade would attract and cut them up.
alkemyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 06:01 PM   #16
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,426
Default

I have used this and like it better. http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 09:50 PM   #17
vsglobal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Oh how things stay the same. I've been trying to do a restore on a friends Win 7 Home pc and all the updates go fine until after a couple hundred (it's an OLD machine and there have been a million OS updates) when it decides it no longer likes my password. Can't get to a command line or a restore. So I did a complete recovery - twice now. Same thing. I've either got to find someone with a much newer Win 7 (and SPs) or hack the password. I don't understand how to use the .iso file of PNH (Conner's advice above).
vsglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:07 PM   #18
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,426
Default

Do you know how to burn the ISO to a CD and boot it or are you asking how to use the program?
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:13 PM   #19
vsglobal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Got a command prompt but getting message "The subsystem needed to support the image type is not present"
so now I'm guessing I need a bootable Linux CD?
vsglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:33 PM   #20
vsglobal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Connor View Post
Do you know how to burn the ISO to a CD and boot it or are you asking how to use the program?
Burnt the ISO to a disk but system won't boot from it.

FWIW, after entering the password, the "Welcome" displays from 1-2 seconds, then goes to bad password. It's like the password is OK but something in the processing is whacked.

Last edited by vsglobal; 11-30-2014 at 10:36 PM.
vsglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:52 PM   #21
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,426
Default

Sounds like a total mess up. I've used that program beofre, although on XP and it worked like a charm. If your getting the welcome screen and then a bad password something is messed up in the registry or you have malware. There is a bitdefender live CD to scan the computer.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:52 PM   #22
HOSED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 593
Thumbs up Always have 2 windows login accounts active

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtShapiro View Post
But it the OP can't log on in the first place, and apparently only has the one user account, how can he run the regserver?

As an aside, I always keep a spare valid local account on all my machines, figuring accounts get mangled more than Windows itself.
good points !!, I guess you would need to enable the Adminstrator account in this situation http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...2-8156602ef403
HOSED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 01:17 AM   #23
vsglobal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Well, maybe this is a hack. I'll do the recovery and create TWO admin accounts before I start doing all(!) the updates. Maybe this way only one will get whacked and I can use the "answers.microsoft..." ruse to get back in.
Maybe
vsglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 01:59 AM   #24
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 18,196
Default

Safe mode with command prompt
The admin account in safe mode has no password by default
Type "cd cwindows\system32" and enter.
Type "net user Administrator /active:yes" and enter.
Type "shutdown -r" and enter to restart your computer.
You will now be able to use a temp admin account to change the password on your other account. It most likely was corrupted during a restart after the updates.
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 02:15 AM   #25
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 8,426
Default

There was a smiley in there. I fixed it.

Safe mode with command prompt
The admin account in safe mode has no password by default
Type "cd c:\windows\system32" and enter.
Type "net user Administrator /active:yes" and enter.
Type "shutdown -r" and enter to restart your computer.
You will now be able to use a temp admin account to change the password on your other account. It most likely was corrupted during a restart after the updates
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.