Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default Help me overclock/cool Ivy Bridge

My new Ivy Bridge chip came in the mail yesterday and I've been playing with with it. swapped it out for the Q6600 + X38 I've been using for 4 years, but kept my watercooling loop - Swiftech Apogee + Black Ice GT triple rad + Laing DDC pump + PC Ice coolant. Pulled the loop apart (haven't touched it in 4 years) and gave everything a thorough scrub, but surprisingly it was pretty clean inside.

Used Phobya HeGrease - reviews placed it among the top thermal compounds and it was cheap.

Don't mind the dust!



Currently my settings are:

Voltage mode set to offset, -0.025mv
C3 state: Disabled
C6 state: Disabled
C package state: Disabled
Internal PLL overvoltage: Disabled
LLC: Level 5


As seems to be the case with most Ivy owners, I'm slightly concerned with temps. These are my results:

4.3ghz -> 114.5gflops Linpack
+0mv -> 1.240v As reported by CPU-Z under load
Peak Temps: 90c

4.4ghz -> 116.5gflops
+27mv -> 1.272v
95c

4.5ghz -> 120gflops
+35mv -> 1.280v
100c

4.6ghz -> 122.5
+58mv -> 1.320v
105c - Throttles


Effectively I'm unable to exceed 4.5ghz with watercooling because of temperatures. The block doesn't even get warm to the touch, and my TIM application is good - I tried reapplying with no net gain.

Also, Linpack + Prime seem to be quite insufficient for stability testing. I left Linpack running overnight at 4.5ghz/1.262v and it was running when I woke up, and Prime doesn't crash either, but I get force-closes and crashes in games within 5 minutes unless I add another 0.010v.

So here's my question: Do you think lapping the CPU and waterblock might improve temps or is my limiting factor almost certainly between the IHS and core? I don't plan to de-lid my CPU.

EDIT: Also is there a way to reduce ram set aside for the IGP below 32MB? I can't seem to find a way to disable it entirely in BIOS.

Last edited by Yuriman; 05-31-2012 at 02:55 PM.
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:44 PM   #2
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
I don't plan to de-lid my CPU.
Then you're likely stuck with what you have.
Ferzerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 03:03 PM   #3
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

I remember reading somewhere about some people getting stable by lowering other system voltages at a given clock - do you know which voltages those might be, so I can play with them? Also, is Internal PLL Overvoltage likely to do anything for me at ~4.5ghz?
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,110
Default

What are your temps for programs you are likely to run day to day ?

I'm Folding @Home - 100% CPU, 4.4g 1.18 v and my temps are mid 70's max with Coolermaster 212+ ..

( not rig in my sig - above is with 3770K )
__________________
3930K @ 4.4g - AsRock X79 Extreme9 - 212+ EVO - 16gb PC1333 GTX 560Ti 448
Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 03:25 PM   #5
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

4.6ghz / 1.320v, Prime95 doesn't break 80c. Looking at it like that I probably still have headroom, but it's hard to stability test that way. I'll keep RealTemp running in the background and see how high it climbs.
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 03:39 PM   #6
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
I remember reading somewhere about some people getting stable by lowering other system voltages at a given clock - do you know which voltages those might be, so I can play with them? Also, is Internal PLL Overvoltage likely to do anything for me at ~4.5ghz?
If your chip will boot windows without internal pull over voltage most likely you don't need it.. PLL voltage maybe will help a little on temps if dropped and stable..
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:08 PM   #7
borisvodofsky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,606
Default

is it just me or is there only like 5 guys total, who responds in the cpu forum.
__________________
2500k | 4.8ghz | 1.33v
borisvodofsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:41 PM   #8
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,110
Default

Is it just me, or do we seem to get a lot of people asking if there CPU temps are safe ?
__________________
3930K @ 4.4g - AsRock X79 Extreme9 - 212+ EVO - 16gb PC1333 GTX 560Ti 448
Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:03 PM   #9
rgallant
Golden Member
 
rgallant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,135
Default

-if you had a water temp. sensor it would be helpful , as it would be nice to know if the water is at 25c or 40c
-but something is wrong to have 105c @ 4.6

http://www.overclock.net/t/1250090/o...-owners-thread
http://www.overclock.net/t/1247869/o...nc-spreadsheet

-some user settings
-but a loop issue is likely.
__________________
3770k [KL370]|| 3xMCR320[basement] || MR|| 655x2 ek-tops || 9xSFF21F || Vl4n
MVF WC || Evga GTX 780sc sli EK block,s
Sam 256gb 840 Pro|| HAF 932 || 8 gb Tridents 2400
W7HP-64 || 27"A850D || AX1200w || G15,G13,G500s
SB-Z -analog >Yamaha 765 AVR, 4x PSB alpha b1 ,1 x PSB alpha C1 ,10" sub
rgallant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:22 PM   #10
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

Thanks much! The water is lukewarm, I'd wager it's around 28-30c. The block itself doesn't feel noticeably warm on the sides.

I basically just pulled the block off of my Q6600 which was purring along happily at ~50c load (overclocked) and put it on my IB, I don't think there's anything wrong with my WC loop. It's possible it's a mounting or contact issue, but I tried varying the mounting pressure and a remount and didn't see a change in temps. Perhaps my chip has particularly bad contact between heatspreader and core?

The thread you linked reports Prime Blend temps, which are considerably lower (15-25c) than when running Linpack; I'm sitting at 4.5ghz right now and getting about 78c on my hottest core with Prime running, as opposed to 100c with Linpack. Also, Prime seems to be a poor indicator of stability.

I'm in the middle of a move but I think that once I'm settled in I'll try lapping the block and CPU and see if I get an improvement.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes2 View Post
Is it just me, or do we seem to get a lot of people asking if there CPU temps are safe ?
I didn't ask if the temps were safe.

Last edited by Yuriman; 05-31-2012 at 06:26 PM.
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:22 PM   #11
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgallant View Post
-if you had a water temp. sensor it would be helpful , as it would be nice to know if the water is at 25c or 40c
-but something is wrong to have 105c @ 4.6

http://www.overclock.net/t/1250090/o...-owners-thread
http://www.overclock.net/t/1247869/o...nc-spreadsheet

-some user settings
-but a loop issue is likely.
I use my gpu as a poor mans water temp sensor. I figure at idle its close enough for me to get an idea at least.

His temps do look to be rather high tho.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:43 PM   #12
tigersty1e
Golden Member
 
tigersty1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post

Also, Linpack + Prime seem to be quite insufficient for stability testing. I left Linpack running overnight at 4.5ghz/1.262v and it was running when I woke up, and Prime doesn't crash either, but I get force-closes and crashes in games within 5 minutes unless I add another 0.010v.
I noticed this too. I was 25 hour prime95 blend (95% ram filled) stable, but had to increase volts after crashing in black ops.

I think AVX prime95 has something to do with it.
__________________
3570k | Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | 8 GB Samsung
MSI 7950 TF3 | Creative ZXR | Corsair AX650
Crucial M4 64 | WD6400AAKS | Fractal Define R4 | BenQ XL2410T | 7 64-bit Ultimate
tigersty1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:11 PM   #13
borisvodofsky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,606
Default

don't be such a pussy, DELID.
__________________
2500k | 4.8ghz | 1.33v
borisvodofsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:20 PM   #14
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
I'm in the middle of a move but I think that once I'm settled in I'll try lapping the block and CPU and see if I get an improvement
If your willing to lap the cpu you might as well just delid as you'll have no warranty anyways. It doesn't look too hard to me. Seems like the odds of dicing a finger are greater than damaging the cpu.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:33 PM   #15
Don Karnage
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,865
Default

Something is very wrong. Pump still have good flow? What are your ambients?
Don Karnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:48 PM   #16
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

Lower your LLC to 75% (level 3 or 4), that should cool it down quite a bit.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 08:57 PM   #17
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD231 View Post
Lower your LLC to 75% (level 3 or 4), that should cool it down quite a bit.
That's going to lower the load vcore though, right? I'll have to increase voltage to compensate for it... unless I'm missing something.
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:11 PM   #18
Kenmitch
Diamond Member
 
Kenmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 92557
Posts: 5,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
That's going to lower the load vcore though, right? I'll have to increase voltage to compensate for it... unless I'm missing something.
Your correct. I doubt it would do anything to your temps.
__________________
HeatWare
Email
Kenmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 11:27 PM   #19
borisvodofsky
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenmitch View Post
Your correct. I doubt it would do anything to your temps.
Take its cloths off already, ivy bridge was meant to run naked.
__________________
2500k | 4.8ghz | 1.33v
borisvodofsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 12:31 AM   #20
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
That's going to lower the load vcore though, right? I'll have to increase voltage to compensate for it... unless I'm missing something.
You get lower peak voltages using a lower LLC, every bit counts.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 07:21 AM   #21
boondocks
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Florida
Posts: 65
Default

Seriously doubt lapping your cpu is going to net you anything. As for your cpu block, depends on what shape it's in, I guess. Some newer blocks are convex which puts more pressure on the center of the IHS, though I don't know how much that helps.

If you're running a high LLC setting then I would lower it and bump the DVID if you have to. Every little bit counts with IB and droop isn't a bad thing.
__________________
GA-Z97X-UD5H /4770K delidded / F7cBIOS / Kingston HyperX Genesis RAM
CL SM8 r-atx w/pedestals / custom water / acrylic pipe / light panel
SeaSonic Platinum 1000 all custom wiring and sleeving
2xPowerColor AX7950 2DHV4 w/EK blocks
boondocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 07:52 PM   #22
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

Update:

Finally settled at 4.5ghz. In bios I have offset set to -0.025v, and in the Intel Utility I have voltage set to +0.035v, so I'm running 10mv above stock. So far I've been running about 96 hours without any unexpected program closes or crashes.

Updated temperatures after paste has had time to settle in:

Intel Extreme Tuning Utility Stress Test: 72-75c
Prime95 Small FTT: 85-87c
Prime95 Blend: 68-70c
Prime95 Large FTT: 75-77c
LinX peaks around 95c

Last edited by Yuriman; 06-04-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:25 PM   #23
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
Finally settled at 4.5ghz. In bios I have offset set to -0.025mv, and in the Intel Utility I have voltage set to +0.035mv, so I'm running 10mv above stock. So far I've been running about 96 hours without any unexpected program closes or crashes.
Err, those really wouldn't be additive. If anything, if the Intel tool loads a profile after Windows starts, your offset is .035V (not mV).
Ferzerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:10 PM   #24
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferzerp View Post
Err, those really wouldn't be additive. If anything, if the Intel tool loads a profile after Windows starts, your offset is .035V (not mV).
Thanks! I'll check it out - however, my loaded CPU-Z-reported voltage is 1.280.

Also, I did mean volts (not mv).
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:14 PM   #25
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,160
Default

That's about the voltage mine needs for 4.5V too.
Ferzerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.