Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
tigersty1e
Golden Member
 
tigersty1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default What is cpu package, cpu ia and gt core temp?

I'm new to SB/IB.

What are these temps measuring?

CPU Package
CPU IA cores
CPU GT cores

And I see watt readings for the below 2 readings. What power is it reading?

CPU Package power
IA cores power
__________________
3570k | Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | 8 GB Samsung
MSI 7950 TF3 | Creative ZXR | Corsair AX650
Crucial M4 64 | WD6400AAKS | Fractal Define R4 | BenQ XL2410T | 7 64-bit Ultimate
tigersty1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,566
Default

IA=Sensor placed in the cores, GT=Sensor placed in the GPU(On the CPU) and Package=Temp of the CPU package itself.
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:41 PM   #3
tigersty1e
Golden Member
 
tigersty1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default

I have my internal graphics turned off in the bios. Any reason why those values are shown?

And the cpu package temp is equal the IA cores and about the same as my hottest core temp. It's below my cpu temp.

I should be going off the cpu package temp or cpu temp when overclocking and watching out for high temps?
__________________
3570k | Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | 8 GB Samsung
MSI 7950 TF3 | Creative ZXR | Corsair AX650
Crucial M4 64 | WD6400AAKS | Fractal Define R4 | BenQ XL2410T | 7 64-bit Ultimate
tigersty1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
rge2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 60
Default

use core temps as they are most accurate and located in hot spots.

cpu package power is power dissipation in watts of cpu. cores is what used by cores.

turning graphics off doesnt turn its sensor off.
rge2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 10,566
Default

And package is actually same as core 0 (Atleast on IB).
__________________
Anandtech forums=Xtremesystems forums

Last edited by ShintaiDK; 05-21-2012 at 07:00 PM.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.