Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2012, 07:22 PM   #1
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default i7-860 good enough for a GTX 670/680?

I would be upgrading from a 5870. Would a stock i7-860 bottleneck a GTX 670 or 680?

Does anyone have benchmarks for the new Nvidia cards on different CPUs?
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:25 PM   #2
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,774
Default

Your CPU won't bottleneck a GTX680 unless you are playing at something like 800x600 resolution or below. Most games are GPU-bottlenecked at any reasonable resolution.

Edit: To clarify, there are a handful of games that are more CPU-bottlenecked such as Starcraft II, due to that game utilizing only 2 threads. So if you only play games like SC2 then maybe you are more CPU-bottlenecked. Feel free to flip through the picture gallery of games tested here to get a sense of whether you'd be CPU or GPU bottlenecked at 1920x1080: http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,8...reviewed/News/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

Last edited by blastingcap; 05-13-2012 at 07:37 PM.
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:28 PM   #3
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blastingcap View Post
Your CPU won't bottleneck a GTX680 unless you are playing at something like 800x600 resolution or below. Most games are GPU-bottlenecked at any reasonable resolution.
Resolution would be 1920x1200.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:35 PM   #4
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,894
Default

In CPU limited games it will probably bottleneck a bit, but that isn't a problem because you get very good framerates anyway.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:37 PM   #5
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
Resolution would be 1920x1200.
Yeah, I edited to add more information because I was curious about the extent of bottleneck. Flipping through the graphs shows that if you do CPU-bottleneck, it will usually be at high enough framerates anyway.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:39 PM   #6
LOL_Wut_Axel
Diamond Member
 
LOL_Wut_Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 4,268
Default

In some CPU-bound games it will bottleneck them a bit at stock. Is there any reason why you can't do a practical overclock to 3.4-3.8GHz? Doing that will remove the bottleneck in CPU-bound games almost entirely.
__________________
Core i7-3770K | ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X, EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti | 16GB Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-1600 | Corsair TX750 V2 | Corsair Carbide 400R

Phenom II X6 1100T | Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 | Samsung 840 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB | EVGA GeForce GTX 570 | 8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 | Antec NEO ECO 620C | SilverStone TJ08-E
LOL_Wut_Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:48 PM   #7
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOL_Wut_Axel View Post
In some CPU-bound games it will bottleneck them a bit at stock. Is there any reason why you can't do a practical overclock to 3.4-3.8GHz? Doing that will remove the bottleneck in CPU-bound games almost entirely.
A couple of reasons. I haven't had the time or interest in tweaking and overclocking since finishing college and starting a family. Second, I read some articles about potential data corruption from overclocking.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:52 PM   #8
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,894
Default

Quote:
Second, I read some articles about potential data corruption from overclocking.
I'd like to check these out if you still remember where you read them
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:54 PM   #9
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
I'd like to check these out if you still remember where you read them
It was a two or three years ago. I don't remember where I read them.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:17 PM   #10
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,774
Default

TBH, I don't oc my CPUs much, if at all, either. IMHO, it's not worth the extra few frames per second at the cost of extra heat/noise/power draw/degradation.

That said, a little oc'ing with stock voltage is fine as long as your temperatures don't rise too much (a good CPU cooler and TIM will help with this, as will case airflow).

But significant overvolting will degrade a CPU. There are some crazies out there who overvolt like no tomorrow... not sure why since it uses so much extra power for not that much more performance, and shortens lifespan of CPUs: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2468/6
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:22 PM   #11
LOL_Wut_Axel
Diamond Member
 
LOL_Wut_Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 4,268
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
A couple of reasons. I haven't had the time or interest in tweaking and overclocking since finishing college and starting a family. Second, I read some articles about potential data corruption from overclocking.
Doing a simple overclock isn't time consuming.

And the articles you read are completely inaccurate.
__________________
Core i7-3770K | ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X, EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti | 16GB Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-1600 | Corsair TX750 V2 | Corsair Carbide 400R

Phenom II X6 1100T | Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 | Samsung 840 120GB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB | EVGA GeForce GTX 570 | 8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3 | Antec NEO ECO 620C | SilverStone TJ08-E
LOL_Wut_Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:24 PM   #12
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,940
Default

You will have some bottlenecking. I will be doing BF3 benchmarking with my new GTX670 and will post my numbers if you're willing to wait a few days to see them.

The real impact will be on minimums, which is what you actually feel.
__________________
Work: 3770K@4.4 | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | HD7870 | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 290 Tri-X | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus 144Hz
HTPC: 4690K@4.2 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | 780 Ti | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG-08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building a rig? See The Tech Buyer's Guru PC Assembly Guide!
Want a bargain? Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:28 PM   #13
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default

The game I was asking this question in regards to is Diablo III.

According to this Diablo III CPU scaling page at Tom's Hardware, a high end CPU does not matter much: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3195-6.html

Can someone look at the GPU comparison on this page (or see the chart below), and tell me what a 5870 is most comparable too?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3195-5.html
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:31 PM   #14
Termie
Diamond Member
 
Termie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,940
Default

It would be between 6850 and 7870. Probably don't need an OC for D3.
__________________
Work: 3770K@4.4 | Hyper 212+ | Asus Max V Gene | HD7870 | 16GB | 830 256GB | TJ08B-E | x650 | U2713HM
Gaming: 4770K@4.5 | H100i | ASRock Z97 Ex4 | 290 Tri-X | 8GB | MX100 512GB | 500R | EVGA G2 850W | Asus 144Hz
HTPC: 4690K@4.2 | CM S524 | ASRock Z97E | 780 Ti | 8GB | 1TB SSHD | SG-08 | CX500M | Samsung 55" 4K
Building a rig? See The Tech Buyer's Guru PC Assembly Guide!
Want a bargain? Browse the TBG Hot Deals Blog!
Termie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:33 PM   #15
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
The game I was asking this question in regards to is Diablo III.

According to this Diablo III CPU scaling page at Tom's Hardware, a high end CPU does not matter much: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3195-6.html

Can someone look at the GPU comparison on this page (or see the chart below), and tell me what a 5870 is most comparable too?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3195-5.html
A 5870 is in-between the 6770 and the 7870. A little closer to the 7870 than the 5770. And Diablo 3 is almost certainly not going to be CPU bottlenecked at 1920x1200.

A 7870 is ~33% faster than a 5870; a 5870 is ~67% faster than a 6770.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

Last edited by blastingcap; 05-13-2012 at 09:36 PM.
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:34 PM   #16
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,894
Default

Your 5870 should run Diablo 3 locked at 60fps. It's not a demanding game.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:39 PM   #17
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
It would be between 6850 and 7870. Probably don't need an OC for D3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastingcap View Post
A 5870 is in-between the 6770 and the 7870. A little closer to the 7870 than the 5770. And Diablo 3 is almost certainly not going to be CPU bottlenecked at 1920x1200.

A 7870 is ~33% faster than a 5870; a 5870 is ~67% faster than a 6770.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Your 5870 should run Diablo 3 locked at 60fps. It's not a demanding game.
Thanks.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:41 PM   #18
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,182
Default

For most games i7 860 is going to be fine, but there are some exceptions. Shogun 2 for example.

In Diablo 3, i7 860 ~ i7 930 and those CPUs are capable of delivering 200 FPS.



Basically, you'll be GPU limited, not CPU limited in this game.

If you are upgrading solely to play D3, HD6870 or GTX560Ti is more than enough for 1200P. $400 GPU for D3 is massive overkill for 1920x1200.



Even if you encounter an area with a ton of enemies, HD6870 has headroom from 90 fps to drop to 60 fps and still provide good playability.

The value that HD6870 provides for D3 is astonishing. $160 for a card that's barely slower than a GTX480/HD7850! If you can find a used 5870, even better.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1

Last edited by RussianSensation; 05-13-2012 at 09:47 PM.
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:04 AM   #19
Stuka87
Platinum Member
 
Stuka87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 2,068
Default

Not sure if it was mentioned, but you will be bottlenecked in BF3 on 64 player maps. My 7950 (OC'ed) rarely hits 100% GPU utilization when I am playing. Your chip is a bit faster per clock than mine, but not enough to make up for 1.3Ghz per core in speed difference.

But for most games, you would be fine. BF3 is more an exception than a rule. Even a 4.5GHz 2500K will run at near 90% CPU with a powerful enough GPU.

For diablo 3 you could probably get away with a single core Pentium and still run it decently. Its only dual threaded, and not a CPU hog at all.
__________________
Gaming: Antec 300 Illusion | Phenom II 965BE @4114MHz | Xigmatek Gaia | MSI 790GX-G65 | 12GB Crucial DDR3 1333 | Sapphire HD7950 OC 1100/1400 | Antec NEO ECO 520C | ViewSonic VP2365wb
Work: Dell Precision M4600 | i7-2620 | 8GB | 2GB Quadro 1000 w/Optimus | Dual Dell 2412M's
Stuka87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:05 AM   #20
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Termie View Post
You will have some bottlenecking. I will be doing BF3 benchmarking with my new GTX670 and will post my numbers if you're willing to wait a few days to see them.

The real impact will be on minimums, which is what you actually feel.
This
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.