Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2012, 02:43 PM   #1
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default Horrible SSD write speeds... not sure how to fix this :(

The drive is a SV100S264G that I've had for less than a year. It's been run under Win 7 64 bit the whole time, and it's always been a bit slow, but about a month ago it started to get REALLY bad; stuttering and freezing all the time. I've seen a lot of people complaining about "bad" write speeds that are over 100mb/s. THIS is a bad write speed result:



edit: No screenshot, but SSDLife guesses 65% life left

* TRIM support is on
* ACHI is on
* All drivers are up to date
* APM setting is fine
* Roughly the same results with and without write caching on
* Checked alignment; no problem there

What should I check next? I'm lost.
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)

Last edited by k1114; 05-13-2012 at 02:50 PM.
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:52 PM   #2
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

How much of a job is it to SE and start again?
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coup27 View Post
How much of a job is it to SE and start again?
I run storage server 08 in the rack upstairs so I have full drive backups; can reimage in about 30 minutes from it

edit: f it, I'm gonna do that
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:27 PM   #4
Coup27
Golden Member
 
Coup27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,807
Default

If the image was taken long before it went tits up, then go for it.
__________________
Intel i5 4670 | Asus H87I-PLUS | Corsair XMS3 2x4GB | Samsung 840 Evo 120GB SSD | WD Green 3TB HDD | Seasonic SS-360GP | Lian-Li PC-Q27B mITX | Dell 23" IPS Monitor
Coup27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

Secure erase is the key to make sure the drive is completely fresh again. And a nice clean image never hurts either.
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:46 PM   #6
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default

I'm just now getting around to doing the reimage right now (about 20 minutes left) using a recent image, and if that is still slow, i'll manually backup all my important files and image fresh to see if it improves.
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:54 AM   #7
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default

So something was wrong with my image; I restored and had the same problem. Installed win7 on my storage drives and wiped the SSD clean again, and here's what it gets:



Gonna reinstall win7 on it fresh tonight.
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:34 AM   #8
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

no.. actually it's likely the other way around there. If you "restored and had the same problem"?.. that indicates that the SSD is low on fresh block reserves and is showing degraded performance(due to read/write/modify) as a result.

SE will take care of that completely. If you would have SE'd and THEN restored that image?.. you would have eliminated the drives current fresh block reserve state as the culprit and could look directly at the image itself.

Although it is possibly a driver related issue or some other conflict going on there.

Simplest test is this. Boot to another OS volume and test that SSD as a spare. Then SE and retest as spare once more. That will spell it out clearly. Good luck with it all
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #9
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default

I did SE before the reimage
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:17 AM   #10
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1114 View Post
I did SE before the reimage
Well that is strange...
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:54 AM   #11
UFCwhore
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default

SSD has to be aligned after cloning.

See below for more info:
http://www.howtogeek.com/97242/how-t...d-state-drive/
and scroll down to:Aligning The Sectors on Your SSD
-
or
http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...y-with-GParted

Hope it clears things up.
UFCwhore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:30 AM   #12
sub.mesa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 611
Default

The SV100S264G appears to be powered by a low-end controller chip: the JMicron JMF616. This must be one of the lowest quality SSDs available. The random I/O benchmarks are very low, performance degradation can be very high, there probably is abysmal protection against corruption and more of these kind of issues.

So I would never recommend buying one. But now that you have one, you can continue to use it for light systems. Just do not make the same mistake again and buy a quality SSD in the future for a little bit more money. This will buy you much more quality and is very much worth the extra pocket change.
sub.mesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:44 AM   #13
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,654
Default

Was the drive nearly completely full with little free space?

The original bad write performance was so bad that I think it's beyond explanation if you only consider the type of controller chip alone - surely the performance indicated something was very wrong, not just that it's a low performance SSD?

Please let us know your progress and if you can figure out what it might have been to get such low performance.
KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:01 PM   #14
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,355
Default

That drive's specs are

Sustained Sequential Read
up to 250MB/s
Sustained Sequential Write
up to 145MB/s


You're pretty close to it
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:47 PM   #15
k1114
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,153
Default

I guess i'll do a follow-up since this thread got revived somehow. The drive continued to exhibit similar problems shortly after a fresh re-image. Did a RMA and the new drive was just fine.
__________________
Heatware member since 2002 (70-0-0)
k1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.