Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Cases & Cooling

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 05:37 PM   #1
Grey!matter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 85
Default question about h100

So yesterday i bought a h100, installed it, and im having a little bit of trouble. The rpm on the fans does not increase, idle or during prime95. When i first start my pc both of the h100 fans run at 100% and then lower in rpm until im in windows.

I understand that there are some issues with these units and you can rma them, but you have to pay for shipping and im in Canada.

if I understand correctly the 3 pin that comes from the pump that you connect the the cpu fan header only is an rpm monitor and suppresses the bios beeps from a cpu fan not being connected? The molex that comes from that wire as well supplies the power?

I want to be able to control the to fans on the h100 so can I get a y splitter, specifically this http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=047494 would i be able to put both h100 fans on this and plug this to a 3 pin fan header on my mobo so i can control the fan speed via the asus fan xpert in windows?

thanks a lot
__________________
i5 2500k@4.5 1.35v
Asus p8p67
Antec 650 truepower new
Evga GTX670 FTW edition
8gb of Gskill ram@1600
Corsair H100/500r/force 3 120g ssd
Grey!matter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
kami
Lifer
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,581
Default

Yes the 3 pin is just to report RPM to the motherboard to avoid any warnings, the power is all through the molex.

Does the fan RPM change when you press the button on the pump? There is 3 speed settings. If this doesnt work then the fan controller is dead...somewhat of a common problem from what I hear.

Your PWM fans should work but the H80 and H100 (same pump) are finicky with power. For a lot of people, not having fans plugged into the pump creates extra pump noise. It's an annoying buzz/rattle. You can test this yourself by running the fans on the motherboard instead of the pump and see what happens. Yours may be totally fine!

btw a lot of people think that noise is caused by air trapped in the system, it's not. It's totally a power issue. if you have that issue can run the pump at like 11.8 or 11.9v instead of what your PSU is putting out (usually like 12.2v) the problem vanishes in most cases. People have used fan controllers or in-line voltage reducers to accomplish this. Apparently new batches aren't as sensitive to this though.
__________________
3770k @ 4.4GHz, Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3, 16GB DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 780, Crossover 27QD 27" (2560x1440 IPS), Asus Xonar STX, 500GB Samsung 840 SSD, 12TB in storage drives, Corsair C70 case
kami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:47 PM   #3
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,834
Default

Are you using the stock fans with the heatsink? I was some gentle typhoons and the fan speed would not change. They only had 2 wires. The third wire on the stock fan allows the fan controller on the H100 to change the fan speeds.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:31 PM   #4
Grey!matter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kami View Post
Yes the 3 pin is just to report RPM to the motherboard to avoid any warnings, the power is all through the molex.

Does the fan RPM change when you press the button on the pump? There is 3 speed settings. If this doesnt work then the fan controller is dead...somewhat of a common problem from what I hear.

Your PWM fans should work but the H80 and H100 (same pump) are finicky with power. For a lot of people, not having fans plugged into the pump creates extra pump noise. It's an annoying buzz/rattle. You can test this yourself by running the fans on the motherboard instead of the pump and see what happens. Yours may be totally fine!

btw a lot of people think that noise is caused by air trapped in the system, it's not. It's totally a power issue. if you have that issue can run the pump at like 11.8 or 11.9v instead of what your PSU is putting out (usually like 12.2v) the problem vanishes in most cases. People have used fan controllers or in-line voltage reducers to accomplish this. Apparently new batches aren't as sensitive to this though.
Im pretty sure they do not increase in rpm when I press the button and I also have the dreaded pump grind noise that everyone seems to have. I would rma it but that's gonna cost a bit. I cant really hear the the pump noise with my headphones on so that doesn't really bother me, unless it dangerous for the component.

Like i said, Im probably just gonna get a y splinter for 6 bucks and put both fans on one chassis fan header and control them with the asus fan xpert. the alternative to that is to get noctua fans or something of the like with a y splitter that comes with the fans and plu those into the cpu fan header.
__________________
i5 2500k@4.5 1.35v
Asus p8p67
Antec 650 truepower new
Evga GTX670 FTW edition
8gb of Gskill ram@1600
Corsair H100/500r/force 3 120g ssd

Last edited by Grey!matter; 05-12-2012 at 09:34 PM.
Grey!matter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:56 PM   #5
JCGhz
Golden Member
 
JCGhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greenville,NC
Posts: 1,139
Default

I checked mine after seeing this post.. i dont think mine has worked properly from day one.. i also noticed the molex connector is a little flakey when touched the light on the pump goes out and fan speed goes up.. very odd.
__________________
Email || HEAT||
JCGhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:16 PM   #6
Topweasel
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,840
Default

If the fans go to full speed when you power up its fine. The H100 will only really manage the fans if you are using 4 pin fans. Otherwise its the static 3 power settings from the button and I am pretty sure not even max hits 100% will allow them to hit 100% fan speed.
__________________
Nothing funny yet but keep reading maybe eventually.
Topweasel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.