Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2012, 07:04 PM   #126
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

I just found out that if you disable the ASMedia SATA3 controller in BIOS, the rear eSATA port will also be disabled.

Once the rear eSATA is connected, SATA3_A1(one of the ASMedia SATA3 ports) will be disabled.

The end. gg.
__________________
3570K @ 4.4 +.04 | Megahalem | Z77 Extreme4 | 30nm DDR3 @ 2000 | M4 256 | 850HX

TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:58 PM   #127
ajemm
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S. East Coast
Posts: 117
Default

Just upgraded my ultra quiet workstation using this board paired with a 3770. I'm very impressed. Nice layout and tons of features. It ALMOST makes me wish I had gotten a 3770K. I did crank up my CPU to 4.1 GHz (max for my non K CPU) for the hell of it last night and it ran Prime for 2 hours with no issues. I plan on fine tuning and saving the profile for those times I need a little more oomph. Coming from a Core 2 Duo, I'm beyond happy!

z77 Extreme 4
i7 3770
Zerotherm ZT-10D
Mushkin Redline 2x 4GB DDR3 2133
Samsung 830 128GB SSD
Western Digital WD20EARX 2TB HDD
Integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000
__________________
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
i7 3770 @4000 MHz ¤ Zerotherm ZT-10D w/Scythe SY1225SL12M
2x 4GB Mushkin DDR3 2133
Samsung 830 128GB ¤ Western Digital WD20EARX
Integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000
Antec Solo w/Seasonic X-660 ¤ Win7 Pro 64
ajemm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:16 PM   #128
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJCS View Post
I just found out that if you disable the ASMedia SATA3 controller in BIOS, the rear eSATA port will also be disabled.

Once the rear eSATA is connected, SATA3_A1(one of the ASMedia SATA3 ports) will be disabled.

The end. gg.
It's in the manual...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 CF + Crucial 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS

NAS and HTPC/workstation: Supermicro MBD-X9SCM + G530 + 16GB ECC; ASUS P8B WS + i3-3220; 1.1TB of Intel/Crucial/Samsung SSDs + 26TB of WD/Hitachi HDDs
blastingcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:31 PM   #129
Diogenes2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJCS View Post
I just found out that if you disable the ASMedia SATA3 controller in BIOS, the rear eSATA port will also be disabled.
That would be because the eSATA port is part of the ASMedia controller.

Quote:
Once the rear eSATA is connected, SATA3_A1(one of the ASMedia SATA3 ports) will be disabled.

The end. gg.
That is because you can't run two drives off of one port ..



Oddly enough, disabling the Intel SATA controller disables those ports also ..
__________________
3930K @ 4.4g - AsRock X79 Extreme9 - 212+ EVO - 16gb PC1333 – GTX 560Ti 448

Last edited by Diogenes2; 09-12-2012 at 06:34 PM.
Diogenes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:57 AM   #130
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blastingcap View Post
It's in the manual...
Yes, I eventually found my answer going through the manual. Just thought I share my findings.
__________________
3570K @ 4.4 +.04 | Megahalem | Z77 Extreme4 | 30nm DDR3 @ 2000 | M4 256 | 850HX


Last edited by TJCS; 09-14-2012 at 03:07 AM.
TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:22 AM   #131
davidthemaster3
Member
 
davidthemaster3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jonquière, Québec
Posts: 168
Default

New Bios 2.10
Quote:
1. Support Windows 8.
2. Modify ASMedia SATA3 can't detect HDD when CSM disable.
3. Add i7-2700K to CPU EZ OC, Advance Turbo 30 and Power Saving Mode support list.

Note: "Ultra Fast" is only supported by below conditions.
1. OS is Windows 8.
2. Graphics supports UEFI GOP.
davidthemaster3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:11 AM   #132
pauldun170
Golden Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidthemaster3 View Post
New Bios 2.10

3. Add i7-2700K to CPU EZ OC,
Well that was nice of them. How did they know I just picked up a 2700K and Extreme 4?
Guess I should send a holiday card to them this year.
pauldun170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 04:11 PM   #133
felang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 523
Default

So I Just went from a Asus p8p67 to a z77 extreme 4. I´m having a problem with offset overclocking though, no matter what the level of LLC or offset I set, my load voltage goes to 1.38V on my 2600K, which is way to high for my normal 4.5 Ghz overclock (1.28v is stable if I use fixed Vcore.

The first thing I did was update to the newest Bios (2.20). I´m wondering if this is a Bios bug. Anyone come across a similar situation?
felang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:33 PM   #134
Patozan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Hi everyone. I am new here, as a registered user. I saw some talk about eSATA here.

I'm having problems getting my TRAXDATA eSATA/USB pendrive to be detected by the BIOS. System browser says "empty". Under Windows 7 x64 nothing shows up either.

I have all internal ASMEDIA ports otherwise vacant, so it is really only eSATA plugged in that controller. The pendrive is working fine on its USB side. Maybe it is just a dead eSATA port on my motherboard (mATX).

Any ideas?
Patozan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:57 AM   #135
nxttruong
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes2 View Post
That would be because the eSATA port is part of the ASMedia controller.

That is because you can't run two drives off of one port ..



Oddly enough, disabling the Intel SATA controller disables those ports also ..
The good answer! ^.^
nxttruong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:43 AM   #136
davidthemaster3
Member
 
davidthemaster3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jonquière, Québec
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patozan View Post
Hi everyone. I am new here, as a registered user. I saw some talk about eSATA here.

I'm having problems getting my TRAXDATA eSATA/USB pendrive to be detected by the BIOS. System browser says "empty". Under Windows 7 x64 nothing shows up either.

I have all internal ASMEDIA ports otherwise vacant, so it is really only eSATA plugged in that controller. The pendrive is working fine on its USB side. Maybe it is just a dead eSATA port on my motherboard (mATX).

Any ideas?
I had to enable external Sata on one port in the BIOS to get it working
davidthemaster3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:00 AM   #137
Patozan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidthemaster3 View Post
I had to enable external Sata on one port in the BIOS to get it working

Thanks, but I have not come across that function in the BIOS or in the manual. Could you please be more specific?

Greetings
Pato
Patozan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:15 AM   #138
davidthemaster3
Member
 
davidthemaster3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jonquière, Québec
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patozan View Post
Thanks, but I have not come across that function in the BIOS or in the manual. Could you please be more specific?

Greetings
Pato
In the BIOS, go to the Advanced Tab, select storage configuration.

You should see a list of sata ports and what's plugged into each. Go into an empty port (preferably), and you should see the external sata option. It's set to disabled for all the ports.
davidthemaster3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #139
Despoiler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madtown, Wiscompton
Posts: 551
Default

Picked one of these up from Newegg. They had a 15% off instant savings. Conveniently, or maybe not, my Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 had it's rear USB 3.0 headers burn out last week. It's getting RMA'd and this is going in permanently.
__________________
| Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz | Be Quiet Dark Rock 3 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce 3x | 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD -Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB | Seasonic X-750 | Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Fostex T50RP w/Alpha Pads&Comfort Strap |
Despoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:58 AM   #140
MsLuck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Despoiler View Post
Picked one of these up from Newegg. They had a 15% off instant savings. Conveniently, or maybe not, my Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 had it's rear USB 3.0 headers burn out last week. It's getting RMA'd and this is going in permanently.
I cant see the savings
MsLuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:22 PM   #141
Despoiler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madtown, Wiscompton
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MsLuck View Post
I cant see the savings
Cause it ended on 10/6
__________________
| Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz | Be Quiet Dark Rock 3 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce 3x | 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD -Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB | Seasonic X-750 | Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Fostex T50RP w/Alpha Pads&Comfort Strap |
Despoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:48 AM   #142
Despoiler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madtown, Wiscompton
Posts: 551
Default

I absolutely love this board. Easy to overclock. I could never get over 4.4ghz with my Gigabyte board no matter how much tweaking I did. I'm over that and it took nothing but the first try. Killer for being ~$90 cheaper than my Gigabyte board.
__________________
| Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz | Be Quiet Dark Rock 3 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce 3x | 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD -Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB | Seasonic X-750 | Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Fostex T50RP w/Alpha Pads&Comfort Strap |
Despoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:48 PM   #143
novasatori
Diamond Member
 
novasatori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,851
Default

I bought a couple Z77 Extreme4s to pair with 3770Ks, they are working great but I do have one issue which I am curious about.

Whenever I turn off the computers there is a loud fading buzz noise over the USB powered headsets we use.

It happens on all Extreme4 computers with every USB powered headset we have tried. It also happens with the HD Audio disabled on both motherboard I/O ports and front panel I/O ports.

I emailed ASRock, but I am curious what some other people might think. It doesn't really bother me, but I am concerned there could be long term damage if it is a power problem.
novasatori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 01:36 AM   #144
Patozan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidthemaster3 View Post
In the BIOS, go to the Advanced Tab, select storage configuration.

You should see a list of sata ports and what's plugged into each. Go into an empty port (preferably), and you should see the external sata option. It's set to disabled for all the ports.
Thank you, I found that option. Funny enough, it is available for the intel ports only, but not for the ASMEDIA ones, where I actually have the eSATA device plugged in. I enable external sata on all Intel ports, but the ASMEDIA controller still doesn't detect it.
Patozan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:12 AM   #145
Arkanius
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 46
Default

Guys I'm having a serious issue with this board
I upgraded my system to an i5 3570k, 8GB of RAM and an Asrock Z77 Extreme4.

My graphics card stayed the same, a Gainward GTX275.
The thing, the graphics card in 3D mode doesn't seem to ramp up the fans. I keep hearing some noise like if they are trying to ramp up to max speed, but are being told otherwise.

If I use EVGA Precision and apply the automatic fan curve, it works correctly and it ramps up gradually, but before, this wasnt needed. Why is this happening? Is the GPU too old for this chipset? Is something wrong? I doubt this is the planned behaviour
Arkanius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 11:33 AM   #146
Despoiler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madtown, Wiscompton
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkanius View Post
Guys I'm having a serious issue with this board
I upgraded my system to an i5 3570k, 8GB of RAM and an Asrock Z77 Extreme4.

My graphics card stayed the same, a Gainward GTX275.
The thing, the graphics card in 3D mode doesn't seem to ramp up the fans. I keep hearing some noise like if they are trying to ramp up to max speed, but are being told otherwise.

If I use EVGA Precision and apply the automatic fan curve, it works correctly and it ramps up gradually, but before, this wasnt needed. Why is this happening? Is the GPU too old for this chipset? Is something wrong? I doubt this is the planned behaviour
The mobo has nothing to do with fan profiles on a GPU. That is strictly a function of drivers and the GPU BIOS. Obviously third party GPU software can change it as you've found.
__________________
| Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz | Be Quiet Dark Rock 3 | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce 3x | 8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866 | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB - 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD -Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB | Seasonic X-750 | Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Fostex T50RP w/Alpha Pads&Comfort Strap |
Despoiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 02:46 PM   #147
Arkanius
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Despoiler View Post
The mobo has nothing to do with fan profiles on a GPU. That is strictly a function of drivers and the GPU BIOS. Obviously third party GPU software can change it as you've found.
Thank you
That means it must be a GPU problema I'm having

That problema escalated to this:

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2277011
Arkanius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:03 PM   #148
lkailburn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Despoiler View Post
Cause it ended on 10/6
dang i was hoping it was still current! lol
__________________
Gaming: Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | i5 3570K | 8GB DDR3 | HIS IceQ 7870 2GB |OCZ 700w | Adata 120GB SSD | Win7 64bit | BenQ XL2420t 24" @ 1920x1080 120hz 5ms
Netflix: Asus P5ke-wifi | Intel Core2Quad Q9300 @ 2.5Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | MSI GeForce 8800GTS | 47" 1080P LCD
Work: 128GB Surface Pro | Brushed Graphite SB skin | MS Wedge mouse
lkailburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:53 PM   #149
SolMiester
Diamond Member
 
SolMiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 4,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patozan View Post
Thank you, I found that option. Funny enough, it is available for the intel ports only, but not for the ASMEDIA ones, where I actually have the eSATA device plugged in. I enable external sata on all Intel ports, but the ASMEDIA controller still doesn't detect it.
eSata is only on the ASMedia controller period...
(SATA3_A1 connector is shared with eSATA3 port)
make sure you dont have anything in the SATA3_A1, if you also have esata port in use!
__________________
HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, GTX660, Corsair Force 120 SSD HP L2045w, HP ML350G5 2012 Host-Plex/W8/MINT..
WORK-Silverstone PS07 ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, i5 3470 @4Ghz, 16GB HyperX, GT630, 3 x Samsung S22B420
My Super 6 Calais
SolMiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:55 AM   #150
Patozan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolMiester View Post
eSata is only on the ASMedia controller period...
(SATA3_A1 connector is shared with eSATA3 port)
make sure you dont have anything in the SATA3_A1, if you also have esata port in use!
Thanks for the reply. As mentioned previously, I have nothing on SATA3_A0 and A1 ports. All I have is my Traxdata eSATA/USB 32GB drive plugged in the red eSATA port. As suggested by David before, I enabled the external SATA option in the BIOS, which oddly enough is available for the Intel ports (SATA3_0/1 and SATA2_2/5) and not for the ASMedia ports.

I also tried changing the mode for the ASMedia controller (IDE/ACHI) and selecting "force Gen 2" as eSATA mode in the BIOS, but the Traxdata drive remains undetected, although the BIOS seems to notice that something is plugged in the eSATA port (it correctly disables SATA3_A1 port).

My general impression with this board (mATX version) is that it is not fully developed. There are issues too with an USB 3.0 stick that I keep plugged in at all times. The BIOS stalls during post unless I disable USB legacy support, or at least select "UEFI setup only".

Last edited by Patozan; 10-17-2012 at 03:07 AM.
Patozan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.