Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2008, 01:39 AM   #1
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,227
Default Anyway to limit Wi-Fi bandwidth but not LAN ports?

Under QoS, I can setup rules, but its fairly limited (set priority is about it). There is the option to Turn Bandwidth Control On, but it seems to limit it for each device connected and doesn't give you the option to set it for individual devices (or between the Wi-Fi or LAN ports), so that's somewhat limited, and isn't really what I want.

Would DD-WRT allow this capability?
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:10 AM   #2
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,233
Default Anyway to limit Wi-Fi bandwidth but not LAN ports?

I'm not sure if I understand you completely.

If you want to reduce the bandwidth for all WiFi users, then under DD-WRT it's as easy as setting the Transmission Fixed Rate to something low.

If you want to reduce the bandwidth for a single WiFi user, then that's not easily done AFAIK due to the shared bandwidth nature of WiFi. The best thing I can think of here is using QoS and assigning specific MAC Addresses minimum (bulk) priority.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 10:19 AM   #3
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,445
Default Anyway to limit Wi-Fi bandwidth but not LAN ports?

Netgear WGR614v8 is not DD-WRT compatible.

That is waht DD-WRT can do on a compatible Router.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/ind..._Service#Initial_Setup

Otherwise install this on each computer, http://www.netlimiter.com

Or use "None Optimize" setting in the TCP/IP configuration of the Wireless NICs.

__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 02:52 PM   #4
darkswordsman17
Lifer
 
darkswordsman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14,227
Default Anyway to limit Wi-Fi bandwidth but not LAN ports?

Yeah, I'm wanting to do it for all Wi-Fi. Hmm, so DD-WRT wouldn't be possible? I think its actually a v6 with upgraded firmware. Looking at the compatibility list they seem to both be there, but I don't know if they are actually stable and working or what they have there means.

Right now I have the bandwidth limited via the Bandwidth Control, which has smoothed things out, although if you do anything simultaneously it causes things to slow to a crawl. Any way I could connect with both the wired port and wireless for two connections? This is on a laptop and I only have USB for expansion, so unfortunately I can't just get a second NIC and throw it in a PCI slot. I'm also not sure if it has any impact on streaming between devices on the network (meaning, say if I was playing a game on Xbox Live while also streaming music to the Xbox, or even just streaming video to it). I can't test this right now, as I don't have the 360 here. Of course I wouldn't be able to dual connect with it, so I'd still have issues.

Thanks for the help, and sorry if I wasn't totally clear.
darkswordsman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.