Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 11:54 PM   #1
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Question Which router? Netgear WNDR4500 vs Asus RT-N66U vs Linksys EA4500 vs E4200V2

I know these specs don't really mean all too much when it comes to choosing a router. Out of these routers which would you choose?


Download Excel file link

The most important thing is for the router to handle 25 - 30 devices on the network via HP 1810-24G and a few via wireless (15 - 20 laptops, phones, etc).

Which one should I go with?
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:36 AM   #2
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,728
Default

I would confer with the other experts here, but 15-20 wireless devices might well be too much for ANY one access point/router.

I think that that most commercial systems, use a network of APs, hooked to a controller that handles the roaming, etc.

I think that the performance with that many devices will be poor, and cause disconnects, etc.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:45 AM   #3
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

Hmm. I could bring the number down to 10 wireless devices. A few times a year would it hit 15 - 20 wireless devices and most of those devices will be phones or devices of that nature. Is that still pushing the limit of a router?
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:28 AM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,389
Default

For a Router per-se the Asus.

Money wise - http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm

In case of Wireless, there is No Magic BEST Wireless Router.

Depending on the environment and users habits, many times more than one Wireless Access Point is needed., and at times very "beefy" Internet connection or two of them.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 05-03-2012 at 09:30 AM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:50 AM   #5
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
For a Router per-se the Asus.

Money wise - http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm

In case of Wireless, there is No Magic BEST Wireless Router.

Depending on the environment and users habits, many times more than one Wireless Access Point is needed., and at times very "beefy" Internet connection or two of them.


Thanks. Looking at this table:

The E4200 has much lower specs than the rest of the routers but it also has about half the cost. Will the lack of memory, cpu speed affect the wireless through put for 5 laptops?

Or would it be beneficial to go with a wired router + multiple (2 or 3) access points?
__________________
.

Last edited by alfa147x; 05-03-2012 at 09:53 AM.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
Brainonska511
Lifer
 
Brainonska511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
For a Router per-se the Asus.

Money wise - http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm

In case of Wireless, there is No Magic BEST Wireless Router.

Depending on the environment and users habits, many times more than one Wireless Access Point is needed., and at times very "beefy" Internet connection or two of them.


I picked up a refurb Linksys E4200v1 a few weeks ago. It's been pretty solid so far supporting 10+ devices. I kept my old Asus G-router as a WAP and 4-port switch so I could keep the Linksys as an N-only device. Doesn't lock up the internet connection either when transferring files wireless (my Asus router would do that)
__________________
Desktop: Core i3-2100 | CM Hyper TX3 | AMD HD5770 | MSI H67MA-E45 (B3) | Intel 520 120GB | 8GB DDR3 1333
HTPC: SilverStone ML03 | Pentium G3240 | Gigabyte GA-H81M-H | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Corsair Force LS 60GB SSD | Antec EarthWatts 380W
Laptop: T420i | Core i3-2310M | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 525 120GB mSATA | 500GB HDD
Heatware My Flickr
Brainonska511 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
MessyMitch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Wow I'm considering the same devices did you decide on one yet?
MessyMitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:44 PM   #8
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MessyMitch View Post
Wow I'm considering the same devices did you decide on one yet?
Nope. I'll report back with what I decide to go with.
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:01 PM   #9
MessyMitch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Don't know if it will help decide but the Netgear WNDR4500 is on sale @newegg for $155 after you enter promo code EMCNENB45.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833122435

Decisions

MessyMitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:49 AM   #10
NutZInTheHead
Junior Member
 
NutZInTheHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default

Hi everyone,
I have been reading Anandtech for years now without actually joining. Now I'm here finally.

Anyways, This is the same situation I'm in right now. And these are the exact modems I have been researching. I have done a lot of reading and am very interested in the ASUS RT-N66U.

Seems to me that some specs for the ASUS router are wrong. I have seen reviews and on the main ASUS site it says that it has 6 antennas (3 for 2.4GHz and 3 for 5.0GHz). This is pretty much the same for all the other routers in that table.
Also it has 2x USB 2.0 ports.

I'm really thinking of getting the ASUS router soon. Unless someone changes my mind.

Last edited by NutZInTheHead; 05-10-2012 at 01:58 AM.
NutZInTheHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:25 AM   #11
ericloewe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutZInTheHead View Post

Seems to me that some specs for the ASUS router are wrong. I have seen reviews and on the main ASUS site it says that it has 6 antennas (3 for 2.4GHz and 3 for 5.0GHz). This is pretty much the same for all the other routers in that table.
Also it has 2x USB 2.0 ports.

I'm really thinking of getting the ASUS router soon. Unless someone changes my mind.
I got mine yesterday, after a relatively long wait (out of stock everywhere). The RT-N66U has three external antennas, which are shared by the 2.4GHz/5GHz radios.

I haven't tried connecting a lot of devices to it at once (could try it with ~15 devices next weekend, if anyone is really interested), and am (and will be) using it as a dedicated access point, since I have a dedicated router.

Early impressions are extremely positive - range is the best I have seen (A lot better than the E4200 v2 and a bit better than the D-Link DIR-855) and speeds are impressive (no very good measurements yet, but ~90 Mb/s is doable 7m and two walls away, on a 2011 MacBook Air).
ericloewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:46 AM   #12
NutZInTheHead
Junior Member
 
NutZInTheHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default

thanks ericloewe,

lol my eyes must be in my butt. of course the RT-N66U has 3 antennas. sorry about that.

cool so you have it now. nice. I will get this once the store I want to get it at brings stock.

cheers.
NutZInTheHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 01:01 PM   #13
nlpearman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Anyone here pull the trigger? I'm deciding between the same routers as well.
nlpearman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 01:48 PM   #14
brotj7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 203
Default

Beware the Linksys:

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2255638

They have now backtracked and offered the previous firmware. I understand the health of the local network would help them determine which side of the demarc a problem lies on, but in no way shape of form should anybody be able to override my preferences and choices. If I say no updates...it means NO!!!
__________________
Laptop: ASUS g72gx rbbx05, Crucial M4 512gb, Win 7pro
rig 2: Intel 3570, 32gb DDR 1600, Crucial M4 512gb, Win 7 Pro
rig 3: Intel Q6600, Tuniq Tower, 8800GT 512, 8GB DDR2 800, Vista Ultimate x64
rig 4: Athlon 64 X2 4800+, 4gb DDR 400, x1950pro, XPpro x64
Assorted Tablets...
brotj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 02:11 PM   #15
ericloewe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlpearman View Post
Anyone here pull the trigger? I'm deciding between the same routers as well.
Yeah, Asus RT-N66U, or you might want to try the RT-AC66U, if you want 802.11ac.

I also have the Linksys E4200 v.2. Seriously disappointing for such a hyped router. Range is normal at best, configuration (if you want it as an AP only) is hell. You might also want to avoid it out of principle, thanks to their "cloud firmware" or whatever you want to call it, even though the E4200 v.2 wasn't affected.
ericloewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:01 PM   #16
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,389
Default

The affected Linksys Routers are the EA line.

When you read many of the remarks about choosing Wireless Routers, it looks like the choice is made according to the same logic that One chooses whether they ""Adore"" Kim Kardashian, or Paris Hilton, or Lindsay Lohan, and Not according to Technological reasoning.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 07-20-2012 at 04:12 PM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:43 PM   #17
nlpearman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Is it too early to bother with an 802.11ac router just yet? How long until devices are ac-compatible?
nlpearman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:46 PM   #18
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlpearman View Post
Is it too early to bother with an 802.11ac router just yet?
Yes it too early.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nlpearman View Post
How long until devices are ac-compatible?
It hard to know it took more than a year with the pre-N.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 09:41 PM   #19
kevnich2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,244
Default

I would go with the asus. They make a good quality router and you have multiple firmware options. The stock is linux based so it's good as it is but I chose to go with tomato as it's more flexible and configurable for my needs.
kevnich2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.