Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

View Poll Results: Which is the better free antivirus?
Avast! Antivirus 7 21.88%
Microsoft Security Essentials 23 71.88%
Panda Cloud Antivirus 1 3.13%
Other free, antivirus, please mention in the thread 1 3.13%
Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
berryracer
Platinum Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,008
Question Avast! antivirus vs. MSE vs. Panda Cloud Antivirus

I am about to go with a FREE antivirus for the first time in my life as Eset Smart Security has failed in cleaning very simple autorun.ini viruses from my sister's blackberry.

And upon reading some online reviews, I noticed that Eset scores very low in terms of cleaning infections, maybe it's only good for proteciton but not cleaning

anyway, I heard some bad things about MSE on the Wilder Security forums stating that it has a lot of false positives, their support forums are useless, and overall the program doesn't perform well compared to other options in terms of virus cleaning/protection

but would like to know what do you guys think?

I tried Avast! 7 for a while and it seems good but I just want to make sure that I made the right choice and am not missing anything
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4900MQ CPU @ 4 GHz
Graphics: Dual GeForce GTX 780M SLI
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 850 PRO 256GB (RAID 0) + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSDs
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
berryracer
Platinum Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,008
Default

Oh by the way, I used to always swear by Avira as the best free antivirus but now with the amount of spam and ads they include in their antivirus, I can't even consider it as an option
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4900MQ CPU @ 4 GHz
Graphics: Dual GeForce GTX 780M SLI
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 850 PRO 256GB (RAID 0) + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSDs
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
sandorski
No Lifer
 
sandorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: coquitlam, bc
Posts: 57,858
Default

What is the best? I dunno, but I have been using Avast for years without issue.
__________________

FX 8320@4ghz||Zalman LQ310||AsusM5A99X EVO R2
||XFX 5870 1gb||16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3||Seasonic M12 II 500watts||Zalman Z9 Plus||Asus MS238H

Science inspires us towards a better tomorrow, Fundamentalism wants us to die.
sandorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
IGBT
Lifer
 
IGBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,846
Default

switched over to Avast after AVG 2012 (paid) buggered my computer. so far so good.
__________________
"Under my plan, energy prices would naturally skyrocket" - Barrack Hussein Obama.
gas was $1.84 a gallon prior to obama inauguration. The price of ALL goods and services (food) are tied to the price of transportation energy.
IGBT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:21 PM   #5
Albatross
Platinum Member
 
Albatross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Romania
Posts: 2,326
Default

I remember that in 2012 rankings, Avira is the best free antivirus,by detection rate.
Also a few days ago,Microsoft released a new MSE version,so I don`t know.
OOps,I was wrong,they tested AVIRA premium:now i don`t know if it makes a difference in detection rates
http://www.av-comparatives.org/image...12_intl_en.pdf

Last edited by Albatross; 04-28-2012 at 01:27 PM.
Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #6
berryracer
Platinum Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albatross View Post
I remember that in 2012 rankings, Avira is the best free antivirus,by detection rate.
Also a few days ago,Microsoft released a new MSE version,so I don`t know.
I would have loved to install Avira, if it weren't for the unacceptable level of ads and pop ups! It has becomming a spamming app
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4900MQ CPU @ 4 GHz
Graphics: Dual GeForce GTX 780M SLI
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 850 PRO 256GB (RAID 0) + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSDs
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:31 PM   #7
Albatross
Platinum Member
 
Albatross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Romania
Posts: 2,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrix Leader View Post
I would have loved to install Avira, if it weren't for the unacceptable level of ads and pop ups! It has becomming a spamming app
I don`t know what to believe anymore,probably many of these tests are paid for..
I went with MSE ,at least Microsoft has the resources to produce a good free antivirus.
Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:32 PM   #8
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 39,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrix Leader View Post
I would have loved to install Avira, if it weren't for the unacceptable level of ads and pop ups! It has becomming a spamming app
They popup once per update, so once a day. Small price to pay for a good program.
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
nemesismk2
Diamond Member
 
nemesismk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,433
Default

Since the release of Microsoft Security Essentials that is all i have used without any problems.
nemesismk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:43 PM   #10
berryracer
Platinum Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,008
Default

ok then, i installed MSE 64 bit + MBAM Pro
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4900MQ CPU @ 4 GHz
Graphics: Dual GeForce GTX 780M SLI
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 850 PRO 256GB (RAID 0) + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSDs
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 05:38 PM   #11
thescreensavers
Diamond Member
 
thescreensavers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
They popup once per update, so once a day. Small price to pay for a good program.
This, but I will agree there ad's are quite stupid and bring the quality of the program down.
__________________
Tech TV Tribute

WRB 2013 Subaru WRX Hatch
thescreensavers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:23 PM   #12
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
They popup once per update, so once a day. Small price to pay for a good program.
And you can disable it...just takes a bit of research. I don't remember where I found how to do it, but I haven't seen a popup in Avira for a couple years now.
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:52 PM   #13
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 39,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescreensavers View Post
This, but I will agree there ad's are quite stupid and bring the quality of the program down.
I agree. I think a fixed ad on the program window with a link to their site would be a better approach.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyonir View Post
And you can disable it...just takes a bit of research. I don't remember where I found how to do it, but I haven't seen a popup in Avira for a couple years now.
Yea, I used to do that. I felt a little bad about it, and after a reinstall I didn't disable it, and decided it didn't bother me enough to go through the trouble. Now I run Debian, and the lack of hassle is great. No A/V, no tracking multiple programs for updates... I still maintain my mother's Vista box, and it gets on my nerves anymore. It didn't bother me when I ran Windows myself, but after seeing how things can be done, it's a PITA to go back.
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:55 PM   #14
shimpster
Member
 
shimpster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 178
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrix Leader View Post
ok then, i installed MSE 64 bit + MBAM Pro
This is also my setup
+1
__________________
TOSHIBA SATELLITE L505D-GS6000
Motorola Moto X
shimpster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:54 PM   #15
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
Yea, I used to do that. I felt a little bad about it, and after a reinstall I didn't disable it, and decided it didn't bother me enough to go through the trouble.
I would never read the popup anyway, just look for the "ok" button. So really there is no point it not blocking it, for me.

Although with them trying to install the ask.com toolbar in their previous release, that was a bit much and had me start reading about other options. I'll probably migrate to MSE at some point in the near future...just not sold 100% on it yet. I haven't updated to the newest Avira yet...since the definitions still get updated with this build.
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:56 PM   #16
notposting
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SE MI
Posts: 2,922
Default

Used to use Avira (well, it was still Antivir then).
Switched to AVG. It got bloated.
Switched to AVast. It got bloated.
Switched to MSE. Working good so far.
notposting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:04 PM   #17
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,199
Default

I will vote for Avast ... it runs fine, does not use a whole lot of RAM and does a nice job. Easily set for your preferences and it updates itself twice a day.
I was using Avira until it had an issue with a memory leak (about 1 year ago). Then I switched to Avast.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.