Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2012, 08:07 PM   #1
Thronsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default i7-3770 without the K

Hi all, has anyone seen any reviews or reports on the i7-3770, the plain one without the K? Its the only one available where I live.

For performance tests published here and elsewhere, is using the i7-3770k a reasonable proxy?

Any possibility at all of overclocking the i7-3770?

Thanks for your help.
Thronsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:10 PM   #2
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

3770 will be overclockable ONLY to its Turbo speed meaning that under load, it turbo/self over clocks itself to a high speed, that's the Max speed youll get.
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:15 PM   #3
IntelUser2000
Elite Member
 
IntelUser2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,529
Default

Base/4 cores/3 cores/2 cores/1 core

3770K: 3.5/3.7/3.8/3.9/3.9
3770: 3.4/3.7/3.8/3.9/3.9

They probably perform same except in very rare scenarios where you are limited by thermals and it starts running at base clocks. Pretty rare on a desktop. Even then its only 3% max.
__________________
Core i7 2600K + Turbo Boost | Intel DH67BL/GMA HD 3000 IGP | Corsair XMS3 2x2GB DDR3-1600 @ 1333 9-9-9-24 |
Intel X25-M G1 80GB + Seagate 160GB 7200RPM | OCZ Modstream 450W | Samsung Syncmaster 931c | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit | Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse | Viliv S5-Atom Z520 WinXP UMPC
IntelUser2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
TakeNoPrisoners
Platinum Member
 
TakeNoPrisoners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelUser2000 View Post
Base/4 cores/3 cores/2 cores/1 core

3770K: 3.5/3.7/3.8/3.9/3.9
3770: 3.4/3.7/3.8/3.9/3.9

They probably perform same except in very rare scenarios where you are limited by thermals and it starts running at base clocks. Pretty rare on a desktop. Even then its only 3% max.
Until you slap a real cooler on the K model and can crank up the speeds.

If you don't overclock then the 3770 is identical to the K model.
__________________
i7 3770k at 4.4Ghz | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ | 16GB DDR3 at 2000Mhz | Dual MSI Gaming R9 290 4GB Crossfire | 128 GB Samsung 830 SSD | 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 | Corsair TX850M | CM HAF 932 | 3 x Acer 21.5" 1080p IPS Eyefinity | Windows 8.1 64bit
TakeNoPrisoners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
simplynluv
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeNoPrisoners View Post
Until you slap a real cooler on the K model and can crank up the speeds.

If you don't overclock then the 3770 is identical to the K model.
This thread is interesting for me, I will keep checking this thread
since I'm planning to get 3770 too (or 3930k) for 3d rendering works
(price VS work speed)

honestly, I'm a bit of confuse if the performance of 3770 will be same as 3770k if it is used on 100% load on non OverClock
simplynluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:50 AM   #6
Thronsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Great, thanks guys for all your insight.

Just wish the 3770K was available here before June. Are other countries getting it more quickly?
Thronsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:52 AM   #7
Thronsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

BTW, the 3770 has a number of features listed on the Intel website that the 3770k does not have. I havent heard of any of them. Are they useful or just marketing speak that is rarely used by real programs.

Intel SIPP
Intel vPro Technology
Intel VT-d
Intel TXT
Thronsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:09 AM   #8
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thronsen View Post
BTW, the 3770 has a number of features listed on the Intel website that the 3770k does not have. I havent heard of any of them. Are they useful or just marketing speak that is rarely used by real programs.
For some reason Intel doesn't include extra virtualization features on the K version. Those features you've listed are useful if you use programs like VMWare or VirtualBox.
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:04 AM   #9
Puppies04
Diamond Member
 
Puppies04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thronsen View Post
Great, thanks guys for all your insight.

Just wish the 3770K was available here before June. Are other countries getting it more quickly?

Where do you live, the moon?

No seriously where do you live?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
If you have kids, you need to kill them
My weddding pic http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps224f2a90.png
Puppies04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:21 PM   #10
Thronsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppies04 View Post
Where do you live, the moon?

No seriously where do you live?
If only. I would be chilling in Newt Gingrich's Moon Base.

I live in Singapore atm.
Thronsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:41 PM   #11
njdevilsfan87
Golden Member
 
njdevilsfan87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
3770 will be overclockable ONLY to its Turbo speed meaning that under load, it turbo/self over clocks itself to a high speed, that's the Max speed youll get.
You can also get an extra ~100mhz by setting BCLK to 103mhz or so.
__________________
5960x 4.4ghz 1.25v | 16gb cl14 2666mhz 1t 1.25v | x99 ws-e | tri sli titan | xp941 512gb m2 | 840mm water cooling | 1300w g2 | rog swift

CUDA C++ developer therefore titans justified! The better my Titans overclock, the faster I get my PhD.
njdevilsfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 05:31 PM   #12
Puppies04
Diamond Member
 
Puppies04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thronsen View Post
If only. I would be chilling in Newt Gingrich's Moon Base.

I live in Singapore atm.
What source are you quoting that says the "k" model won't be available before june? I find it hard to believe that vendors won't have it around the same time everyone else gets it unless there is a specific reason.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
If you have kids, you need to kill them
My weddding pic http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps224f2a90.png
Puppies04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:11 PM   #13
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thronsen View Post
BTW, the 3770 has a number of features listed on the Intel website that the 3770k does not have. I havent heard of any of them. Are they useful or just marketing speak that is rarely used by real programs.

Intel SIPP
Intel vPro Technology
Intel VT-d
Intel TXT
SIPP, TXT and vPro is basicly business only features. VT-D is I/O virtualization excluding GFX thats covered under VT-X. None of out virtualzied business servers uses VT-D for example, just VD-X plus SLAT(Nehalem and after.) capable for RemoteFX.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
i5 4670, EVGA z87 Stinger, EVGA GTX980 SC, Ballistix Sport VLP 2x8GB, M500 480GB SSD, SG08B mITX.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 03:08 AM   #14
simplynluv
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thronsen View Post
If only. I would be chilling in Newt Gingrich's Moon Base.

I live in Singapore atm.
No wonder you saying the K version hopefully available before June

I just call Bizgram today, they did mention the K version is only available on mid of June

I currently live in Batam, and I'm going to get 3770 soon with Z77 PRO Asus Boards for 3d rendering

any idea of where other shop selling stuff cheaper compared to Bizgram in Sim Lim square?

Regards !
simplynluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 04:44 AM   #15
Alaa
Senior Member
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 823
Default

I thought anand said you could overclock it by 4 bins or 400 MHz?

Edit: Turbo ratios only.
Quote:
If your chip does support turbo boost, then you can overclock via increasing turbo ratios by as much as 4 bins above their standard setting. For example, the Core i7 3550 has a max turbo frequency of 3.7GHz with a single core active. Add another four bins (4 x 100MHz) and you get a maximum overclock of 4.1GHz, with one core active. The other turbo ratios can also be increased by up to four bins.

Last edited by Alaa; 04-30-2012 at 05:00 AM.
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:13 AM   #16
IntelUser2000
Elite Member
 
IntelUser2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaa View Post
I thought anand said you could overclock it by 4 bins or 400 MHz?

Edit: Turbo ratios only.
Hmm, that's interesting in multiple ways.

3770 overclocked with 100MHz bus clock would result you in...

4.1/4.2/4.3/4.3

In air, if most people are getting 4.5GHz out of a 3770K to stay within the envelope before the power usage starts rising fast, then the 3770 is only 10% slower than the 3770K, and even less with single threads.

So it seems the trend is that top end chips are not much of an enhancement, and the lower end/lower power chips are getting attention, even with overclocking.
__________________
Core i7 2600K + Turbo Boost | Intel DH67BL/GMA HD 3000 IGP | Corsair XMS3 2x2GB DDR3-1600 @ 1333 9-9-9-24 |
Intel X25-M G1 80GB + Seagate 160GB 7200RPM | OCZ Modstream 450W | Samsung Syncmaster 931c | Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit | Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse | Viliv S5-Atom Z520 WinXP UMPC
IntelUser2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.